Page 1 of 1

4wd on 2wd dyno using selectors

PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2017 2:30 pm
by Quark
Hi

How many have done this?

Re: 4wd on 2wd dyno using selectors

PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2017 3:45 pm
by underscore
I've done it, no problems here. Just be 1000% sure the bolt is back in and in tight. I believe ChrisD has done it as well, and he was pushing a lot more power through than I was.

Re: 4wd on 2wd dyno using selectors

PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2017 3:55 pm
by Quark
I Will be below 500crank hp

Re: 4wd on 2wd dyno using selectors

PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 12:38 am
by Celi-GT4
I used to do this often, no issues. I never pushed beyond 330whp on a dynojet with a bad alt adjustment. If it was me I wouldn't push past 400whp in this method, Id find a AWD dyno as the loads for tuning may be more accurate. Good luck

Re: 4wd on 2wd dyno using selectors

PostPosted: Tue Aug 15, 2017 5:43 pm
by underscore
With a good dyno they should be able to add extra load to simulate the AWD, at least somewhat.

Re: 4wd on 2wd dyno using selectors

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2017 12:30 pm
by ChrisD
Yes I did it also. Was tuned at 17psi on a ct20b at the time. The dyno I did it on was a Dyno Dynamics. They typically read a bit lower than dynojets, but did about 235whp. Based on comparables I'd say that was maybe 265 on a dynojet. Since then I've found an AWD dyno that and tuner that I like and continue to go to, plus I'm now running the 205 trans so that option is off the table.

I'd say if you are keeping the power reasonably low for now, I wouldn't worry too much. Just follow the directions, get the bolt back in and secured properly on the correct notch. Then move it back before driving the car.