New goodie: Forge wastegate actuator.

Q&A regarding engines, turbos, and intercoolers and power upgrades

New goodie: Forge wastegate actuator.

Postby Simba » Sun Feb 18, 2007 12:47 am

Well, I was sick and tired of my stock actuator on my CT27. If the cap I had on the second port wasn't blowing off, it was sticking, or just generally being a pain in the butt.

So, off with its head, and in with the Forge actuator. It has a much larger diaphragm, better/bigger spring, and you can take it apart and service it if need be. Plus, it looks cool:

Image

Image

Early impressions are: It's awesome. Very consistent boost, no spikes, no creep. Highly recommended if you're trying to squeeze every last bit of response out of a CT26.

I should point out that installing it is something of a PITA, as unless you fab a bracket from scratch, you need to hack the old actuator off it's bracket. This is not fun. At all. But it can be done with a sawzall and a lot of profanity.
Members don't see the above ad. Register now - it's free!
Last edited by Simba on Sun Feb 18, 2007 6:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Lots of fast, loud things.
User avatar
Simba
Established Member
 
Posts: 2896
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 10:17 pm
Location: New York, NY

Postby Highway » Sun Feb 18, 2007 1:50 am

Nice........ :D
Cheers! Highway

former car....Red 91 ST185 AllTrac # 666 "SATAN"
Greddy Turbo, Blitz ECU, RC/CS upgrades....+++
Image
now a 97 BMW 840CI...I miss the AT!
User avatar
Highway
Established Member
 
Posts: 1075
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 4:44 pm
Location: Dallas Texas

Re: New goodie: Forge wastegate actuator.

Postby Denver_whiteST185 » Sun Feb 18, 2007 3:14 am

Looks very nice simba.

Simba wrote:I should point out that installing it is something of a PITA, as unless you fab a bracket from scratch, you need to hack the old actuator off it's bracket. This is not fun. At all. But it can be done with a sawzall and a lot of profanity.


Good to know :P
^Ted^

went back to the dark side of hondas!!!
(not really, i just own a completely UNmodified 91 civic dx that gets 45+ mpg now)
User avatar
Denver_whiteST185
GTFour God
 
Posts: 3009
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 7:52 am
Location: Fort Collins, CO

Postby Conan » Sun Feb 18, 2007 7:06 pm

Where did you get it (Forge online shop?) and how much was it?
When in doubt - increase boost.
User avatar
Conan
Established Member
 
Posts: 2010
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2005 10:38 am
Location: Lithuania

Postby Simba » Sun Feb 18, 2007 8:13 pm

Conan wrote:Where did you get it (Forge online shop?) and how much was it?


Yeah, Forge USA. It's not a stocked part, so I had to wait ~3 weeks to get it from England. It was around $200 with shipping.

Lots of fast, loud things.
User avatar
Simba
Established Member
 
Posts: 2896
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 10:17 pm
Location: New York, NY

Postby alltracst185 » Sun Feb 18, 2007 8:38 pm

is the ct27 better than the ct20b? i know the ct27 is the ct26 upgraded......how much does it go for?
st185- HKS exhaust, Aussie mid pipe and custom 3" down pipe, Tial 50mm BOV, HKS 272 cams, HKS adj cam gears, custom FMIC, HKS GT3040, Tial 38mm wastegate, AEM ems, fully built bottom end, RC 1200cc injectors, at 25 lbs and almost complete :D
User avatar
alltracst185
Established Member
 
Posts: 2994
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 8:27 pm
Location: Fitchburg, MA

Postby GT4_CR » Sun Feb 18, 2007 9:45 pm

Why does your wastegate actuator has two lines? Mine only have one.
GT4_CR
Club Member
 
Posts: 262
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2005 10:46 pm
Location: Costa Rica, Central America.. that little bridge between the north and the south. ( not puerto rico)

Postby Gary » Sun Feb 18, 2007 11:24 pm

GT4_CR wrote:Why does your wastegate actuator has two lines? Mine only have one.

What turbo is yours?
Actuator on CT26 has two lines.
One is connected to the compressor housing.
Another is connected to the T-VSV.

By the way, Simba, what PSI are you running out of the spring?
I'm guessing you don't use any boost controller.
93 ST185
Image
Gary
GTFour God
 
Posts: 6430
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 1:03 pm
Location: Carolina

Postby Simba » Sun Feb 18, 2007 11:45 pm

Alltrac and MR2 CT26's have two ports on the actuator. One is for the T-VSV. Supra CT26's have one.

You have a choice of spring weight when you order it from Forge. I went with the "low" 10 psi spring versus the 15 psi spring, and yes, I use an AVC-R.

More info on the CT27 is here. There's a lot of debate as to which is better. If you can find a good one, the CT20b is probably better. Most all CT26 rebuilds, which is all the CT27 is, toss seals and bearings very quickly.

I got the CT27 under the impression that ATS would stand behind their product, and to some extent they did, but in the end they ended up blaming two turbo failures on me instead of taking care of the actual problem, and so it's a crap shoot either way.

Best advice is to get a real turbo and not waste money on CT26 rebuilds.
Last edited by Simba on Wed Dec 26, 2007 6:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Lots of fast, loud things.
User avatar
Simba
Established Member
 
Posts: 2896
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 10:17 pm
Location: New York, NY

Postby GT4_CR » Mon Feb 19, 2007 3:05 am

Gary wrote:
GT4_CR wrote:Why does your wastegate actuator has two lines? Mine only have one.

What turbo is yours?
Actuator on CT26 has two lines.
One is connected to the compressor housing.
Another is connected to the T-VSV.

By the way, Simba, what PSI are you running out of the spring?
I'm guessing you don't use any boost controller.


I have a Supra CT26 :shrug:
GT4_CR
Club Member
 
Posts: 262
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2005 10:46 pm
Location: Costa Rica, Central America.. that little bridge between the north and the south. ( not puerto rico)

Postby Gary » Mon Feb 19, 2007 3:20 am

Simba wrote:Alltrac and MR2 CT26's have two ports on the actuator. One is for the T-VSV. Supra CT26's have one.

^^^^^^
93 ST185
Image
Gary
GTFour God
 
Posts: 6430
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 1:03 pm
Location: Carolina

Postby etantshi » Mon Feb 19, 2007 3:29 am

Going to rig up a custom mount for the upgraded actuator?
-----
André B.
1991 ST185 (down but not out)
1990 ST185 (lost, but not forgotten)
1996 RZN140 (the daily)
2004 Yamaha R6 (needs a battery)
etantshi
GTFour God
 
Posts: 5749
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 1:05 am
Location: Augusta

Postby Simba » Mon Feb 19, 2007 3:44 am

etantshi wrote:Going to rig up a custom mount for the upgraded actuator?


Already did. Note the part about sawing the old actuator off being a PITA. :P

Lots of fast, loud things.
User avatar
Simba
Established Member
 
Posts: 2896
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 10:17 pm
Location: New York, NY

Postby etantshi » Mon Feb 19, 2007 3:49 am

Nope, didn't see that at all. I was blinded by the bling. 8) Looks very nice.
-----
André B.
1991 ST185 (down but not out)
1990 ST185 (lost, but not forgotten)
1996 RZN140 (the daily)
2004 Yamaha R6 (needs a battery)
etantshi
GTFour God
 
Posts: 5749
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 1:05 am
Location: Augusta

Postby Conan » Mon Feb 19, 2007 5:06 am

Simba wrote:I went with the "low" 10 psi spring versus the 15 psi spring

Is it able to hold 10 psi all through the redline in, say, 3rd gear?
When in doubt - increase boost.
User avatar
Conan
Established Member
 
Posts: 2010
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2005 10:38 am
Location: Lithuania

Next

Return to Performance and Power

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest