Where is the turbo pressure sensor located on a st185?

General Chat

Where is the turbo pressure sensor located on a st185?

Postby alltracst185 » Wed May 18, 2011 8:13 pm

I'm in the final stretch with wiring up my AEM EMS and need to find the TPS clip to wire in the MAP sensor. Ithink i know what it is but, would like some asurance. Anyone have a pic of said clip? I zearched with no luck :(

Thanks!
Members don't see the above ad. Register now - it's free!
st185- HKS exhaust, Aussie mid pipe and custom 3" down pipe, Tial 50mm BOV, HKS 272 cams, HKS adj cam gears, custom FMIC, HKS GT3040, Tial 38mm wastegate, AEM ems, fully built bottom end, RC 1200cc injectors, at 25 lbs and almost complete :D
User avatar
alltracst185
Established Member
 
Posts: 2994
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 8:27 pm
Location: Fitchburg, MA

Re: Where is the turbo pressure sensor located on a st185?

Postby Terracar » Wed May 18, 2011 9:23 pm

It is mounted to the fire wall. I will see if I can find a pic. Otherwise I will snap one when I get home since I will be working on trying to get the front strut brace to fit

-Terracar
'92 'trac - Demon - currently in need of some reconstructive surgery.
User avatar
Terracar
Established Member
 
Posts: 1553
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 2:47 pm
Location: Battle Ground, WA

Re: Where is the turbo pressure sensor located on a st185?

Postby celicasilfee » Wed May 18, 2011 9:47 pm

hey, I know we were both looking for info on where to wire in the MAP & IAT's... apparently you found the info. I have not. Care to share?? :notworthy:
'96 GT (money pit jr)
For show

'90 GT4 RC (money pit sr)
For go
User avatar
celicasilfee
Gold Member
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 6:50 pm
Location: Binghamton, NY

Re: Where is the turbo pressure sensor located on a st185?

Postby GT4_ever » Wed May 18, 2011 11:32 pm

Image

Picture borrowed from google and edited! It will have a vacuum line that goes around the left of the intake manifold, and at around the left most point of the intake manifold the line will have a little filter thing on it. Can take better picture if needed!
GT4_ever
Club Member
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 3:32 pm
Location: East Coast Canada

Re: Where is the turbo pressure sensor located on a st185?

Postby alltracst185 » Wed May 18, 2011 11:53 pm

celicasilfee wrote:hey, I know we were both looking for info on where to wire in the MAP & IAT's... apparently you found the info. I have not. Care to share?? :notworthy:

AIT sensor gets wired to the brown and grey/black wire from the AFM, polarity doesn't matter

MAP sensor gets wired to the three wires from the turbo pressure sensor:

AEM Red wire to Pink/Blue OEM harness
AEM Black wire to Brown OEM harness
AEM Green wire to Red/White OEM harness

I plan to do a write-up on this as soon as I'm finished, already have almost all the pics I need :wink:
st185- HKS exhaust, Aussie mid pipe and custom 3" down pipe, Tial 50mm BOV, HKS 272 cams, HKS adj cam gears, custom FMIC, HKS GT3040, Tial 38mm wastegate, AEM ems, fully built bottom end, RC 1200cc injectors, at 25 lbs and almost complete :D
User avatar
alltracst185
Established Member
 
Posts: 2994
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 8:27 pm
Location: Fitchburg, MA

Re: Where is the turbo pressure sensor located on a st185?

Postby alltracst185 » Wed May 18, 2011 11:57 pm

I would love a pic of the clip, I really don't want to take the chance of cutting the wrong one off! :doh:
st185- HKS exhaust, Aussie mid pipe and custom 3" down pipe, Tial 50mm BOV, HKS 272 cams, HKS adj cam gears, custom FMIC, HKS GT3040, Tial 38mm wastegate, AEM ems, fully built bottom end, RC 1200cc injectors, at 25 lbs and almost complete :D
User avatar
alltracst185
Established Member
 
Posts: 2994
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 8:27 pm
Location: Fitchburg, MA

Re: Where is the turbo pressure sensor located on a st185?

Postby alltracst185 » Thu May 19, 2011 12:26 am

Is this the clip? Seems to have all the right colors and around the stated location :shrug:

Image
Image
Image
Image
st185- HKS exhaust, Aussie mid pipe and custom 3" down pipe, Tial 50mm BOV, HKS 272 cams, HKS adj cam gears, custom FMIC, HKS GT3040, Tial 38mm wastegate, AEM ems, fully built bottom end, RC 1200cc injectors, at 25 lbs and almost complete :D
User avatar
alltracst185
Established Member
 
Posts: 2994
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 8:27 pm
Location: Fitchburg, MA

Re: Where is the turbo pressure sensor located on a st185?

Postby Terracar » Thu May 19, 2011 12:40 am

Yes, that appears to be the correct clip. Pic below is of mine:

Image

-Terracar
'92 'trac - Demon - currently in need of some reconstructive surgery.
User avatar
Terracar
Established Member
 
Posts: 1553
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 2:47 pm
Location: Battle Ground, WA

Re: Where is the turbo pressure sensor located on a st185?

Postby alltracst185 » Thu May 19, 2011 12:52 am

Thanks Terracar! :D
st185- HKS exhaust, Aussie mid pipe and custom 3" down pipe, Tial 50mm BOV, HKS 272 cams, HKS adj cam gears, custom FMIC, HKS GT3040, Tial 38mm wastegate, AEM ems, fully built bottom end, RC 1200cc injectors, at 25 lbs and almost complete :D
User avatar
alltracst185
Established Member
 
Posts: 2994
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 8:27 pm
Location: Fitchburg, MA

Re: Where is the turbo pressure sensor located on a st185?

Postby sarnodude » Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:14 am

What does that sensor do ? (the one with the spring-loaded hex knob on it ?)
The reason I am asking is, the one on my car has a hose attached to it that is completely collapsed.
sarnodude
Club Member
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2010 5:27 pm

Re: Where is the turbo pressure sensor located on a st185?

Postby awd3sgte4me » Thu Dec 31, 2015 4:55 pm

That sensor is actually a valve for the a/c. Actually called A/C ASV. Its actuates vacuum for a vacuum switching valve for the A/C.
awd3sgte4me
Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 3:54 am

Re: Where is the turbo pressure sensor located on a st185?

Postby sarnodude » Thu Dec 31, 2015 5:27 pm

awd3sgte4me wrote:That sensor is actually a valve for the a/c. Actually called A/C ASV. Its actuates vacuum for a vacuum switching valve for the A/C.


That is what I thought, thanks for the clarification, sir! Now if Icould just find a Toyota part number...
sarnodude
Club Member
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2010 5:27 pm


Return to Club Chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests