4wd on 2wd dyno using selectors

Q&A regarding engines, turbos, and intercoolers and power upgrades

2wd Dyno a 4wd

Went flawless
3
100%
Tranny broke
0
No votes
 
Total votes : 3

4wd on 2wd dyno using selectors

Postby Quark » Wed Aug 09, 2017 2:30 pm

Hi

How many have done this?
Members don't see the above ad. Register now - it's free!
Quark
Club Member
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 1:28 pm

Re: 4wd on 2wd dyno using selectors

Postby underscore » Wed Aug 09, 2017 3:45 pm

I've done it, no problems here. Just be 1000% sure the bolt is back in and in tight. I believe ChrisD has done it as well, and he was pushing a lot more power through than I was.
★ 1991 GTFour RC ~ "Rebel Scum" ★
It's for sale! http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=64&t=52181
Build thread http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=44216
underscore
GTFour God
 
Posts: 3809
Images: 0
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 11:29 pm
Location: Kelowna, BC

Re: 4wd on 2wd dyno using selectors

Postby Quark » Wed Aug 09, 2017 3:55 pm

I Will be below 500crank hp
Quark
Club Member
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 1:28 pm

Re: 4wd on 2wd dyno using selectors

Postby Celi-GT4 » Sat Aug 12, 2017 12:38 am

I used to do this often, no issues. I never pushed beyond 330whp on a dynojet with a bad alt adjustment. If it was me I wouldn't push past 400whp in this method, Id find a AWD dyno as the loads for tuning may be more accurate. Good luck
12.4 @ 115mph Topeka Kansas NA2005
12.2 @ 109mph blew HG Moroso 1/08
Sold out, now on stock 3rd gen
Blitz ecu, dp,exhaust, tien ss, carbon driveshaft,light wheels/brakes,os giken twin plate
Celi-GT4
Club Member
 
Posts: 338
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 3:45 pm
Location: Park City, Utah

Re: 4wd on 2wd dyno using selectors

Postby underscore » Tue Aug 15, 2017 5:43 pm

With a good dyno they should be able to add extra load to simulate the AWD, at least somewhat.
★ 1991 GTFour RC ~ "Rebel Scum" ★
It's for sale! http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=64&t=52181
Build thread http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=44216
underscore
GTFour God
 
Posts: 3809
Images: 0
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 11:29 pm
Location: Kelowna, BC

Re: 4wd on 2wd dyno using selectors

Postby ChrisD » Tue Aug 22, 2017 12:30 pm

Yes I did it also. Was tuned at 17psi on a ct20b at the time. The dyno I did it on was a Dyno Dynamics. They typically read a bit lower than dynojets, but did about 235whp. Based on comparables I'd say that was maybe 265 on a dynojet. Since then I've found an AWD dyno that and tuner that I like and continue to go to, plus I'm now running the 205 trans so that option is off the table.

I'd say if you are keeping the power reasonably low for now, I wouldn't worry too much. Just follow the directions, get the bolt back in and secured properly on the correct notch. Then move it back before driving the car.
1988 ST165
1994 ST205 WRC
ChrisD
Established Member
 
Posts: 1623
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 4:30 am
Location: Calgary AB Canada


Return to Performance and Power

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests