supra turbo on st165

Q&A regarding engines, turbos, and intercoolers and power upgrades

supra turbo on st165

Postby 3DZ » Fri Oct 14, 2005 9:02 pm

i did the search but no answers came up. :shrug:

is there a write up of the supra turbo in to any all trac?

do you replace the supra waste gate actuator with the celica's? because of the turbo VSV

once the turbo is clocked is there any modification needed on the actuator?

what do you do with the pin in the housing?

does the turbo bracket still line up?
Members don't see the above ad. Register now - it's free!
3DZ
Club Member
 
Posts: 323
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 5:26 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Re: supra turbo on st165

Postby alltrac7935 » Wed Nov 13, 2013 1:10 am

...
Last edited by alltrac7935 on Sat Jan 25, 2014 2:35 am, edited 1 time in total.
alltrac7935
Club Member
 
Posts: 23
Images: 0
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 3:26 pm
Location: Portland Oregon

1988 Toyota Celica

Re: supra turbo on st165

Postby brutekiller787 » Wed Nov 13, 2013 4:15 am

Zombie thread. I believe they bolt on. But no idead really
brutekiller787
Club Member
 
Posts: 371
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2011 7:27 pm
Location: Lima, oh

Re: supra turbo on st165

Postby AlltracAvenger » Wed Nov 27, 2013 3:36 am

Slight bumpage, although this will be incomplete information.

I had an MA70 turbo on my old '165. I think I used my old wastegate, but other than clocking the turbo(I was running the stock IC) I remember it being bolt-on and not that much of a hassle to do. I recall hooking it up to the TVSV at the time as well, was mainly looking to get it running as it had been sitting for a good while. At the same time I gutted the downpipe cat, set the I/C pump to run constantly and added an additional radiator to the circuit. I do remember the seat of the pants dyno telling me I got a bit of an extra kick out of that, but YMMV.
'88 ST165 #2914- Sold 12/21/06 :(
'88 ST165 #3784- Bought 05/08/15 :D
'05 Corolla XRS- Daily Driver
User avatar
AlltracAvenger
Club Member
 
Posts: 622
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 11:10 pm
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Re: supra turbo on st165

Postby Shaggz00 » Thu Dec 12, 2013 1:16 am

I can tell you that I stole the turbo from my 165 to put on my Supra... It was a PITA, lol. BUT, there's a reason mine was a pain... ok, well, easiest way to explain it...

Yes, it will work, but you will need the AllTrac compressor housing, and the AllTrac wastegate & bracket. This is because the mounting ears on the housing are in different locations between the Supra and Celica, and since it's clocked differently, the wastegate ends up in a different loaction. Those parts shouldn't be too hard to find, in fact I have two compressor housings sitting in the basement if you need one, lol.
-Avi-
'88 ST-165(Black) - Sitting... Waiting... Quietly... in the garage under 2 inches of dust...
'88 ST-165(grey) - gone to rusty Celica heaven
'91 MKIII Supra - 98% completion!
Shaggz00
Gold Member
 
Posts: 1682
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 12:13 am
Location: Silver Spring, md

Re: supra turbo on st165

Postby Shaggz00 » Thu Dec 12, 2013 1:45 am

Here's what I mean, Supra housing is on the bottom. Look at the mounting ears and locations. Pretty different. So if you had an AllTrac housing to pop on the Supra turbo, it should be cake. I couldn't cuz my Alltrac housing was bored to a 50 trim, and my supra housing was a stocker.

Image
-Avi-
'88 ST-165(Black) - Sitting... Waiting... Quietly... in the garage under 2 inches of dust...
'88 ST-165(grey) - gone to rusty Celica heaven
'91 MKIII Supra - 98% completion!
Shaggz00
Gold Member
 
Posts: 1682
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 12:13 am
Location: Silver Spring, md


Return to Performance and Power

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron