Installing head studs without removing head?

Q&A regarding engines, turbos, and intercoolers and power upgrades

Installing head studs without removing head?

Postby 1337computing » Tue Aug 11, 2015 4:26 pm

Is this possible? I bought my car with the head gasket already done and would like to install headstuds. Before I pull the valve cover and take a look thought I would ask first.
Members don't see the above ad. Register now - it's free!
1990 Celica All-Trac Turbo ST185

3" Berk DP, 3" Straight Piped, Magnecor Wires, EBC+
1337computing
Club Member
 
Posts: 172
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 4:28 pm
Location: Allentown, PA

Re: Installing head studs without removing head?

Postby fussellbug » Tue Aug 11, 2015 5:09 pm

Whether you can swap the bolts for studs without lifting the head doesn't really matter. As soon as you relieve the torque on the head, you should replace the gasket. And no, you can't replace the bolts with studs one at a time either, because the torque across the head needs to be applied evenly in the correct pattern to ensure a proper seal and prevent unnecessary stresses on the engine. Just set aside some extra time and pull the head so you don't risk leaks or damage.
fussellbug
Club Member
 
Posts: 288
Images: 36
Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 7:17 pm

1990 Toyota Celica

Re: Installing head studs without removing head?

Postby 88gt4DE » Sun Aug 16, 2015 7:11 pm

yup , what he said 8)
Rob
1988 ST165 - 77K - Project ---> http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=31483&start=240
2000 Toyota Tundra SR5 - 162K - DD - Thanks 97JZA80
2007 Toyota Rav4 - 110K - My girls DD
1999 Honda Civic - 116K - Highway Runner
User avatar
88gt4DE
Established Member
 
Posts: 2665
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 2:44 am
Location: New Castle , DE

Re: Installing head studs without removing head?

Postby 1337computing » Tue Aug 18, 2015 11:02 am

Thanks guys, was trying to take the easy way out, which I found there is no easy way with the AllTrac. :shoots:
1990 Celica All-Trac Turbo ST185

3" Berk DP, 3" Straight Piped, Magnecor Wires, EBC+
1337computing
Club Member
 
Posts: 172
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 4:28 pm
Location: Allentown, PA

Re: Installing head studs without removing head?

Postby MWP » Tue Aug 18, 2015 3:01 pm

I don't quite agree with the others.

Even if the odds are only 50/50 that it'll work ok... its worth a try anyway.
If you blow a HG shortly after, then its no great loss time wise. Where if it does work ok, you've saved yourself a heap of time and $$s.
My collection of GT4 documentation: http://gt4.mwp.id.au
Daily: Celica GT4 ST185 (~170kw/atw)
Project: Toyota RA28 '77 Celica (1UZ-FE powered)
Chairman of the SA Classic Celica Club.
MWP
Established Member
 
Posts: 1591
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 11:02 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia

Re: Installing head studs without removing head?

Postby underscore » Tue Aug 18, 2015 6:03 pm

Why are you changing the studs if the gasket was already done? I can't think of a reason to replace the studs but not need to change the gasket.
★ 1991 GTFour RC ~ "Rebel Scum" ★
It's for sale! http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=64&t=52181
Build thread http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=44216
underscore
GTFour God
 
Posts: 3792
Images: 0
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 11:29 pm
Location: Kelowna, BC

Re: Installing head studs without removing head?

Postby alltracman78 » Tue Aug 18, 2015 7:43 pm

Sounds like he wants to replace the head bolts with studs, not replace studs.

I would think you could do it if you could do 1 at a time. Even pressure is a lot more important while the engine is running than when it's just sitting there, as long as you're not going too crazy.
Just like if you had installed them with the wrong torque, you can go back and retorque them. Even if you had to loosen and tighten them, you do 1 at a time.
Image
User avatar
alltracman78
GTFour God
 
Posts: 4675
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 9:04 am
Location: Ma

Re: Installing head studs without removing head?

Postby 1337computing » Wed Aug 19, 2015 3:17 pm

Head gasket was already done but factory bolts were used not studs. I would like to install studs with out pulling the head for obvious reasons, I might give it a try and will post back after completion. Thanks for everyone's input.
1990 Celica All-Trac Turbo ST185

3" Berk DP, 3" Straight Piped, Magnecor Wires, EBC+
1337computing
Club Member
 
Posts: 172
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 4:28 pm
Location: Allentown, PA

Re: Installing head studs without removing head?

Postby 88st165 » Wed Aug 19, 2015 8:39 pm

What's wrong with the factory bolts? Just curious since I was planning on buying new Toyota head bolts relatively soon.
Red st165 - Garage Queen turned wannabe track rat
White st165 - slapping back together and hoping for the best
Black st165 - gone
2011 FA5 - Family Truckster
User avatar
88st165
Established Member
 
Posts: 2362
Images: 2
Joined: Sat May 14, 2005 4:09 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: Installing head studs without removing head?

Postby underscore » Wed Aug 19, 2015 9:05 pm

For those of us who aren't finding the reasons so obvious, why would you do this? I thought the only benefit was that ARP studs are reusable and OEM bolts are not.
★ 1991 GTFour RC ~ "Rebel Scum" ★
It's for sale! http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=64&t=52181
Build thread http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=44216
underscore
GTFour God
 
Posts: 3792
Images: 0
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 11:29 pm
Location: Kelowna, BC

Re: Installing head studs without removing head?

Postby ___Scott___ » Wed Aug 19, 2015 9:28 pm

I think you can better understand by thinking of them not as bolts but as springs. Springs stretch under tensile force. For a fixed amount of force, a spring with a low spring rate will stretch more than a spring with a high spring rate. The OEM bolts have a low spring rate compared to ARP studs.

ARP studs will do a better job of maintaining the clamping force you expect vs the OEM bolts which can stretch under adverse conditions like detonation and allow for the head gasket to fail.

Whether that's good or bad depends on your point of view. Stretchy head bolts and a failed head gasket is a cheaper and easier fix than say cracked pistons. So you can think of those OEM bolts and a gasket failure as a "fuse" that protects other parts of the engine. Sort of the way a crappy clutch in a Subaru protects the "glass" transmission.
Scott
Colorado Springs, CO - USA
SONY
Opera - The better browser
User avatar
___Scott___
Established Member
 
Posts: 2057
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 5:30 pm
Location: - - USA - - Colorado Springs, CO

Re: Installing head studs without removing head?

Postby Hic » Sat Sep 12, 2015 9:16 pm

You can do it 1 by one. Did this 100 tines on mitsubishi evo for rally, never had a problem. Cold engine and that is it. Start from the middle (bolt 1)
Hic
Club Member
 
Posts: 360
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 6:22 pm

Re: Installing head studs without removing head?

Postby 1337computing » Thu Sep 17, 2015 11:25 am

Hic wrote:You can do it 1 by one. Did this 100 tines on mitsubishi evo for rally, never had a problem. Cold engine and that is it. Start from the middle (bolt 1)


Experience is the best, once completed most likely in spring I will post with results, thanks again.
1990 Celica All-Trac Turbo ST185

3" Berk DP, 3" Straight Piped, Magnecor Wires, EBC+
1337computing
Club Member
 
Posts: 172
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 4:28 pm
Location: Allentown, PA

Re: Installing head studs without removing head?

Postby Hic » Thu Sep 17, 2015 11:26 am

No worries man, I even did it on subaru, which has only 6 bolts on 2 cyls on one side
Hic
Club Member
 
Posts: 360
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 6:22 pm


Return to Performance and Power

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest