Building a wire harness?

For everything related to the inside of the car!!

Building a wire harness?

Postby Eurus » Mon Nov 18, 2013 8:18 am

Sorry if this is more chassis wiring area.

However, I have a predicament, and corresponding question, that Im sure will be an issue with more than just myself. How does one go about building a fresh wire harness?

I ask this because, a few months back I had to replace a plug to my fuse box that had exposed wires; while soldering in the new homemade plug I noticed the engine harness is getting pretty old and ratty. While trying to cut the old plug out the wire was falling apart on me.

I know its a huge undertaking, but I would like to sit down and build a fresh wire harness, but I don't know how or where to get the plugs for everything. I would prefer not to reuse old ones, and don't care to make all new fuse boxes, and replace other plugs, just to accommodate.

Any recommendations? If I can find the connectors easily enough Ill just make up a harness board for possible future use.

Thanks for the help.


Image
Image
Members don't see the above ad. Register now - it's free!
Eurus
Club Member
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 1:50 pm
Location: Skagit WA

Re: Building a wire harness?

Postby killemalltrac » Mon Nov 18, 2013 8:58 am

I know that tweak'd performance carries almost all Toyota plugs. I am not sure about their pricing for just individual pieces.
Image
#80sMurderCar
My build -- http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=47568
Parts for sale -- http://www.80smurdercar.com/store/c1/Featured_Products.html
User avatar
killemalltrac
Club Member
 
Posts: 321
Images: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 4:48 pm
Location: Oregon

Re: Building a wire harness?

Postby Eurus » Mon Nov 18, 2013 9:16 am

soarinhigh wrote:I know that tweak'd performance carries almost all Toyota plugs. I am not sure about their pricing for just individual pieces.

I saw this, and have them saved. i noticed also that DIYautotune has the ECU plug.

I need to find extra engine bay harnesses, so I dont have to pull mine yet. Anyone have any?
Eurus
Club Member
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 1:50 pm
Location: Skagit WA

Re: Building a wire harness?

Postby killemalltrac » Wed Nov 20, 2013 3:27 pm

I have a couple harnesses. One is the 205 main engine loom I believe and one is the front loom for lights and IC pump and what not.
Image
#80sMurderCar
My build -- http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=47568
Parts for sale -- http://www.80smurdercar.com/store/c1/Featured_Products.html
User avatar
killemalltrac
Club Member
 
Posts: 321
Images: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 4:48 pm
Location: Oregon


Return to Audio / Wiring / Interior

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest