Wiring a Air Fuel ratio gauge

For everything related to the inside of the car!!

Wiring a Air Fuel ratio gauge

Postby superalltrac » Fri Sep 24, 2004 12:50 pm

any one know where to tie in a Air fuel ratio gauge on the O2 sensor?
thx
Members don't see the above ad. Register now - it's free!
Trevor,
1988 ST165 (ST185 turbo)
283,000 kms and still going
(well somewhat, haha)
superalltrac
Club Member
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 12:36 pm
Location: Carstairs, AB Canada

Postby illGT4 » Tue Oct 05, 2004 6:18 am

in the cabin by the ECU...

by the diag. port..

by the o2...

where do you want to tap into it at?

BTW, those gauges that read the stock o2 sensor pretty much suck and are completely useless.

Get a wideband like the LM1 and read Real A/F mixtures. Well help a lot more in tuning than using the stock o2 sensor.
Imagewww.illtuned.com

- Professional Motor Sports Driver & Instructor
- Vehicle Dynamics Specialist
- I4WDTA 4x4 Certified Trainer

User avatar
illGT4
Established Member
 
Posts: 1820
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 3:39 am
Location: New Castle PA

Postby alltracman78 » Thu Oct 07, 2004 5:22 pm

illGT4 wrote:BTW, those gauges that read the stock o2 sensor pretty much suck and are completely useless.


Why?
I think there decent for general use, ie if you have a problem, it can give you some input.
Definitly no good for tuning though.
Image
User avatar
alltracman78
GTFour God
 
Posts: 4677
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 9:04 am
Location: Ma

Postby illGT4 » Thu Oct 07, 2004 5:35 pm

alltracman78 wrote:
illGT4 wrote:BTW, those gauges that read the stock o2 sensor pretty much suck and are completely useless.


Why?
I think there decent for general use, ie if you have a problem, it can give you some input.
Definitly no good for tuning though.


Because the stock o2 sensor is not meant for reading that range accurately. IMHO, it's a bunch of lights going back and forth... monitoring o2 voltage... going back and forth.. ;)
Imagewww.illtuned.com

- Professional Motor Sports Driver & Instructor
- Vehicle Dynamics Specialist
- I4WDTA 4x4 Certified Trainer

User avatar
illGT4
Established Member
 
Posts: 1820
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 3:39 am
Location: New Castle PA

Postby alltracman78 » Thu Oct 07, 2004 5:43 pm

Well, that's what the a/f does in closed loop, goes back and forth.
The O2 v is related to the a/f. ANY electronic gauge (or what ever else) converts what ever the reading is into voltage. What do you think a wideband sensor does? Doesn't necessarily display in flashing lights, but as far as the actual display, that depends on the person reading it.

I agree it's no good for fine tuning, but should work fine for general trouble shooting and monitoring on close to stock engines. After all, it's what the computer uses to determine fuel in closed loop.
Image
User avatar
alltracman78
GTFour God
 
Posts: 4677
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 9:04 am
Location: Ma

Postby illGT4 » Thu Oct 07, 2004 5:48 pm

alltracman78 wrote:Well, that's what the a/f does in closed loop, goes back and forth.
The O2 v is related to the a/f. ANY electronic gauge (or what ever else) converts what ever the reading is into voltage. What do you think a wideband sensor does? Doesn't necessarily display in flashing lights, but as far as the actual display, that depends on the person reading it.

I agree it's no good for fine tuning, but should work fine for general trouble shooting and monitoring on close to stock engines. After all, it's what the computer uses to determine fuel in closed loop.


I agree, but you can just use a multi meter and get the same results and save $... put that towards a good wideband that you can use to tune with also.

Peace
Imagewww.illtuned.com

- Professional Motor Sports Driver & Instructor
- Vehicle Dynamics Specialist
- I4WDTA 4x4 Certified Trainer

User avatar
illGT4
Established Member
 
Posts: 1820
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 3:39 am
Location: New Castle PA

Postby alltracman78 » Thu Oct 07, 2004 5:51 pm

Point is to have it while you're driving around. You could hook up a voltmeter, but it's pretty much the same thing anyways.
Plus, it's only like $60.
Image
User avatar
alltracman78
GTFour God
 
Posts: 4677
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 9:04 am
Location: Ma

Postby illGT4 » Thu Oct 07, 2004 6:05 pm

:)

You can drive around with a wideband too! :P

I just don't believe it is accurate enough for much of anything. Just my opinion.

The stock sensor resolution is poor.
Imagewww.illtuned.com

- Professional Motor Sports Driver & Instructor
- Vehicle Dynamics Specialist
- I4WDTA 4x4 Certified Trainer

User avatar
illGT4
Established Member
 
Posts: 1820
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 3:39 am
Location: New Castle PA

Postby Indy3sgte » Fri Oct 08, 2004 2:02 am

okay ive been debating over this for a while...but where do I get a wide band O2 sensor :shrug:

I think I might get the gauge and use my stock sensor now and swtich when I get the Wide Band O2 :shrug:

Dan
Indianapolis, IN
1990 ST185
Rebuild Pictures (UPDATED!! AGAIN!)
Image
User avatar
Indy3sgte
Club Member
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 12:54 am
Location: Indianapolis IN

Postby alltracman78 » Fri Oct 08, 2004 2:03 am

I agree 100% on the wideband. If you have the $ it's definitly a better option, but a a/f gauge is better than nothing.
Image
User avatar
alltracman78
GTFour God
 
Posts: 4677
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 9:04 am
Location: Ma

Postby illGT4 » Fri Oct 08, 2004 2:13 am

Indy3sgte wrote:okay ive been debating over this for a while...but where do I get a wide band O2 sensor :shrug:

I think I might get the gauge and use my stock sensor now and swtich when I get the Wide Band O2 :shrug:

Dan



Search for LM-1
Imagewww.illtuned.com

- Professional Motor Sports Driver & Instructor
- Vehicle Dynamics Specialist
- I4WDTA 4x4 Certified Trainer

User avatar
illGT4
Established Member
 
Posts: 1820
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 3:39 am
Location: New Castle PA


Return to Audio / Wiring / Interior

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest