St205 transmission on st185?

Q&A regarding engines, turbos, and intercoolers and power upgrades

St205 transmission on st185?

Postby BayAreaAT® » Thu Jan 12, 2012 3:17 pm

Will it fit?? What's the benefit of it??

Thanks
Members don't see the above ad. Register now - it's free!
Chris M.
91 ST185 "money sponge"
Ford Ford (Daily Grind)
R1 Yamaha ( Need for speed)
Ford F150
Chrysler 300c Hemi baby!!
BayArea,California

www.Boost2maxx.com
User avatar
BayAreaAT®
Established Member
 
Posts: 1025
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: Bay Area,CA

Re: St205 transmission on st185?

Postby mx6er2587 » Thu Jan 12, 2012 3:43 pm

yes it fits. Better synchros. I believe the gearing is slightly different as well
mx6er2587
Established Member
 
Posts: 1162
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 12:08 am
Location: Pittsburgh PA

Re: St205 transmission on st185?

Postby sentraman » Thu Jan 12, 2012 4:40 pm

so w/ a 205 trans, you can use your stock 185 driveshaft? Mounts? axles?
04' Forester XT
sentraman
Club Member
 
Posts: 446
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 8:57 am
Location: Portland, Or

Re: St205 transmission on st185?

Postby quieter » Thu Jan 12, 2012 4:44 pm

yeah dual syncro, i did it on my st185, also changed the differential. if yours isnt LSD its a must!
1990 toyota ST185 with st205 goodies (scrapped)
2011 BMW 535xi M pack (daily)

-Simon
User avatar
quieter
Club Member
 
Posts: 469
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 4:16 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: St205 transmission on st185?

Postby Corey » Thu Jan 12, 2012 4:46 pm

If the tranny comes with 205 mounts, just swap in your 185 mounts, the 205 mounts wont line up with the chassis.

205 tranny doesnt have the fwd selector switch either.
Image
User avatar
Corey
GTFour God
 
Posts: 4121
Images: 50
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 12:12 am

1989 Toyota Celica

Re: St205 transmission on st185?

Postby BayAreaAT® » Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:57 pm

The only reason I would need the 2wd mode is for dyno tuning...
BUT I'm not sure if that's a good idea.. Thank for the info.
Chris M.
91 ST185 "money sponge"
Ford Ford (Daily Grind)
R1 Yamaha ( Need for speed)
Ford F150
Chrysler 300c Hemi baby!!
BayArea,California

www.Boost2maxx.com
User avatar
BayAreaAT®
Established Member
 
Posts: 1025
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: Bay Area,CA

Re: St205 transmission on st185?

Postby sMARTINside » Thu Jan 12, 2012 8:40 pm

I have done this swap and I got in love with how the gears engage. I guess this is because how the better synchros that others talk about.

The ST205 tranny is simply plug and play, on a ST185. The only thing that is different is the bell housing of the transmission, where it matches the engine block. The ST205 engine has an aluminum flange that matches the bell housing to bolt them together. The ST185 engine uses a bigger steel plate to close up the opening, because the engine block doesn't have that flange. So if you are using the ST205 gearbox on the ST185 engine, you will need to use the ST185 plate to close up the back of the flywheel and prevent dirt from getting in the clutch area.

The ratios are pretty much the same. I didn't notice a difference when driving it. The 4th and 5th gears are slightly shorter on the ST205 tranny.

ST185 (non RC) have the E150F tranny.
1: 3.384
2: 1.913
3: 1.333
4: 0.972
5: 0.731
Final Drive: 4.285

ST205 tranny is a E154F:
1: 3.384
2: 1.913
3: 1.258
4: 0.918
5: 0.731
Final Drive: 4.285
User avatar
sMARTINside
Club Member
 
Posts: 497
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 4:33 am
Location: Bas St-Laurent, Québec

1990 Toyota Celica

Re: St205 transmission on st185?

Postby quieter » Wed Feb 08, 2012 12:41 am

hi guys! my buddy installed a st205 tranny on my st185, my speedometer and my mileage isnt working, is the speedometer cable plug and play? apparently theres 2 cables to connect and not one only. is this true? thanks!!
1990 toyota ST185 with st205 goodies (scrapped)
2011 BMW 535xi M pack (daily)

-Simon
User avatar
quieter
Club Member
 
Posts: 469
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 4:16 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: St205 transmission on st185?

Postby klue » Wed Feb 08, 2012 1:09 am

You need to swap over the mechanical speedo cable, and the housing so it will work. Everything should plug right up
facebook.com/xiiimotorsports
#xiiimotorsports ON instagram
User avatar
klue
GTFour God
 
Posts: 3893
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 9:47 pm
Location: Greater Toronto Area

Re: St205 transmission on st185?

Postby spitfiremk16 » Wed Feb 08, 2012 1:11 am

quieter wrote:hi guys! my buddy installed a st205 tranny on my st185, my speedometer and my mileage isnt working, is the speedometer cable plug and play? apparently theres 2 cables to connect and not one only. is this true? thanks!!


i believe that you need to use the speedometer drive gear off of your st185 transmission. the st185's use a cable driven speedometer and the st205's use an electronic speedometer. the gear assembly is on the back of the trans above the rear trans mount. take off the 12 mm bolt that holds it on and swap your st185 gear into your 205 trans and hook the speedometer cable up to it. your speedometer and odometer should now work.
spitfiremk16
Club Member
 
Posts: 190
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 9:54 pm

1990 Toyota Celica

Re: St205 transmission on st185?

Postby quieter » Wed Feb 08, 2012 1:28 am

thank you for the quick response! i will check it asap, its very cold in canada right now :S
1990 toyota ST185 with st205 goodies (scrapped)
2011 BMW 535xi M pack (daily)

-Simon
User avatar
quieter
Club Member
 
Posts: 469
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 4:16 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: St205 transmission on st185?

Postby sMARTINside » Wed Feb 08, 2012 9:14 pm

Some JDM ST185 (if not all) had an electronic speed sensor on the tranny, like the ST205.
User avatar
sMARTINside
Club Member
 
Posts: 497
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 4:33 am
Location: Bas St-Laurent, Québec

1990 Toyota Celica

Re: St205 transmission on st185?

Postby Il_Barone » Wed Dec 17, 2014 2:28 pm

Hi guys, i'd like to swap the gearbox but i don't understand one thing: are the st205 axles the same of te st185?

If not, which axle should i use?


Thanks!!!
Image
User avatar
Il_Barone
Club Member
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2014 6:26 am
Location: Genova

Re: St205 transmission on st185?

Postby GT4_DRED » Wed Dec 17, 2014 4:17 pm

Il_Barone wrote:Hi guys, i'd like to swap the gearbox but i don't understand one thing: are the st205 axles the same of te st185?

If not, which axle should i use?


Thanks!!!

You would use the axles from your 185..
Image
'00 SC300 - "The long way home" daily driver
'88 ST165 - project "Rahtid"
'88 ST165 - Project "Supah Cyat"
'91 MR2
'93 Corrado SLC - "Purple Haze"
User avatar
GT4_DRED
Club Member
 
Posts: 418
Images: 0
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2007 10:02 pm
Location: North GA.

Re: St205 transmission on st185?

Postby Il_Barone » Wed Dec 17, 2014 4:34 pm

GT4_DRED wrote:
Il_Barone wrote:Hi guys, i'd like to swap the gearbox but i don't understand one thing: are the st205 axles the same of te st185?

If not, which axle should i use?


Thanks!!!

You would use the axles from your 185..

Thanks :wink:
Image
User avatar
Il_Barone
Club Member
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2014 6:26 am
Location: Genova


Return to Performance and Power

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests