bogs/falls on it's face when under hard Acc./boost

Q&A regarding engines, turbos, and intercoolers and power upgrades

bogs/falls on it's face when under hard Acc./boost

Postby Schneidy95 » Tue Sep 03, 2013 6:06 pm

Well Everyone I did weeks of research on this problem and still wont go away. I recently got a 91 all trac turbo( i'm a newb).
From the day I brought it home it has been not accelerating right when throttle around 50% When I acc. slowly through the rpm's it looses a lot of power around 5,500rmps and higher, but is smooth till then. When acc. more than 50% throttle it will hit a point were it just stops acc. quickly, and feels like its not getting enough fuel/air/getting rid of burnt fuel(exhaust) or the timing is retarded. :shrug:

It has a 3' down pipe and stock exhaust but the cat is gutted.( I am missing a header bolt) I changed fuel filter, checked for vacuum leak with carb cleaner. I disconnected TPS, but weirdly the running of the car never changed, even idle with it disconnected. Like it was never working in the first place.. I did install a MBC, Disconnected T-VSV. I checked the TVIS flap/door and seems to open and close fine. I also checked plug wires. The car boosts just fineI run premium fuel.

All in all Idles fine, but when acclerating quickly or when making boost, lets say more than 2-4 psi or 50% throttle car jumps/looses some power/bogs. sometimes in lowers gears 1-3 it will lurch like it has lots of power, then stop, then lurches again shaking the car and almost giving me whip lash. I'm at wits end here..

I thank you for any help in advance and appreciate you for taking time to read this long post. -Jacob
Members don't see the above ad. Register now - it's free!
Schneidy95
Club Member

Re: bogs/falls on it's face when under hard Acc./boost

Postby underscore » Tue Sep 03, 2013 6:51 pm

Schneidy95 wrote:( I am missing a header bolt)

Fix this first, if it's leaking it will cause issues.
★ 1991 GTFour RC ~ "Rebel Scum" ★