How to 400 awhp

Q&A regarding engines, turbos, and intercoolers and power upgrades

Postby Hotrodhendrix » Tue Aug 07, 2007 2:45 pm

I know this doesnt go along with the thread but i got another question. When I got the car it had a bad stumbling problem so I switched out the afm's and bam problem solved. My intake lines have a fairly large amount of oil in them. What could this be?? Bad turbo... :cry:
Members don't see the above ad. Register now - it's free!
"The more you let life's obstacles slow you down the longer it will take to defeat them."
~Yours truly
User avatar
Hotrodhendrix
GTFour God
 
Posts: 3480
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 5:45 pm
Location: DFW Texas

Postby Simba » Tue Aug 07, 2007 3:04 pm

Hotrodhendrix wrote:I know this doesnt go along with the thread but i got another question. When I got the car it had a bad stumbling problem so I switched out the afm's and bam problem solved. My intake lines have a fairly large amount of oil in them. What could this be?? Bad turbo... :cry:


Probably either the PCV (unless you have a catch can) or the turbo compressor oil seal.

If the turbo is a rebuild, I'd put money on it being the seal.

Lots of fast, loud things.
User avatar
Simba
Established Member
 
Posts: 2896
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 10:17 pm
Location: New York, NY

Postby Hotrodhendrix » Tue Aug 07, 2007 3:12 pm

I dont think it has been rebuilt yet. It will probably need it tho. I will check that out when i rip her heart out this weekend. Its time for the engine swap.

(No catch can as of right now)
"The more you let life's obstacles slow you down the longer it will take to defeat them."
~Yours truly
User avatar
Hotrodhendrix
GTFour God
 
Posts: 3480
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 5:45 pm
Location: DFW Texas

Postby darthripley » Tue Aug 07, 2007 5:15 pm

its normal to have some oil without a catch can, but if there's a lot then the seals on the turbo are toast & consider it rebuild time.
Image
86 RN66 Hilux 4x4 Turbo Truck "Falcon" 22RTE
87 AW11 MR2 "Super 2" 4AGZE
90 ST185 Celica AllTrac "Vadar" 3SGTE
99 SXV20 Camry "Maul" 5SFE
Female Moderator
User avatar
darthripley
All Trac Goddess
 
Posts: 4110
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 8:09 pm
Location: dallas, tx

Postby Hotrodhendrix » Tue Aug 07, 2007 5:25 pm

Thats not a big deal. I figured this into my rebuild. Plan for the worst hope for the best. Anyways anyone know of a good rebuild kit for the td06 20g?
"The more you let life's obstacles slow you down the longer it will take to defeat them."
~Yours truly
User avatar
Hotrodhendrix
GTFour God
 
Posts: 3480
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 5:45 pm
Location: DFW Texas

Postby toayoztan » Tue Aug 07, 2007 7:52 pm

Hotrodhendrix wrote:Thats not a big deal. I figured this into my rebuild. Plan for the worst hope for the best. Anyways anyone know of a good rebuild kit for the td06 20g?


A good rebuild kit would be to get a different turbo :D Jk, jk!

I don't recommend you buy a rebuild kit and do it yourself. Call around and have a reputable shop rebuild the turbo for you.

Also, you should check to see if you have oil in your AFM. Depending on severity, if you have oil seals going out then you'll probably have oil residue in the AFM.

Bryan
2017 Pilot Elite
2014 Juke NISMO RS
1994 Supra TT 6spd
1993 Alltrac - http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=37466
1977 Celica GT Liftback
2015 Grom
1977 GL1000
User avatar
toayoztan
GTFour God
 
Posts: 6734
Images: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 5:51 am
Location: Oklahoma

1993 Toyota Celica

Postby Hotrodhendrix » Tue Aug 07, 2007 7:54 pm

I will check tonight. I have only started it a few times sence I replaced the afm. Thats what clogged the last one so it must be that. Does ats rebuild turbos?? 8)

THere only 45 min away!
"The more you let life's obstacles slow you down the longer it will take to defeat them."
~Yours truly
User avatar
Hotrodhendrix
GTFour God
 
Posts: 3480
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 5:45 pm
Location: DFW Texas

Postby Simba » Tue Aug 07, 2007 11:35 pm

Hotrodhendrix wrote:Does ats rebuild turbos?? 8)


No, they farm them out to random shops with questionable quality control.

Lots of fast, loud things.
User avatar
Simba
Established Member
 
Posts: 2896
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 10:17 pm
Location: New York, NY

Postby darthripley » Wed Aug 08, 2007 12:22 am

i'd recommend Majestic Turbo in Waco to do the rebuild.
they did a great job with ours & did everything just as we wanted it.
Image
86 RN66 Hilux 4x4 Turbo Truck "Falcon" 22RTE
87 AW11 MR2 "Super 2" 4AGZE
90 ST185 Celica AllTrac "Vadar" 3SGTE
99 SXV20 Camry "Maul" 5SFE
Female Moderator
User avatar
darthripley
All Trac Goddess
 
Posts: 4110
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 8:09 pm
Location: dallas, tx

Postby Hotrodhendrix » Wed Aug 08, 2007 12:33 pm

darthripley wrote:i'd recommend Majestic Turbo in Waco to do the rebuild.
they did a great job with ours & did everything just as we wanted it.


I will take a look into them. Thanks.
"The more you let life's obstacles slow you down the longer it will take to defeat them."
~Yours truly
User avatar
Hotrodhendrix
GTFour God
 
Posts: 3480
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 5:45 pm
Location: DFW Texas

Postby Hotrodhendrix » Thu Oct 25, 2007 2:11 pm

Ok I picked up an intercooler yesterday off of craigslist. Its in really good shape and looks like it will fit perfect behind my CS front bumper. Anyways... It has 3" inlets and outlets (outer).. Is this a good or bad thing for my power goals? :shrug:

Also the owner didnt know what brand it was either. He picked it up off of craigslist also but was to big for his honduuuu. :lol:
Is there a usual place they place the brand name?? I looked around the outside and couldnt find anything.
Last edited by Hotrodhendrix on Thu Oct 25, 2007 2:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"The more you let life's obstacles slow you down the longer it will take to defeat them."
~Yours truly
User avatar
Hotrodhendrix
GTFour God
 
Posts: 3480
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 5:45 pm
Location: DFW Texas

Postby Hotrodhendrix » Thu Oct 25, 2007 2:14 pm

Heres the link

http://dallas.craigslist.org/pts/432972562.html

LOL I talked him down from his firm price.. :evil:
"The more you let life's obstacles slow you down the longer it will take to defeat them."
~Yours truly
User avatar
Hotrodhendrix
GTFour God
 
Posts: 3480
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 5:45 pm
Location: DFW Texas

Postby tjdouble07 » Thu Oct 25, 2007 3:34 pm

theUNYTEDone wrote:is there a thread confirming that the trac dyno's just about similarly in fwd mode? i caught no wind of that whatsoever...very interesting.


CodingParadox wrote:Kris Osheim was dynoing some guy's 500awhp GT35 stroker and found only a very small difference between 4WD and 2WD mode. I'm not sure if it's documented anywhere. I'll try to remember to ask him about it next time I talk to him.


Man, I need to read the boards more often... :doh:

Yeh, Kris and I only saw a 2-3% difference in measured hp between FW mode and AWD mode with back to back dyno runs.

I went a little deeper into discussion on this topic after I came back to Utah, did a few more mods on the car, and got it redynoed here in Utah.

Basically with STD correction, when I dyno'd in Oregon on 29 psi, I made 528 WHP. After some head porting and a tubular exhaust manifold, on the same boost levels I saw 534 WHP in FW mode. Here's my dyno day thread where I went into further discussion on the topic.

http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=23395

I'm sorry if this has already been discussed; I'm sometimes not quite up to speed on topic discussions, and haven't fully read this topic yet... :oops:
Last edited by tjdouble07 on Thu Oct 25, 2007 3:41 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Trevor

Image
1990 Celica GT-Four, runs 10's
User avatar
tjdouble07
Club Member
 
Posts: 621
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2005 3:22 am
Location: Hooper, UT

Postby alltracst185 » Thu Oct 25, 2007 3:36 pm

it lokks like the obx core, the bay area fm kit uses the same core.
st185- HKS exhaust, Aussie mid pipe and custom 3" down pipe, Tial 50mm BOV, HKS 272 cams, HKS adj cam gears, custom FMIC, HKS GT3040, Tial 38mm wastegate, AEM ems, fully built bottom end, RC 1200cc injectors, at 25 lbs and almost complete :D
User avatar
alltracst185
Established Member
 
Posts: 2994
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 8:27 pm
Location: Fitchburg, MA

Postby lumbercis » Thu Oct 25, 2007 3:54 pm

3" inlets and outlets are fine, yor biggest problem will be fitting 3" piping in the engine bay. I have 2.5" and it's pretty cramped, but people have done it.

You could run 2.5' piping, but then you won't see any flow benefit from having the big 3" in/outlets. I'd try to get 3" pipes in there somehow. Clocking the turbo down may help.

J.
lumbercis
Gold Member
 
Posts: 2346
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 4:52 am
Location: Washington, D.C.

PreviousNext

Return to Performance and Power

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests