Baller on a Budget BBK (BBBBK)

bajallama

So here it goes, another All Trac brake thread. I liked all the other ones but I'm not throwing down $800 for calipers whether it be Porsche or ST205, I refuse to dump that much money in an 80's Toyota. So here is my BBBBK for you all to enjoy and copy me if you want.

Just a little background, I'm an aerospace engineer who competed in Formula SAE while in college. I've owned $hitty 80's Toyotas since I was 17 and I still haven't learned.

I might make a kit available if there is an interest.

I have a blog that I post the updates too, so through the process I will just put links to it and make this thread open to discussion and criticism.

And for a taste, I will be using 04 Subie Sti front rotors (which has been discussed here) 03 LS430 4 pot front calipers and for the Rear 06 Legacy vented rotors (Same size Parking brake drum!!) and 03 LS430 2 pot calipers. All this stuff is brand new that I am buying from my local auto parts store, so if you hit the local scrap yard, you might get the stuff cheaper but for rotors and calipers I'm only at $480 for new rotors and rebuilt calipers!

More info:

http://www.projectz61.com/beginning-to-stop-this-pig/

bajallama

There's no spacers, it will be just the rings that locate the rotor on to the hub properly. they may need to be tackwelded onto the rotor since the bore diameter is so close.

I have no idea what the brackets and rings will cost, you guys will be the first to know. Just seeing if there will be an interest.

underscore

I'm interested in the rears since I already got the Porsche kit for the front. Although, I spent a lot less on calipers than $800

deecee