Page 1 of 2

Toyota Caldina ST215

PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 4:25 pm
by xander279
I saw one of these 3SGTE Engines, Tranny, and ECU setups for sale on ebay for like 1600... i was wondering if this fits in the ST185 Chassis.

Re: Toyota Caldina ST215

PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 4:35 pm
by LegacyofDan
yes it will fit.

Re: Toyota Caldina ST215

PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2010 11:31 pm
by xander279
this is exactly what i want to put into my st185 when i get it...

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/TOYOTA-C ... 33598da6d8

260HP mutha trucka!

Re: Toyota Caldina ST215

PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2010 4:00 am
by TXCajunman
how hard would it be to put it in a 90 alltrac 185? just different wiring harnesses?i wouldn't mind having one of them...:)

Re: Toyota Caldina ST215

PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2010 10:48 am
by Gary ST165
TXCajunman wrote:how hard would it be to put it in a 90 alltrac 185? just different wiring harnesses?i wouldn't mind having one of them...:)



It is a 3S engine so will drop in if you use ST185 engine and gearbox mounts. you will need the loom & ecu, coil on plug set up etc. (i dunno if you would want to go with the top mount interwarmer.)

its been done and documented. shouldn't take you too long to find some threads if you type +ST215 +Caldina in to the search engine.... :shoots:


amp279 wrote:this is exactly what i want to put into my st185 when i get it...

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/TOYOTA-C ... 33598da6d8

260HP mutha trucka!



question is though, why do all that for a paultry 260 fly wheel hp? You can get that and more on ST185 stock engine and turbocharger if you update your engine management. ( i do appreciate that the ST215 engine itself is likely to be lower mileage and has improved lubrication system, but 260 hp on a high compression engine & high octane fuel is not anything to get too excited about!)

Re: Toyota Caldina ST215

PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2010 2:24 pm
by xander279
Gary ST165 wrote:
TXCajunman wrote:how hard would it be to put it in a 90 alltrac 185? just different wiring harnesses?i wouldn't mind having one of them...:)



It is a 3S engine so will drop in if you use ST185 engine and gearbox mounts. you will need the loom & ecu, coil on plug set up etc. (i dunno if you would want to go with the top mount interwarmer.)

its been done and documented. shouldn't take you too long to find some threads if you type +ST215 +Caldina in to the search engine.... :shoots:


amp279 wrote:this is exactly what i want to put into my st185 when i get it...

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/TOYOTA-C ... 33598da6d8

260HP mutha trucka!



question is though, why do all that for a paultry 260 fly wheel hp? You can get that and more on ST185 stock engine and turbocharger if you update your engine management. ( i do appreciate that the ST215 engine itself is likely to be lower mileage and has improved lubrication system, but 260 hp on a high compression engine & high octane fuel is not anything to get too excited about!)


i don't have much aftermarket plans for it... and yes it does have very low miles.

Re: Toyota Caldina ST215

PostPosted: Sun Feb 14, 2010 11:08 pm
by Speedricer
This is what it looks like in a st 185
Image

Re: Toyota Caldina ST215

PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2011 6:11 pm
by rlacapra
I recently purchased a 1990 Celica (ST185) with an already done Caldina ST215 swap. However the wiring was done fairly poorly, and I have a feeling the ECU is still the one from the original Celica motor. Speedricer, what ECU/wiring harness did you use for your swap?

Re: Toyota Caldina ST215

PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2011 8:12 pm
by lumbercis
I have this engine in my ST185. I had mr220v do my wiring harness and it's running great.

Be aware though that if you get a manual transmission one that the ST215 transmission doesn't have the drive gear for the speed sensor so if you use that trans you'll lose your speedo.

If I had it to do over again I think I'd probably have gone with an ST205 swap.

Btw, anyone happen to know if I can use any 3sgte alternator on these engines? My alternator went bad and the part number I found for the ST215 alt (27060‑74720) doesn't seem to be shared with any domestic chassis. So looking for something that will work. Stocker is a 100amp unit.

Thanks
J.

Re: Toyota Caldina ST215

PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2011 10:26 pm
by rlacapra
Lumbercris,

What ECU are you using? Any power mods? And also, did you have to get a custom wiring harness?

Re: Toyota Caldina ST215

PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2011 2:09 pm
by lumbercis
Using the Caldina ECU. No power mods other than an intake because the stock airbox wouldn't work. And yes, it needs a custom wiring harness, which I got from "mr220v" on the mr2oc boards.

J.

Re: Toyota Caldina ST215

PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2011 4:18 pm
by rlacapra
Oh okay. Good to know. If you don't mind me asking, what should I expect to spend between the harness and labor?

Also, as a general question; any recommendations for a standalone ECU for this engine? I am planning on getting it dyno tuned, and adding power mods.

Thanks again for the help.

auto Caldina's ?

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2011 2:52 pm
by GMan
Just some something to think about....
How many Caldina's came manual ? Most auctions I have seen are Auto boxes ?
Can you use the auto ECU to run the car with a manual tranny ????

Regards;
----------------------

Re: auto Caldina's ?

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2011 12:12 am
by celi_wabbit
GMan wrote:Just some something to think about....
How many Caldina's came manual ? Most auctions I have seen are Auto boxes ?
Can you use the auto ECU to run the car with a manual tranny ????

Regards;
----------------------


Yes! there are people that have done this already.

Re: Toyota Caldina ST215

PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2011 3:35 pm
by JeCs
Hi!

I'm making this swap in my ST185 but I'm using a ST205 3SGTE Ecu and ignition. I want to know how do you think it will works like?

what numbers on dyno you got whith that swap got.?


Thank you!

Please forgive my english is not very good I'm from Dominican Republic (Santo Domingo)