st205 into st185 swap faq/ and parts compatibility

Q&A regarding engines, turbos, and intercoolers and power upgrades

Re: st205 into st185 swap faq/ and parts compatibility

Postby CMS-GT4 » Mon Jun 17, 2013 4:31 pm

It would be PIM on the ecu. That is your turbo pressure sensor.
Members don't see the above ad. Register now - it's free!
Coldiron
92 st185 (205 swap) | 03 350Z Track (sold) | 13 Pilot | 17 Mazda3
www.noritoy.com | noritoy.deviantart.com | http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=19891
User avatar
CMS-GT4
GTSilver Member
 
Posts: 10337
Images: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 9:12 pm
Location: St Louis Area (IL)

1992 Toyota Celica

Re: st205 into st185 swap faq/ and parts compatibility

Postby turbocelica » Mon Jun 17, 2013 4:35 pm

so the map sensor? or am i thinking of something else
Image
turbocelica
Club Member
 
Posts: 697
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 6:39 am
Location: cincinnati

Re: st205 into st185 swap faq/ and parts compatibility

Postby phattyduck » Mon Jun 17, 2013 4:37 pm

turbocelica wrote:so the map sensor? or am i thinking of something else
Yeah, MAP sensor. Check the wiring and the hoses to the sensor.

Any one of those codes will make the car run like crap. Hopefully you get them figured out!

edit - all those are 'sensor' related. Make sure the brown sensor ground wires are all good and that they all connect to each other near the ECU (and to the ECU).

-Charlie
'89 Camry LE Alltrac 3S-GTE - SV25/ST205 hybrid
'99 4Runner SR5 4WD 5VZ-FE
Previous: '88 Camry LE Alltrac 3S-GE BEAMS, '90 Camry 3S-GTE, '90 Camry DX
User avatar
phattyduck
Established Member
 
Posts: 1045
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 8:09 am
Location: Pasadena, CA

Re: st205 into st185 swap faq/ and parts compatibility

Postby CMS-GT4 » Mon Jun 17, 2013 4:44 pm

Make sue you hooked up the 205 map sensor instead of the 185 sensor.
Coldiron
92 st185 (205 swap) | 03 350Z Track (sold) | 13 Pilot | 17 Mazda3
www.noritoy.com | noritoy.deviantart.com | http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=19891
User avatar
CMS-GT4
GTSilver Member
 
Posts: 10337
Images: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 9:12 pm
Location: St Louis Area (IL)

1992 Toyota Celica

Re: st205 into st185 swap faq/ and parts compatibility

Postby turbocelica » Mon Jun 17, 2013 7:48 pm

not sure what i did other than put a zip tie down on the map sensor air feed and now i dont have the code lol, but down to 22 and 23 which should be simple.... should be
Image
turbocelica
Club Member
 
Posts: 697
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 6:39 am
Location: cincinnati

Re: st205 into st185 swap faq/ and parts compatibility

Postby turbocelica » Mon Jun 17, 2013 8:07 pm

i think the problem is with my harness, when i pull / shake it the car idles higher and lower and that code 31 comes and goes. I think the connector going to the ecu in a piece of shit, the only thing i know isnt wired is the coolant temp sensor in the water neck everything else should be.
Image
turbocelica
Club Member
 
Posts: 697
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 6:39 am
Location: cincinnati

Re: st205 into st185 swap faq/ and parts compatibility

Postby quieter » Fri Jul 19, 2013 2:20 pm

if i was to use the st205 harness (jdm st205 swap) in my LHD st185, would i need to buy a harness extension or extend it myself?
1990 toyota ST185 with st205 goodies (scrapped)
2011 BMW 535xi M pack (daily)

-Simon
User avatar
quieter
Club Member
 
Posts: 469
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 4:16 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: st205 into st185 swap faq/ and parts compatibility

Postby phattyduck » Fri Jul 19, 2013 3:35 pm

quieter wrote:if i was to use the st205 harness (jdm st205 swap) in my LHD st185, would i need to buy a harness extension or extend it myself?
Body harness (under dash, etc.) and fuse box plugs are totally different on the ST205 vs. ST185. It is a lot more than just lengthening that you would have to do. You should probably plan on using your ST185 harness and modifying it to work with the ST205 motor and ECU.

-Charlie
'89 Camry LE Alltrac 3S-GTE - SV25/ST205 hybrid
'99 4Runner SR5 4WD 5VZ-FE
Previous: '88 Camry LE Alltrac 3S-GE BEAMS, '90 Camry 3S-GTE, '90 Camry DX
User avatar
phattyduck
Established Member
 
Posts: 1045
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 8:09 am
Location: Pasadena, CA

Re: st205 into st185 swap faq/ and parts compatibility

Postby monkracing29 » Thu Oct 03, 2013 1:27 pm

Alright here's a question for you guys I am trying to figure out which throttle cable to use I looked through the thread and I didn't see anything about it am I blind :shrug: or is there nothing about it on there the 185 throttle cable just doesn't fit on the 205 throttle body. Is there a way to get it on there correctly?
Monk
User avatar
monkracing29
Club Member
 
Posts: 177
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 1:10 am
Location: saint louis,mo

Re: st205 into st185 swap faq/ and parts compatibility

Postby phattyduck » Thu Oct 03, 2013 4:12 pm

monkracing29 wrote:Alright here's a question for you guys I am trying to figure out which throttle cable to use I looked through the thread and I didn't see anything about it am I blind :shrug: or is there nothing about it on there the 185 throttle cable just doesn't fit on the 205 throttle body. Is there a way to get it on there correctly?
What are you having trouble with specifically? I was able to use the stock Camry throttle cable with very minor modifications on my ST205 motor. I don't think anybody has had a problem re-using their stock throttle cable yet when doing ST185->ST205.

-Charlie
'89 Camry LE Alltrac 3S-GTE - SV25/ST205 hybrid
'99 4Runner SR5 4WD 5VZ-FE
Previous: '88 Camry LE Alltrac 3S-GE BEAMS, '90 Camry 3S-GTE, '90 Camry DX
User avatar
phattyduck
Established Member
 
Posts: 1045
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 8:09 am
Location: Pasadena, CA

Re: st205 into st185 swap faq/ and parts compatibility

Postby monkracing29 » Thu Oct 03, 2013 4:52 pm

well looking at it when you put it on the bracket it holds the throttle open a bit so it wont go down to idle.
Monk
User avatar
monkracing29
Club Member
 
Posts: 177
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 1:10 am
Location: saint louis,mo

Re: st205 into st185 swap faq/ and parts compatibility

Postby phattyduck » Mon Oct 07, 2013 8:24 pm

monkracing29 wrote:well looking at it when you put it on the bracket it holds the throttle open a bit so it wont go down to idle.
Did you run out of adjustment range on the cable? If so, you can open up the 'back' nut just a bit with a dremel to get another couple mm of adjustment room.

On my current setup, I just shortened the cable to the exact length I needed with the right length of cable to keep it in the middle of the adjustment range.

-Charlie
'89 Camry LE Alltrac 3S-GTE - SV25/ST205 hybrid
'99 4Runner SR5 4WD 5VZ-FE
Previous: '88 Camry LE Alltrac 3S-GE BEAMS, '90 Camry 3S-GTE, '90 Camry DX
User avatar
phattyduck
Established Member
 
Posts: 1045
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 8:09 am
Location: Pasadena, CA

Re: st205 into st185 swap faq/ and parts compatibility

Postby fhalperformance » Thu Jan 02, 2014 1:08 am

Just to be clear: When everyone says to use the st185 mounts are we talking use the st185 brackets from the tranny front and rear or reuse the brackets from the st205 motor with the st185 cross member mounts?

Also: do you have to drill a hole for the transmission drivers side motor mount bracket?
'93 trac - V6TT project.
'92 trac - RHD conversion coming.
'91 trac - 564awhp.
'90 trac - fab car/snow build coming.
'91 mr2 - parting out.
'00 celica gts - custom wide body.
'01 mr2 - crazy build in progress.
'04 ducati 999
'04 tacoma TRD - for sale
User avatar
fhalperformance
Club Member
 
Posts: 855
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 8:02 pm
Location: utica, ny

Re: st205 into st185 swap faq/ and parts compatibility

Postby DeeCee » Wed Jan 22, 2014 8:21 am

all mounts from the st185 need to be used when mounting a st205 engine and/or trans. So side chassis mounts and front/rear mounts
GT Four Adovansu "I want to enjoy the powerful and nimble agility behavior."

Image

Elephant: http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=26687
User avatar
DeeCee
Established Member
 
Posts: 1135
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 8:41 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: st205 into st185 swap faq/ and parts compatibility

Postby essexgt4 » Wed Mar 05, 2014 1:21 pm

would i be correct in assuming that there is a difference in engine looms between early st185 and late st185?
essexgt4
Club Member
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 5:07 pm
Location: UK

PreviousNext

Return to Performance and Power

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest

cron