ST185 engine swap(ST205) no power on boost.

Q&A regarding engines, turbos, and intercoolers and power upgrades

ST185 engine swap(ST205) no power on boost.

Postby lordvampire » Tue May 20, 2014 5:12 pm

Hi,

I did engine swap on my st185. Mounted st205 engine +ECU. Everything seems to be working. I havent done vacuum and WTA radiator jet. Did a short trip around a block and car has no power... idle works good, idle power is good also, but in boost no real power comes. I see boost gage go quickly up (0,5bar) , but no power gain.

What would be most likely problem? Where to start?

1) air/fuel ratio?
2) Timing?
3) lambda sensor gone bad?
4) vacuum could do something?

I have no real good idea, but to but install wideband lambda sensor based air/fuel meter first.
Members don't see the above ad. Register now - it's free!
lordvampire
Club Member
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2013 7:11 am

Re: ST185 engine swap(ST205) no power on boost.

Postby quieter » Wed May 21, 2014 1:59 am

check your coupler from intercooler to intake manifold and yeah could be vaccum as well, was it a front clip that you bought or just the engine? maybe a sensor is missing?
1990 toyota ST185 with st205 goodies (scrapped)
2011 BMW 535xi M pack (daily)

-Simon
User avatar
quieter
Club Member
 
Posts: 469
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 4:16 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: ST185 engine swap(ST205) no power on boost.

Postby 94 MR2 Turbo » Wed May 21, 2014 2:03 am

Factory gauge? Are you using the gen3 map?
94 MR2 Turbo
Club Member
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 5:43 pm
Location: Frisco CA

Re: ST185 engine swap(ST205) no power on boost.

Postby lordvampire » Wed May 21, 2014 3:50 am

it was only engine with wiring and ecu. aftermarket boost gauge. although factory boost gauge didnt show. ok i look vacuum and missing sensor. thanks.
lordvampire
Club Member
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2013 7:11 am

Re: ST185 engine swap(ST205) no power on boost.

Postby lordvampire » Thu May 22, 2014 2:57 pm

Ok I did quick check.

timing is right. 10 degrees and turns sooner higher rmp. So this can be left aside right now.

I found couple things:

mysterious connector:

What that can be?
Image


new motor has two lambda, one has only connected. The otherone is needed? : )

This one is connected:
Image

this one(lower) is not:
Image


If thats not it, I still belive, I have some sensor missing, maybe under the intake manifold. I didnt have that much time today.
lordvampire
Club Member
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2013 7:11 am

Re: ST185 engine swap(ST205) no power on boost.

Postby Pipedreams » Fri May 23, 2014 3:08 pm

If you haven't wired in the intercoolerpump you will have the check engine light on and power is reduced.
The loose connector looks like the one for the boost solenoid, If it's blue? Hard to say from the picture.
That is an aftermarket downpipe that has an extra lambda bung. So the lower sensor is just used as a Plug. You could get a proper Plug for it. The thread size is m18x1,5
Pipedreams
Club Member
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 3:14 pm
Location: Ludvika/Sweden

Re: ST185 engine swap(ST205) no power on boost.

Postby lordvampire » Fri May 23, 2014 5:39 pm

thanks for replay ... second lambda can be left aside right now too. (Y)
-loose connector is black : )

I check some wiring (checking intercoolerpump wiring) and see what is below intake manifold (Vacuum and)... And I´II update my findings : )
lordvampire
Club Member
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2013 7:11 am

Re: ST185 engine swap(ST205) no power on boost.

Postby Pipedreams » Fri May 23, 2014 6:23 pm

Yes, the second lambda has no function. They just used a lambda as plug.
I´m on my computer now and had a look at the picture and saw that is has 3 pins. That is for the speed sensor on the st205 transmission so that is not used on your car as it has a cable to the speedometer.
Pipedreams
Club Member
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 3:14 pm
Location: Ludvika/Sweden

Re: ST185 engine swap(ST205) no power on boost.

Postby lordvampire » Fri May 23, 2014 6:32 pm

Thanks, yes, that makes sense, one thing down in list again : ) ... (Y)
lordvampire
Club Member
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2013 7:11 am

Re: ST185 engine swap(ST205) no power on boost.

Postby underscore » Fri May 23, 2014 7:27 pm

The plug in the first pic looks similar to the WTA intercooler float plug. Is your float hooked up?
★ 1991 GTFour RC ~ "Rebel Scum" ★
It's for sale! http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=64&t=52181
Build thread http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=44216
underscore
GTFour God
 
Posts: 3809
Images: 0
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 11:29 pm
Location: Kelowna, BC

Re: ST185 engine swap(ST205) no power on boost.

Postby lordvampire » Mon May 26, 2014 4:48 pm

Thanks guys, got it running. Sorted out diagnostic wires pins(w from ecu) and found code 41 (throttle position sensor). Moved around plug and its running now. Timing wasnt also in place thanks diagnostic wires. I have still work to do, but test drive was not so bad for old stock car : ). 0,6..7Bar and over 200kw for sure. Not 300kw understood, but still nice : ). Thanks again.
lordvampire
Club Member
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2013 7:11 am

Re: ST185 engine swap(ST205) no power on boost.

Postby phattyduck » Mon May 26, 2014 5:44 pm

The plug you are calling the 'second lambda' is not - it is a cat temp sensor. Leave it unplugged. In the ST205, it is only there to light a warning light on the dash.

-Charlie
'89 Camry LE Alltrac 3S-GTE - SV25/ST205 hybrid
'99 4Runner SR5 4WD 5VZ-FE
Previous: '88 Camry LE Alltrac 3S-GE BEAMS, '90 Camry 3S-GTE, '90 Camry DX
User avatar
phattyduck
Established Member
 
Posts: 1045
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 8:09 am
Location: Pasadena, CA


Return to Performance and Power

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest