ATA to Wta

Q&A regarding engines, turbos, and intercoolers and power upgrades

ATA to Wta

Postby 819_ay » Wed Oct 30, 2013 7:50 pm

Hey, I was wondering what would be involved to change the ATA intercooler to the wta... I have the rad, pump, lines, intercooler and overflow tank... That I got of an rc and would like to install in my st185...my big question is where do I get power for the pump... I currently have a fmic but I'm thinking the wta would be better with less lag and all...

Thanks for the help in advance
Members don't see the above ad. Register now - it's free!
819_ay
Club Member
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2011 1:32 pm

Re: ATA to Wta

Postby underscore » Wed Oct 30, 2013 8:03 pm

The RC setup is tied to the throttle position but you can just hook up a relay to power it, with the relay being triggered by the ignition.
★ 1991 GTFour RC ~ "Rebel Scum" ★
It's for sale! http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=64&t=52181
Build thread http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=44216
underscore
GTFour God
 
Posts: 3822
Images: 0
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 11:29 pm
Location: Kelowna, BC

Re: ATA to Wta

Postby 819_ay » Wed Oct 30, 2013 8:29 pm

underscore wrote:The RC setup is tied to the throttle position but you can just hook up a relay to power it, with the relay being triggered by the ignition.



being triggered by the ignition do you mean when i turn the car on the pump turns on as well??if so how would i do that?

thanks again
819_ay
Club Member
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2011 1:32 pm

Re: ATA to Wta

Postby underscore » Wed Oct 30, 2013 9:07 pm

You could just tap into any other circuit that turns on with the car.
★ 1991 GTFour RC ~ "Rebel Scum" ★
It's for sale! http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=64&t=52181
Build thread http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=44216
underscore
GTFour God
 
Posts: 3822
Images: 0
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 11:29 pm
Location: Kelowna, BC

Re: ATA to Wta

Postby 819_ay » Wed Oct 30, 2013 10:48 pm

ok..so would i be able to tape into the wires going to the fan(which is always on)??i need some guidance here. is there any down sides of replacing a fmic for a WTA...other then i have to drain the fluid everytime i need to work under the IC

sorry i'm really a dumbass when it comes to stuff like this, i have a hard time figuring these things out on my own, especially if electricity is involved, i would rather do it right once then do it wrong 5 times ...i'm very able to do the work when i know what to do lol,

thanks again
819_ay
Club Member
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2011 1:32 pm

Re: ATA to Wta

Postby underscore » Thu Oct 31, 2013 3:03 am

Your fan shouldn't always be on, if it is then your temp switch in the rad is disconnected/broken. A short time ago someone was asking about how to hook up a DRL module, if you find that thread (I believe I posted in it so skim through my posts from the last little bit and you should find it) you'll basically want to follow that same setup for wiring except run the relay to the WTA pump instead of the DRL module. If you still have questions just ask, I should have some time this weekend to write up a better explanation if you still need a hand :)
★ 1991 GTFour RC ~ "Rebel Scum" ★
It's for sale! http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=64&t=52181
Build thread http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=44216
underscore
GTFour God
 
Posts: 3822
Images: 0
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 11:29 pm
Location: Kelowna, BC


Return to Performance and Power

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 3 guests

cron