ST205 ecu...quick question

JDM GT Four, ST185RC and ST205.

ST205 ecu...quick question

Postby martin » Wed Jul 06, 2005 12:38 am

hi,

can anyone tell me which wire on the ecu is the one that sends the signal to the "check engine" light on the guage cluster.

I don't have that one wire from the body harness hooked up to the ecu, so my check engine light does not come on when i put the key in the on position.


thanks,

Martin
Members don't see the above ad. Register now - it's free!
89 MR2 MK1.5
martin
Club Member
 
Posts: 272
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 8:38 pm
Location: Toronto

Postby Gary » Wed Jul 06, 2005 1:39 am

This is ST205 pinouts.
It's the "W" wire.
Image

The circuit looks like this on ST185.
Image
93 ST185
Image
Gary
GTFour God
 
Posts: 6430
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 1:03 pm
Location: Carolina

Postby martin » Wed Jul 06, 2005 1:58 am

thanks alot Gary!!

I will wire it up tommorow.



Martin
89 MR2 MK1.5
martin
Club Member
 
Posts: 272
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 8:38 pm
Location: Toronto

Postby martin » Thu Jul 07, 2005 1:31 am

Ok, that was the correct wire and the light is working. Thanks!


Now the bad news, the light is staying on. I will check for codes tommorow. I'm pretty sure it will be atleast code 54.

My IC pump is not wired to the oem electonics like it came new. I will check the other theread you responded to me about this code 54 before.

One question though, if lets say i keep the IC pump just wired on a switch the way i have it now, can i do the trick with the " diode" from Radio Shack to fool the ecu that the ic motor is there and functioning?

One other option would be to rewire the pump back to the oem wires etc, but than it would be turning of and on on it's own. I would like to keep the pump running longer that the ecu would tell it to because of the midengine design of my car and heat issues there..


Martin
89 MR2 MK1.5
martin
Club Member
 
Posts: 272
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 8:38 pm
Location: Toronto

Postby martin » Sun Jul 10, 2005 3:03 am

lets say i get a gen 3 sw20 ecu. That will take care of code 54 right? Any wires that would need to be rewired to make other sensors work? Anyone done this before?


Martin
89 MR2 MK1.5
martin
Club Member
 
Posts: 272
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 8:38 pm
Location: Toronto

Postby Gary » Mon Jul 11, 2005 3:14 am

martin wrote:lets say i get a gen 3 sw20 ecu. That will take care of code 54 right? Any wires that would need to be rewired to make other sensors work? Anyone done this before?


Martin

I'm not really sure about this, but you could be right because the late model MR2 (with 3rd gen engine) didn't come with w/a IC.
93 ST185
Image
Gary
GTFour God
 
Posts: 6430
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 1:03 pm
Location: Carolina


Return to GT Four Chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest