Page 1 of 1

ST185 Engine into ST165 all trac

PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 10:04 pm
by Alter Ego
Anyone have a link to some info on doing this swap or a link? I just picked up an 88 alltrac with great body, excellent interior, but it needs a head and for the price of getting a head and getting it ready to put in I could pay a little more and get jdm motor.

Just want to know how much is involved or any problems with putting the ST185 engine in? I think I've seen peoples cars listed as a 165 with 185 engine but noone has written anything explaining the swap it seems. If I do this then I'll do a write up on it to help others out.

Thanks,
Rob

PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 10:15 pm
by AWDios
ask chris dittrick. www.gtfour.ca

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 3:21 am
by Rick89GTS
The 185 motor into 165 shell is getting more and more common these days :D

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 5:48 am
by Alter Ego
awdios- Thanks for that link, that's a lot of good info. I'm going to show my friend who said not to worry about any of the wiring since he's mr. "wiring guy." Said he used to teach schematics but I'm wondering if he'll be able to put in the time to help with that much.

There's always putting another head on the stock engine......... I guess.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 2:03 pm
by ChrisD
edit

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 5:43 pm
by 5speedGT4
go to chris's site, trust me it helps, i know quite well!

:smokes:

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 5:57 pm
by Alter Ego
yeah, it's Chris's site that I'm going to show my friend that will be helping me with the wiring. We'll see what he says after he reads that LONG wiring write up. He may not have the time to help me with that much. If not then I'll still get a head and get her back on the road. That and a paintjob should have her looking and hopefully running good again. Keeping fingers crossed that it's just the head if I don't do a swap.

Thanks for doing all that work Chris, I know now that I'll have to get much more than just the engine/tranny/ecu/ and wiring harness.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 6:05 pm
by Alter Ego
I'd like to at least use the jdm ecu if I'm going to use a jdm engine. The power is there so why not use it.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 6:11 pm
by Gary
Alter Ego wrote:I'd like to at least use the jdm ecu if I'm going to use a jdm engine. The power is there so why not use it.

Cause the JDM ECU takes advantage of higher octane gas that's not available (or hard to find) here. Also, for people who live in the place that smog test is mandatory, if you pass the visual inspection, chance is that you will fail the smog test with the JDM ECU.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2004 3:21 am
by Alter Ego
Indiana has no testing or anything and 94 gas can be had almost anwhere. I wouldn't want to run higher than that regularly because of cost but there's lots of places to get it around here.

PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2004 7:16 pm
by Alter Ego
My buddy said he had no problem doing the wiring with me after he read the write-up. I priced out things a little bit and if I do a front clip then I won't have the money left to get the car painted and take care of any other things that might come up so I'm getting a head for it. Already payed a member on here for a head so that should be onit's way soon. Just ordered a headgasket set, Timing belt kit, and a oil pan gasket just in case it needs that.

I still need to get Head studs and was wanting to do a metal headgasket. Anyone know the part #'s that I need to get for my car for these two things so that I know I'm getting the right stuff? Also, any other things that you all would recommend me doing while I'm in there. I'll be having the head gone over and milled down some so I'll need to get the appropriate hg to make up the difference.

Thanks!