Page 1 of 7

ST165 to ST185 ECU Conversion

PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2006 3:34 am
by All4Traction
:D :D :D :D :D :D :D

Well, I wired up my 185 ecu to my 165 harness and it started up in -10deg. celcius!

I have to wire the IC pump constant and then take it for a test drive tomorrow.

Here's a pic of the adapter harness i made so I didnt have to hard wire everything up in -20 to -35 deg. Celcius weather. Also it allowed me to switch back to my 165 ecu if it didnt work.

Image[/quote]

PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2006 3:40 am
by turbo4wd
What did you use to make the adapater harness? Aside from all the wire, I mean primarily the connectors..

PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2006 3:44 am
by All4Traction
The green plug is the guts of a 3sge ecu, then i had to re-arrange pretty much all of the pins, then i soldered the corresponding wires to the 185 ecu plugs.

Ill have to see if my a/c still works as well.

No check engine light lit up either :evil:

PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2006 12:04 pm
by beej
wow good job dude.....thats alotta effort

PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2006 2:02 pm
by 88st165
wow really good job.... if all goes well maybe you should start producing these....

PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2006 3:14 pm
by Cashback
I would buy one.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2006 5:28 pm
by All4Traction
The only trouble is finding all of the 185 harness plugs and finding a bunch of 1st gen 3sge/3sgte ecu's to take the female plug out of.

If you find both, I would probly be able to do it.

I still have to fully test it today though.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 3:49 am
by Flyin' Bryan
Well i figure you could get the gen2 plugs from a 5th gen auto GTS, and a lot of Toyota ecus use the gen1 ecu connector. Good work Paul, can't wait to see it for myself.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 3:51 am
by All4Traction
Ya, thanks Bryan, it was a team effort :D

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 5:53 am
by D_oPsycho
If you seriously consider producing these harness adapters, I am in very close proximity to 4 junk yards, and all of them have numerous Toyotas, and I know there are many cars in there with the plugs you need. Come this spring when everything isn't covered in a foot of snow, I can scout them out, see how many I can grab up and send them to you, I can prolly get each one for a few bucks

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 3:32 pm
by Cashback
I'm also near some junkyards and since I'm in Florida snow isn't an issue. If you can tell me exactly what you need out of what car I can go down there this weekend and pull whatever you want.

This adapter may be super awesome if it allows me to run an AEM or E-Manage on my 165. So I'm down to help make another one and then experiment from there.

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 9:29 pm
by Gurr
Well, I've seen people puttin the 205 ecu with the 185 harness, is there anyway to get it to work with the 165 without to many problems? It would be a way to get rid of the nasty AFM and use 540/550's relatively safely. Just wondering...

Thanks

Brian

PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2006 5:48 pm
by All4Traction
You would need to get a lot of the 205 sensors.

If its been done with the 185 harness, it could be done with the 165 with about the same effort. The 2 165/185 ecu's and harnesses arent very different.

Bryan (Flyin'Bryan) Is using his 165 harness to wire his 205 ecu to the 205 motor, but it required a lot of the harness to be rewired.

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 2:22 am
by 98RACE
Why is putting a 185 ECU on a 165 motor better??

I think I may be missing something!! :shrug: Could you fill me in??

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 3:48 am
by All4Traction
Oh, sorry, i have the 185 motor, but i was runnin the 165 ecu, which i didnt like the idea of.