System 10 amp without any deck at all?

For everything related to the inside of the car!!

System 10 amp without any deck at all?

Postby vondoom » Mon Jan 07, 2013 7:29 pm

Hey guys - did some brief searching on this with no luck, but apologies if this has been covered.

Does the system 10 amp have a hard AUX in or any way to pump audio to the speakers without a deck. I have no stereo in the all-trac at the moment and figured since i listen exlusively to music on my phone i might see if i can bypass having one all-together and give a thief one less thing to steal.

any ideas?
Members don't see the above ad. Register now - it's free!
1990 ST185 (still love needed)
1973 RA21 Celica ST
vondoom
Club Member
 
Posts: 288
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 5:18 am
Location: seattle, WA

Re: System 10 amp without any deck at all?

Postby underscore » Mon Jan 07, 2013 7:35 pm

You could use the system 10 aftermarket stereo adapter to connect the stock wiring to the more common colour code and RCA plugs. Then use a 3.5mm to RCA adapter to hook your phone to the System 10 amp, individually tape up the rest of the wires and tie the amp remote wire (typically blue on the aftermarket harness) to the ignition switched wire (typically red) so the amp turns on when the car turns on.
★ 1991 GTFour RC ~ "Rebel Scum" ★
It's for sale! http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=64&t=52181
Build thread http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=44216
underscore
GTFour God
 
Posts: 3820
Images: 0
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 11:29 pm
Location: Kelowna, BC

Re: System 10 amp without any deck at all?

Postby UtahSleeper » Mon Jan 07, 2013 7:36 pm

May want to look intojust using an RCA/headphone cable to an equalizer and run that to the amp.
80 Corolla Hatchback - Power (Waiting) http://www.3tcgarage.com/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=3208
88 Alltrac - Snow (Stable for now) http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=43482

My Car Projects - https://www.youtube.com/user/UtahSleeper
User avatar
UtahSleeper
Established Member
 
Posts: 1918
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 6:00 pm
Location: Magna, UT

Re: System 10 amp without any deck at all?

Postby vondoom » Mon Jan 07, 2013 7:41 pm

Nice, I had an aftermarket deck in the past so i think i have the whats needed already to run the 3.5-rca cable. Ill look into tapping the amp remote wire in, although if it requires cutting and splicing i may just opt for a cheap deck with an aux in, to make life easier on myself down the road should i decide i want a good system.

thanks for the info! I'll have a look tonight.
1990 ST185 (still love needed)
1973 RA21 Celica ST
vondoom
Club Member
 
Posts: 288
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 5:18 am
Location: seattle, WA

Re: System 10 amp without any deck at all?

Postby underscore » Mon Jan 07, 2013 8:10 pm

If you already have the aftermarket deck harness you've already got the wires you need right there. Just crimp those two wires together, hell you could probably just twist them and tape them, they're the same wires you'd be hooking up to a deck. I can't remember how many connections the System 10 has though, so it might be easier to just find a cheap (used?) deck with enough RCA outputs and an AUX in.
★ 1991 GTFour RC ~ "Rebel Scum" ★
It's for sale! http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=64&t=52181
Build thread http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=44216
underscore
GTFour God
 
Posts: 3820
Images: 0
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 11:29 pm
Location: Kelowna, BC


Return to Audio / Wiring / Interior

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest