My Budget 300bhp St185

Talk about your project car here

Postby Kcman91gts » Tue Sep 02, 2008 3:55 pm

you mean that stuff used in office lights ..

and also with the brake stopper , did you have to tac that bolt onto the end of the MC so it could hold it or is there a hole for it .. i might give that a shot when i do my rear disk conversion.
Members don't see the above ad. Register now - it's free!
User avatar
Kcman91gts
Club Member
 
Posts: 374
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 11:47 pm
Location: Kingston , Ontario

Postby tw2 » Tue Sep 02, 2008 7:38 pm

It sits very very close to the master cylinder but is not attached in any way. I was going to use a spare engine valve to make mine if that gives you an idea- just a nice flat surface for it to come into contact with when you brake hard.
Thomas, JDM 90 185, 06 350z
User avatar
tw2
Established Member
 
Posts: 2909
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2005 3:01 am
Location: Hamilton, New Zealand

Postby Kcman91gts » Tue Sep 02, 2008 9:20 pm

Ahhh ok .. i think i have the idea now ..

Any of you got any ideas for someone whos oil pressure gauge T just broke off in their head ? .. because i need some right about now .
User avatar
Kcman91gts
Club Member
 
Posts: 374
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 11:47 pm
Location: Kingston , Ontario

Postby tw2 » Wed Sep 03, 2008 1:16 am

Yes.... don't use a T, they almost always break eventually. What do you have coming off it? If it is just the stock sensor and another one, ditch the stock sensor since the car doesn't use it for anything, it only powers the idiot light on the dash. If you have other crap then get a flexy section of oil hose to go to a T firmly mounted on something so it cannot crack.
Thomas, JDM 90 185, 06 350z
User avatar
tw2
Established Member
 
Posts: 2909
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2005 3:01 am
Location: Hamilton, New Zealand

Postby Kcman91gts » Wed Sep 03, 2008 3:33 am

The T broke off today as i was changing out the oil pressure sensor and is now stuck in the opening for the sensor .. thats what i meant , i already had it T'd off but it broke today lol .. ive been told i may as well buy a new engine because having the head reworked is going to cost me out the ass.
User avatar
Kcman91gts
Club Member
 
Posts: 374
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 11:47 pm
Location: Kingston , Ontario

Postby tw2 » Wed Sep 03, 2008 3:42 am

Oh I see what you mean. I have started a thread for you in general maintenance
Thomas, JDM 90 185, 06 350z
User avatar
tw2
Established Member
 
Posts: 2909
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2005 3:01 am
Location: Hamilton, New Zealand

Postby MrDB » Mon Sep 15, 2008 7:38 pm

Latest update.

Ive been offerd an emanage blue v.v.cheap with inj/ign harnesses, i know a couple og 185's running the emanage and im tempted to give it a go. I can then run at least 550's an sort out the fueling. Im not after much more hp yet just want to add a bit of safety to the setup now mainly due to clutch and std pistons etc...

What are peoples thoughts on the emanage blue??
Image
Car Build : [ http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=26755 ]
MrDB
Club Member
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 6:22 am

Postby MrDB » Sun Sep 28, 2008 3:11 pm

Well now i have the emanage i can begin moving onto phase 2 of my mods..

so:

1) fit emanage.

I have enough wires on the harness to do ign and inj side so no extra costs with that I want to get a pressure sensor so i can get the maps done against that instead of the std AFM reading and hence it wont matter if i max out afm.. Not that £ so thats ok.

I need to get data lead for the emanage so i can reset all of the old st205 maps to zero and then wire it in so its doing nothing so i know its all working ok. I can also see then if im maxing out afm etc... from data logging within emanage.

going to try the dku-5 nokia lead mod and see if it works only going to cost around a £5 if not i can get a aftermarket lead for £30

2) Get st205 injectors 550's so i can run safer inj duty and also fit my bored fuel rail...

3) i purchased from a temperature switch which i want to wire up to a buzzer or led so i have an early warning on overheating as i hate just a gauge that just reads temp its to easy not to notice high temp for a few mins and then your fubared....

4) wire up my tvis controller so i can get it setup to open up earlier.

After those are done i can get the emanage mapped and if i can run uptop 1.2bar i will be happy with that and hopefully around 320hp if not more. In theory i could rub higher boost than that but im limited by clutch and std bottom end so im playing it a little safe...

If nokia cable comes through next week i will try and zero the maps and possibly fit the emanage to test the wiring etc...

Hopefully i will have it all setup around christmas time ;)
Image
Car Build : [ http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=26755 ]
MrDB
Club Member
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 6:22 am

Postby wannabe toms racer » Mon Nov 17, 2008 3:15 pm

NICE!!! this is impressive stuff man, i thank you for sharing these ingenius ideas, i now have a few more things added to my list for winter upgrades lol
Adam 'Akiba' Armstrong
90 audi 80 quattro- new projekt
Stubborn ass '91 alltrac - traded!
dont let ANYONE fool you money CAN buy happiness...
OR at least SUPPORT it...
User avatar
wannabe toms racer
Established Member
 
Posts: 1054
Images: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 1:27 am
Location: a little hole in Michigan, USA

1991 Toyota Celica

Postby MrDB » Thu May 21, 2009 7:32 pm

been a while since update.

So i have now added the emanage blue and an install guide is now available for anyone here http://www.adlracing.co.uk/files/Emanage%20Blue%203sgte.pdf

A simple DIY tune to remove ignition advance at higher revs/load seems to have made the world of diffence to top end pull ( butt dyno ). I have now basic fuel and ignition control and also data logging which with a bit of clever reading will also give me my 0-60 times... :)

Over holidays i will be finishing a few other little projects. Engine damper for £6 is one of them.....
Image
Car Build : [ http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=26755 ]
MrDB
Club Member
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 6:22 am

Postby MrDB » Wed Jun 03, 2009 10:16 am

Just got some 550 injectors for £23 so once here will be fitting bored fuel rail and injectors then programming emanage.

For reference a friend has just had a full forged rebuild front mount intercooler and running an st205 turbo and freshly mapped hks f-con

@ 1.1 - 1.2 bar he made 305bhp on same dyno as mine was run.

Hes now saving for the TT s148 as the st205 turbo is restricting him. Hes hoping for around 380 - 400 hp with the TT @ 1.4 -1.6 ;)
Image
Car Build : [ http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=26755 ]
MrDB
Club Member
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 6:22 am

Postby aubeone » Wed Jun 03, 2009 6:45 pm

Certainly an inspiration to those looking to do a lot with so little, like myself. Especially considering I'm in the midst of hooking up a jdm Gen2 3sgte in my 165, so all of this is very relevant.

I can't wait to pull this up on my laptop at home to see what I've been reading about at work!

Great Job!
Parting Out an 88 ST165
Parts Available:
JDM Gen2 3SGTE w/ converted harness and Gen2 ECU
New suspension and brakes
Full Black Leather Interior (both front seats with pwr lumbar)

Contact for details.
aubeone
Club Member
 
Posts: 476
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 2:07 pm
Location: Little Britain, ON

Postby redGT4 » Thu Jun 04, 2009 3:23 am

:notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy:

You can hold your head up high on this build thats for sure.
54 trim hiflowed ct26; Custom top mount;2 1/2" exhaust; Turbosmart boost controller(not fitted); Autometer CF series; Everything else stock; The Haunter of the Hills.
redGT4
Club Member
 
Posts: 511
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 7:25 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Postby WarTowels » Thu Jun 04, 2009 5:12 am

Just went through and read all the posts. Cool stuff.

Seems like you have knack for getting things pretty cheap!

How do you like the ProfecB? I think I need an electronic boost controller cause my car spikes like crazy.

-Towels
2003 S2000
1985 300TD
User avatar
WarTowels
Gold GTfour God
 
Posts: 6443
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 4:30 am
Location: I live in a garage.

Postby MrDB » Thu Jun 04, 2009 12:00 pm

I have the profec a ( fuzzy logic one ) bit scary to setup as you have to do flat out runs in 4th to get it programmed. But it learns boost curve fantastic and i hold contant boost and it doesnt spike / overboost whatever the situation...

Thanks for your support knd words ;).

Ive written this to show people it just takes a bit of common sense to build cheaply / reliably. Do your research and just because people are lemmings when concerning tuning doesnt mean you have to be.


more updates as and when. Suspension next ;)
Image
Car Build : [ http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=26755 ]
MrDB
Club Member
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 6:22 am

PreviousNext

Return to My Project

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests