Automatic trans Alltrac?

Lets talk clutches and everything drivetrain related

Automatic trans Alltrac?

Postby gearhead4life » Tue Oct 07, 2008 2:47 am

I've been thinking... If a Rav4 transaxle will fit in an Alltrac, then why not build one with an auto trans out of a Rav, say mid-90's. If the final drive gear ratio were different, then perhaps the Rav rear diff (IRS) gears could be used in the Alltrac rear diff too. A shifter out of an auto trans st162 or st175 could be used. Has this been done already? This kind of stuff wakes me up in the middle of the night :?
Members don't see the above ad. Register now - it's free!
1988 st165 sold
1988 IMSA st165 sold
1993 st185 1of81 for sale
User avatar
gearhead4life
Club Member
 
Posts: 155
Images: 0
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 11:32 pm
Location: Prescott, Arizona

Postby Dracov » Tue Oct 07, 2008 3:00 am

Most people like to row their own gears, so I rather doubt this has actually been done before. Though, RAV4 manuals have the same final drive as our own gearboxes, so the autos might be as well. There is also the auto from the Camry Alltrac, though the going opinion seems to be that it has a poor selection of gear ratios.
1988 Toyota Celica Alltrac
Dracov
Club Member
 
Posts: 972
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 1:33 pm
Location: KCMO

Postby gearhead4life » Tue Oct 07, 2008 3:09 am

Silly reason for considering it maybe, but my 16 year old son was learning how to drive a manual trans with our 93 Alltrac, and freaking out with worry over ruining the clutch. No pressure, it's just a '93 with 1 of 81 plates. He's doing fine now, but got me to thinking when I read a thread on here about various alltrac tranny gear ratios. Up until then, I hadn't realized a Rav tranny would fit. While we're on the subject of trans options though, where do the 6 speed tranny's come from that are in some of the CS rally 185's?
1988 st165 sold
1988 IMSA st165 sold
1993 st185 1of81 for sale
User avatar
gearhead4life
Club Member
 
Posts: 155
Images: 0
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 11:32 pm
Location: Prescott, Arizona

Postby tw2 » Tue Oct 07, 2008 7:09 am

You wont find many car enthusiasts wanting to change a manual turbo car to an auto. The closest I would ever get is tiptronic, the tranny doesn't know you need to be at 5000rpm in 2nd because your about to come out of a corner. As for 6 speed, did the new caldina have a 6 speed manual option? I'm sure they made it for the purpose otherwise.
Thomas, JDM 90 185, 06 350z
User avatar
tw2
Established Member
 
Posts: 2909
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2005 3:01 am
Location: Hamilton, New Zealand

Postby chaos_cascade » Tue Oct 07, 2008 8:29 am

Some guy is selling his corolla wagon alltrac out here with an automatic for 1700 bucks.... and apparently he is still getting 30 mpg. Looks rather pristine too if you can tell anything from a photo.
Image
User avatar
chaos_cascade
Club Member
 
Posts: 423
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 5:43 pm

Postby Meurz » Tue Oct 07, 2008 11:38 am

WHY? :|
Turbocelica.nl
User avatar
Meurz
Established Member
 
Posts: 2189
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 12:16 pm
Location: NLD

Postby LegacyofDan » Tue Oct 07, 2008 12:08 pm

no offense. but i loathe automatics...imo
User avatar
LegacyofDan
GTFour God
 
Posts: 3640
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 3:54 pm

Postby wizzards581 » Tue Oct 07, 2008 3:08 pm

Meurz wrote:WHY? :|


cuz auto are faster then manuals... says mkiv guys...
-90 celica turbo All-Trac (sold)
-03 matrix XR
wizzards581
Established Member
 
Posts: 1362
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 1:20 am
Location: Nor Cal

Postby CMS-GT4 » Tue Oct 07, 2008 3:17 pm

Dracov wrote:Though, RAV4 manuals have the same final drive as our own gearboxes, so the autos might be as well.


Wrong. See the rav4 gearbox thread.

+ I doubt the rav4 auto box is built strong enough for any decent power. Some speculate the manual rav4 box does not hold up to big power either.
Coldiron
92 st185 (205 swap) | 03 350Z Track (sold) | 13 Pilot | 17 Mazda3
www.noritoy.com | noritoy.deviantart.com | http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=19891
User avatar
CMS-GT4
GTSilver Member
 
Posts: 10345
Images: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 9:12 pm
Location: St Louis Area (IL)

1992 Toyota Celica

Postby Hotrodhendrix » Tue Oct 07, 2008 3:31 pm

Its not worth it. Not to mention doing something like this to a 93 is against the law. :wink:

The caldina did have a 6 speed but it will not work with our setup. I guess I should say it will not work without a HUGE amount of money.
"The more you let life's obstacles slow you down the longer it will take to defeat them."
~Yours truly
User avatar
Hotrodhendrix
GTFour God
 
Posts: 3480
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 5:45 pm
Location: DFW Texas

Postby Dracov » Tue Oct 07, 2008 3:35 pm

CMS-GT4 wrote:Wrong. See the rav4 gearbox thread.


I would if I honestly gave a damn.
1988 Toyota Celica Alltrac
Dracov
Club Member
 
Posts: 972
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 1:33 pm
Location: KCMO

Postby LegacyofDan » Tue Oct 07, 2008 3:59 pm

Hotrodhendrix wrote:Its not worth it. Not to mention doing something like this to a 93 is against the law. :wink:

The caldina did have a 6 speed but it will not work with our setup. I guess I should say it will not work without a HUGE amount of money.


what would have to be done to make the 6 speed work? shift cables, and shifter...thats all i would see as a difference?

pardon my ignorance
User avatar
LegacyofDan
GTFour God
 
Posts: 3640
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 3:54 pm

Postby CMS-GT4 » Tue Oct 07, 2008 4:07 pm

Dracov wrote:
CMS-GT4 wrote:Wrong. See the rav4 gearbox thread.


I would if I honestly gave a damn.


Well at least give enough of a damn to not spread incorrect info.

On topic, if you really want an auot, get a caldina box or figure out how to mate a mr2 auto the the at transfer.
Coldiron
92 st185 (205 swap) | 03 350Z Track (sold) | 13 Pilot | 17 Mazda3
www.noritoy.com | noritoy.deviantart.com | http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=19891
User avatar
CMS-GT4
GTSilver Member
 
Posts: 10345
Images: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 9:12 pm
Location: St Louis Area (IL)

1992 Toyota Celica

Postby Hotrodhendrix » Tue Oct 07, 2008 4:35 pm

LegacyofDan wrote:
Hotrodhendrix wrote:Its not worth it. Not to mention doing something like this to a 93 is against the law. :wink:

The caldina did have a 6 speed but it will not work with our setup. I guess I should say it will not work without a HUGE amount of money.


what would have to be done to make the 6 speed work? shift cables, and shifter...thats all i would see as a difference?

pardon my ignorance


There is ALOT more to it then that. There is a thread on here somewhere that talks about it.
"The more you let life's obstacles slow you down the longer it will take to defeat them."
~Yours truly
User avatar
Hotrodhendrix
GTFour God
 
Posts: 3480
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 5:45 pm
Location: DFW Texas

Postby LegacyofDan » Tue Oct 07, 2008 4:50 pm

Hotrodhendrix wrote:
LegacyofDan wrote:
Hotrodhendrix wrote:Its not worth it. Not to mention doing something like this to a 93 is against the law. :wink:

The caldina did have a 6 speed but it will not work with our setup. I guess I should say it will not work without a HUGE amount of money.


what would have to be done to make the 6 speed work? shift cables, and shifter...thats all i would see as a difference?

pardon my ignorance


There is ALOT more to it then that. There is a thread on here somewhere that talks about it.


so i would presume from ur prior statement of course lol :P...just curious as to what work, i will search for it ...

searched...found a crap ton of results...

these are the only relevant ones i could find, but no useful information that pertains to my question...

http://alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php ... ed+caldina

http://alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php ... ed+caldina

may someone point me into the right direction please?

edit:

ahh i think something was lost in translation, i thought that a 6 speed, as in 6 speed Manuel, existed for the caldina, i had neglected to remember that the caldina's all came in slush box(auto)...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_Caldina

....therefore making a auto into a manuel 6 speed, would be a bitch

or making a 5 speed into a 6 speed a pain as well, and not worth the money or effort in my opinion....

i believe thats where my confusion had derived from...so i believe i answered my own question, despite my own forgetfulness but through dedication to learn more lol...haha yeah whatever

i apologize for off topic-ness.
User avatar
LegacyofDan
GTFour God
 
Posts: 3640
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 3:54 pm

Next

Return to Drivetrain Central

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest