Scion radio pioneer conversion

For everything related to the inside of the car!!

Scion radio pioneer conversion

Postby CMS-GT4 » Wed Jul 20, 2011 6:14 pm

Reason for using scion radio: I don't want any high profile head units in my car, while nice, I have a policy to not gives thieves any visual reasons to break into my cars and have so far been successful. I want a radio with modern features and ipod integration.

The purpose of this thread is to discuss the methods required for installing a scion radio into a system 10 equipped car.
My goal is to get one that allows the ipod cable, but will settle for an aux only version if I have to.

Quotes from another thread:

88gt4DE wrote:Some scion ones work too , I have 3 new ones out of new scions that had radio upgrades .... one is a t1807 , other two are t1808's one with a missing knob and one with both knobs but on has a little scuff on it .... all work perfect :) If you ebay those codes it will show you what they look like 8) However they are double din radios so you would lose a pocket under radio if you have one ...


BoostedBlueToyotas wrote:The Scion radios have internal amplifiers. The system 10 wiring setup basically has a seperate harness that runs from the amp with one connector that plugs into fusebox in passenger side kick panel (probably for the subwoofer in the door) and then a harness that runs to the radio. This end has 2 connectors, one is the 15 pin that goes into system 10 radio and one is a connector that plugs into the connector that would plug into non-system 10 radios. Remove this connector to the system 10 harness and you probably could plug it into an amplified scion radio just like you would plug it into a stock (non system 10) celica radio from the day. In either case you will loose the door speakers.


Harness made for the scion radios to use external amps. Something to consider when integrating with system 10. We might be able to make our own, but $40 is not a bad price to pay.
http://www.yoursciontc.com/forums/124-a ... rness.html

This is all the information and notes I have so far, I will add what I discover and if any of you have any info as well please share.

Open question: Does this radio require programing?
Members don't see the above ad. Register now - it's free!
Coldiron
92 st185 (205 swap) | 03 350Z Track (sold) | 13 Pilot | 17 Mazda3
www.noritoy.com | noritoy.deviantart.com | http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=19891
User avatar
CMS-GT4
GTSilver Member
 
Posts: 10336
Images: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 9:12 pm
Location: St Louis Area (IL)

1992 Toyota Celica

Re: Scion radio pioneer conversion

Postby BoostedBlueToyotas » Thu Jul 21, 2011 12:37 am

I dont know if the scion radios have RCA preouts. I doubt it and I think you would need them to convert it to use the system 10 amp and door speakers.
Tim Plessing
Columbia, MD

1990 ST185 - blue/blue cloth 152K-SOLD
1993 MR2 turbo - blue/black leather 59K TOTALLED/PARTING OUT
2006 Acura TSX - black/black 6 spd
2006 Mini Cooper S JCW Space blue/Silver roof 39k
2006 Mini Cooper JCW Silver/black roof 34k
BoostedBlueToyotas
Established Member
 
Posts: 2663
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 11:33 pm
Location: Columbia, MD

Re: Scion radio pioneer conversion

Postby lumbercis » Thu Jul 21, 2011 2:12 am

I think you're doing this the hard way by fixating on Scion radios. Read the thread I linked to on mr2oc the last time we talked about this that had all the plugs and pinouts...that should make it all pretty clear...

In order from easiest to hardest:

1) Just get another Toyota 15-pin, externally amplified radio...plug in and go. I used a radio from a 6th gen. But there's a Rav4 radio that also plugs in that has an aux input you could use for an ipod or whatever. Downside is this pin arrangement is pretty rare so you'll have to hunt around until another one of those Rav4 radios comes up for sale.
2) Use an externally amplified toyota radio that has some other pin setup. Buy a Metra adapter harness off ebay, get it wired up correctly, plug in and go.
3) Use an internally amplified toyota radio with non-15pin plug (like the Scion radio). Same adapter harness process as an externally amped radio, except you'll lose the door speakers. God knows how to get something like this to run the door speakers too.

I'd take the claims of Scion radios working in our car with a grain of salt until someone posts a video of one working in an alltrac. Until then it's just forum hearsay...
Caldina powered...
Image
lumbercis
Gold Member
 
Posts: 2346
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 4:52 am
Location: Washington, D.C.

Re: Scion radio pioneer conversion

Postby CMS-GT4 » Fri Jul 22, 2011 12:28 am

I am going to continue to look into this.
Here is an install of the stereo in a tacoma.
http://www.toyotanation.com/forum/showt ... p?t=298093
Coldiron
92 st185 (205 swap) | 03 350Z Track (sold) | 13 Pilot | 17 Mazda3
www.noritoy.com | noritoy.deviantart.com | http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=19891
User avatar
CMS-GT4
GTSilver Member
 
Posts: 10336
Images: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 9:12 pm
Location: St Louis Area (IL)

1992 Toyota Celica

Re: Scion radio pioneer conversion

Postby Droptop93 » Fri Jul 22, 2011 3:38 am

Ill see if my best friend still has the factory radio to his old tc(swaped it for another aftermarket one) then traded it in....un sure if he reinstalled the factory one. Ill ask and see.
Image
Droptop93
Club Member
 
Posts: 479
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 7:53 pm
Location: Toledo, OH USA

Re: Scion radio pioneer conversion

Postby CMS-GT4 » Sat Jul 23, 2011 2:24 am

This thread has a link to info on wiring up the amp. Something to note when trying to make this work.
viewtopic.php?f=22&t=7679&start=30
http://www.celicatech.com/forums/showth ... rness-help
Coldiron
92 st185 (205 swap) | 03 350Z Track (sold) | 13 Pilot | 17 Mazda3
www.noritoy.com | noritoy.deviantart.com | http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=19891
User avatar
CMS-GT4
GTSilver Member
 
Posts: 10336
Images: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 9:12 pm
Location: St Louis Area (IL)

1992 Toyota Celica

Re: Scion radio pioneer conversion

Postby celicat93 » Sat Jul 23, 2011 4:05 am

A little pricey, but here's another option. They're made for vintage cars to avoid having to take out the original radio, maintaining originality of the car. There are probably more out there if you search around, maybe some being sold used.

http://www.vintagecarradio.com/store/product_info.php?cPath=4&products_id=37
celicat93
Club Member
 
Posts: 723
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2004 6:20 am

Re: Scion radio pioneer conversion

Postby CMS-GT4 » Wed Aug 10, 2011 10:54 pm

I already have a kenwood system that lets me tap into the factory radio. The only issue is the factory radio does not have RDS so its a bit of trial and error to make it work. I am going to go ahead and order a scion radio when I find a good price for it and start working out the setup. I like that I can put the ipod away and control it with head unit. Right now I have a ipod mounted on the dash of my Z that I had to buy a special app so it was not such a hassle to work while driving.

Here is an install in a supra.
http://www.supramania.com/forums/showth ... stallation
Coldiron
92 st185 (205 swap) | 03 350Z Track (sold) | 13 Pilot | 17 Mazda3
www.noritoy.com | noritoy.deviantart.com | http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=19891
User avatar
CMS-GT4
GTSilver Member
 
Posts: 10336
Images: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 9:12 pm
Location: St Louis Area (IL)

1992 Toyota Celica

Re: Scion radio pioneer conversion

Postby 88gt4DE » Thu Aug 11, 2011 10:51 am

CMS-GT4 wrote:I already have a kenwood system that lets me tap into the factory radio. The only issue is the factory radio does not have RDS so its a bit of trial and error to make it work. I am going to go ahead and order a scion radio when I find a good price for it and start working out the setup. I like that I can put the ipod away and control it with head unit. Right now I have a ipod mounted on the dash of my Z that I had to buy a special app so it was not such a hassle to work while driving.

Here is an install in a supra.
http://www.supramania.com/forums/showth ... stallation



I have a few scion radio laying around that were take off's ... any idea whick one your after ? model number ( on front face plate ) ?
Rob
1988 ST165 - 77K - Project ---> http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=31483&start=240
2000 Toyota Tundra SR5 - 162K - DD - Thanks 97JZA80
2007 Toyota Rav4 - 110K - My girls DD
1999 Honda Civic - 116K - Highway Runner
User avatar
88gt4DE
Established Member
 
Posts: 2665
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 2:44 am
Location: New Castle , DE

Re: Scion radio pioneer conversion

Postby CMS-GT4 » Thu Aug 11, 2011 1:17 pm

The t1807 version. I think it has 3 knobs. It's the one with iPod options. I am looking at a couple on eBay. I am trying to make sure I find one with no scratches.
Coldiron
92 st185 (205 swap) | 03 350Z Track (sold) | 13 Pilot | 17 Mazda3
www.noritoy.com | noritoy.deviantart.com | http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=19891
User avatar
CMS-GT4
GTSilver Member
 
Posts: 10336
Images: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 9:12 pm
Location: St Louis Area (IL)

1992 Toyota Celica

Re: Scion radio pioneer conversion

Postby 88gt4DE » Thu Aug 11, 2011 7:21 pm

CMS-GT4 wrote:The t1807 version. I think it has 3 knobs. It's the one with iPod options. I am looking at a couple on eBay. I am trying to make sure I find one with no scratches.


I know I have t1807 and t1807 ... ill look later and see whats up ... they were new inventory take outs to install upgraded radios ... i think one may be missing a knob ... let me look at them and I'll let ya know.
Rob
1988 ST165 - 77K - Project ---> http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=31483&start=240
2000 Toyota Tundra SR5 - 162K - DD - Thanks 97JZA80
2007 Toyota Rav4 - 110K - My girls DD
1999 Honda Civic - 116K - Highway Runner
User avatar
88gt4DE
Established Member
 
Posts: 2665
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 2:44 am
Location: New Castle , DE

Re: Scion radio pioneer conversion

Postby CMS-GT4 » Mon Sep 12, 2011 8:17 pm

So I got my Scion radio in. Only issue is that it is too wide for the bezel. I am going to go ahead and try and get it woking once my wires get here, then I will try and figure out a bezel solution later. This might be my chance to fiberglass something.
Coldiron
92 st185 (205 swap) | 03 350Z Track (sold) | 13 Pilot | 17 Mazda3
www.noritoy.com | noritoy.deviantart.com | http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=19891
User avatar
CMS-GT4
GTSilver Member
 
Posts: 10336
Images: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 9:12 pm
Location: St Louis Area (IL)

1992 Toyota Celica

Re: Scion radio pioneer conversion

Postby CMS-GT4 » Tue Sep 27, 2011 12:30 am

So far I have everything in. 1st I need to figure out where the RCAs are on my chasis then I am going to wire up the patch harness and see if this radio works. Then I need to sort out a bracket to fit it. I wil keep you all posted on my results.
Coldiron
92 st185 (205 swap) | 03 350Z Track (sold) | 13 Pilot | 17 Mazda3
www.noritoy.com | noritoy.deviantart.com | http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=19891
User avatar
CMS-GT4
GTSilver Member
 
Posts: 10336
Images: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 9:12 pm
Location: St Louis Area (IL)

1992 Toyota Celica

Re: Scion radio pioneer conversion

Postby CMS-GT4 » Sat Oct 01, 2011 8:25 pm

So I think I am going to simplify my life and get something I can plug and play. This radio will work, but I won't want to put that much time into it. If anyone is interested in buying it let me know and I will sell it for what I got it for.
Coldiron
92 st185 (205 swap) | 03 350Z Track (sold) | 13 Pilot | 17 Mazda3
www.noritoy.com | noritoy.deviantart.com | http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=19891
User avatar
CMS-GT4
GTSilver Member
 
Posts: 10336
Images: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 9:12 pm
Location: St Louis Area (IL)

1992 Toyota Celica

Re: Scion radio pioneer conversion

Postby cueiko1 » Mon Nov 21, 2011 8:06 am

Hi!

Just wanna show scion stereo in my st165
it's plug & play (i didn't modified anything, speakers working good even antenna works going up when tunning a radio station :)
if you want add an amplifier you'll need buy - line output converter and that's it!!!! :D


Image
Last edited by cueiko1 on Wed Nov 23, 2011 8:12 am, edited 1 time in total.
cueiko1
Club Member
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 7:02 pm
Location: SoCal, USA

Next

Return to Audio / Wiring / Interior

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron