Fuel Presure Regulato

Q&A regarding engines, turbos, and intercoolers and power upgrades

Fuel Presure Regulato

Postby MARLON1211 » Wed Sep 22, 2004 2:43 pm

can i buy an aftermarket FPR, Install it in our stock specification, for the future mods. Just wanted to have one and that for my future fuel mods. Is this possible and can it be tune down to our stock pressure spec. Hopefully i made sense. 90ST185. By the way i did install a Supra fuel pump allready.
Members don't see the above ad. Register now - it's free!
SO BE IT
User avatar
MARLON1211
Established Member
 
Posts: 1010
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 12:09 pm

Postby ChrisD » Wed Sep 22, 2004 6:15 pm

Yes, absolutely. :)
1988 ST165
1994 ST205 WRC
ChrisD
Established Member
 
Posts: 1622
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 4:30 am
Location: Calgary AB Canada

whar a good FPR

Postby MARLON1211 » Wed Sep 22, 2004 7:19 pm

and installation wise am sure its just a direct swap? Take the old ones out, and slam the new one in?
SO BE IT
User avatar
MARLON1211
Established Member
 
Posts: 1010
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 12:09 pm

whar a good FPR

Postby MARLON1211 » Wed Sep 22, 2004 7:20 pm

and installation wise am sure its just a direct swap? Take the old ones out, and slam the new one in?
SO BE IT
User avatar
MARLON1211
Established Member
 
Posts: 1010
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 12:09 pm

Postby GT4TOY » Wed Sep 22, 2004 7:26 pm

How I hooked mine up is leaving the stock FPR where it is, removing the vac hose from it, ran the fuel line from the stock one to my aftermarket one. (the aftermarket one just had and input and output for fuel lines)

This is just temporary until I get the rest of the fuel stuff sorted on the car, but it does work quite well. I've had it like that for a few months now with no problems.
Gus
'89 ST185 JDM GT-Four
Auckland, New Zealand
User avatar
GT4TOY
Club Member
 
Posts: 142
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 1:11 am
Location: Auckland, NZ

Postby MARLON1211 » Wed Sep 22, 2004 7:38 pm

Gus am not familiar in installing one of this is this almost the same thing as an aftermarket set up, i know its has two hoses that attached to the FPR, can i just follow the old set up lines and install it like that. The one am getting has a gauge installed into it. And how am i going to tune it to a regular stock specs.
SO BE IT
User avatar
MARLON1211
Established Member
 
Posts: 1010
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 12:09 pm

Postby ChrisD » Wed Sep 22, 2004 7:51 pm

No it isn't exactly a direct swap. You will need to run a fuel hose from the rail to the FPR, and mount the FPR somewhere else. I have mine mounted on the strut brace.

Here is a good write up on what is needed and how to do it: http://www.trueleo.com/fpr.htm

:)
1988 ST165
1994 ST205 WRC
ChrisD
Established Member
 
Posts: 1622
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 4:30 am
Location: Calgary AB Canada

Postby MARLON1211 » Fri Sep 24, 2004 11:22 am

Do you have a picture where you mounted yours on the strut bar.
SO BE IT
User avatar
MARLON1211
Established Member
 
Posts: 1010
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 12:09 pm

Postby ChrisD » Mon Oct 04, 2004 9:08 pm

Here's a pic...engine is *really* dirty, but what can ya do.

Image
1988 ST165
1994 ST205 WRC
ChrisD
Established Member
 
Posts: 1622
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 4:30 am
Location: Calgary AB Canada

Postby CodingParadox » Mon Oct 04, 2004 9:14 pm

Damn you and your 185RC IC. :shoots: :D
David - Former owner of multiple Alltracs. Have moved on to yellower fields...
Image
User avatar
CodingParadox
Established Member
 
Posts: 1735
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 7:50 am
Location: Bellevue, WA

Postby illGT4 » Mon Oct 04, 2004 9:16 pm

chris_dittrick wrote:Here's a pic...engine is *really* dirty, but what can ya do.


Dirty? lol....
Imagewww.illtuned.com

- Professional Motor Sports Driver & Instructor
- Vehicle Dynamics Specialist
- I4WDTA 4x4 Certified Trainer

User avatar
illGT4
Established Member
 
Posts: 1820
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 3:39 am
Location: New Castle PA

Postby enzytebob » Tue Oct 05, 2004 12:16 am

gt4toy wrote:How I hooked mine up is leaving the stock FPR where it is, removing the vac hose from it, ran the fuel line from the stock one to my aftermarket one. (the aftermarket one just had and input and output for fuel lines)

This is just temporary until I get the rest of the fuel stuff sorted on the car, but it does work quite well. I've had it like that for a few months now with no problems.



There's a step missing here. The stock FPR has 3 ports, the feed directly from the rail, the return line and the vac hose. The vac hose and return line can easily be transferred to the new fpr. How did you transfer the fuel feed from the rail-to old fpr to the new fpr since this part is screwed down to the rail?
enzytebob
Club Member
 
Posts: 173
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 8:14 pm
Location: Mostly in the woods

Postby ChrisD » Tue Oct 05, 2004 6:48 am

You can use fittings from Earl's to adapt from the fuel rail to a -6AN braided hose, to the FPR. A good description is on this site: http://www.trueleo.com/fpr.htm

lol @ comments on my engine. :D
1988 ST165
1994 ST205 WRC
ChrisD
Established Member
 
Posts: 1622
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 4:30 am
Location: Calgary AB Canada

Postby GT4TOY » Wed Oct 06, 2004 1:21 am

gt4toy wrote:
How I hooked mine up is leaving the stock FPR where it is, removing the vac hose from it, ran the fuel line from the stock one to my aftermarket one. (the aftermarket one just had and input and output for fuel lines)

This is just temporary until I get the rest of the fuel stuff sorted on the car, but it does work quite well. I've had it like that for a few months now with no problems.



There's a step missing here. The stock FPR has 3 ports, the feed directly from the rail, the return line and the vac hose. The vac hose and return line can easily be transferred to the new fpr. How did you transfer the fuel feed from the rail-to old fpr to the new fpr since this part is screwed down to the rail?


I left it there, ran a line from the original FPR (the line that would normally be a fuel return) to the input of the aftermarket FPR and then ran the return line to the original connector.

Its not the best, I'm going to get an adaptor in the future so I can remove the stock FPR, but hey it works. :D

Just make sure you remove the vac hose from the OEM FPR otherwise you would be running 2 in serial (which might not be a problem)
Gus
'89 ST185 JDM GT-Four
Auckland, New Zealand
User avatar
GT4TOY
Club Member
 
Posts: 142
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 1:11 am
Location: Auckland, NZ

Postby -==L=a=N=c=E==- » Wed Oct 06, 2004 7:59 pm

Just something which hasn't been mentioned ehre yet. With the fuel regulator. it has to be a rising rate one at 1:1 pressure right? Looking into a malpassi unit.
User avatar
-==L=a=N=c=E==-
Club Member
 
Posts: 214
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 7:22 pm
Location: Rosewood, Queensland, Australia

Next

Return to Performance and Power

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest