replacing a knock sensor

Talk EMS and Computer related performance

replacing a knock sensor

Postby 92AWDToyota » Fri Mar 02, 2007 6:58 am

any write ups on this? i searched alrdy but nothing came up. prolly missed it or something. :doh: but the deal is, i was running open boost cuz i didnt get around to connecting my manual boost controller. dumb i noe... but it was only for a couple of days. enuff to blow my knock sensor. well... thats my explaination of wuts wrong with my trac. i was running the car normally and my CEL came on. so im pretty sure its blown. anyways im a dumbass and need a write up on replacing the bastard. and also looking for a used knock sensor to purchase. thx for any info.
Members don't see the above ad. Register now - it's free!
92AWDToyota
Newbie
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 9:43 am

Postby evo » Fri Mar 02, 2007 4:26 pm

did you pull the diagnostic codes?

oem knock sensors are not cheap!
1992/ST185
Image
evo
Club Member
 
Posts: 321
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 8:49 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario

Postby C-dubb » Fri Mar 02, 2007 5:44 pm

The easiest way to get to it is by removing the front passenger side wheel and getting at it through the wheel well. It's a bitch. I would say you're best off getting the ATS adapter and using a GM sensor...it's more durable.
Cory Wilson 1990 st185
Image
User avatar
C-dubb
Club Member
 
Posts: 951
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 4:24 am
Location: Holland, MI

Postby syko says » Fri Mar 02, 2007 11:42 pm

theres debate whether using the oem KS vs the ATS gm KS. ultimately its up to you what you choose to run on your car. but yeah, your best bet is to take off the passanger wheel and put your entire arm in there to reach it.

heres a pic of it outlined in green.

Image

Image
Aloha,
Evan

RedCelicaTRD wrote:I've got my eye on you wise guy :|
User avatar
syko says
Established Member
 
Posts: 2307
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2006 5:27 pm
Location: Waipahu, Hawaii

Postby alltracman78 » Sun Mar 04, 2007 2:30 pm

ATS sensor reacts to a different frequency.
IMO stick with OEM for this.

Check your codes first.

And a boost controller cannot lower boost below stock pressure.
What do you mean by "open boost"?
Image
User avatar
alltracman78
GTFour God
 
Posts: 4677
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 9:04 am
Location: Ma

Postby gt4tified » Mon Mar 05, 2007 3:42 pm

alltracman78 wrote:ATS sensor reacts to a different frequency.
IMO stick with OEM for this.

Check your codes first.

And a boost controller cannot lower boost below stock pressure.
What do you mean by "open boost"?


I think he means that he disconnected the TVSV and without boost control, it would boost until fuel cut hit. But even with that, it shouldn't cause the KS to go bad just like that.

I'd agree with the guys and run the codes to see which you are pushing. And btw, you can reset the ecu and it would clear the code. The code 52 doesn't mean that your sensor is fubared, just that the engine detected knock and went into safe mode. Reset the ecu and see.
ST185 JDM GT-FOUR RC- "White Trash"
[url=http://imageshack.us][img]http://img231.imageshack.us/img231/8264/dynographsmallstretchedmu9.jpg[/img][/url]
gt4tified
GTFour God
 
Posts: 3151
Images: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 3:22 pm
Location: Trinidad, W.I.

Postby 92AWDToyota » Wed Mar 07, 2007 5:57 am

first off i really appreciate ur guys help with this. im such a noob. lol. okay, in retard language, lol, plz explain about how to reset my ecu and run my codes and what not. cuz if i my KS is fine and it just went into safe mode that wud be awesome, cars running really crappy and im not a happy camper. thx alot.
92AWDToyota
Newbie
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 9:43 am

Postby alltracman78 » Thu Mar 08, 2007 12:14 am

To reset the ECU remove the ECU fuse in the engine main fusebox for 1 min.
Replace. All codes/info is reset.

To check codes, find the diagnostic box [by the clutch master cyl], open, and jump TE1 and E1. Use a SMALL paper clip. You don't want to ruin the pins inside. Turn the key to on and count the flashes of the CEL.
This will give you your code[s].
For more info
http://www.celicatech.com/93rmsour/1993 ... /fi/fi.htm


gt4tified wrote:The code 52 doesn't mean that your sensor is fubared, just that the engine detected knock and went into safe mode. Reset the ecu and see.


Well not really.
If you get any type of knock monitoring device [like J&S] you will see that the ECU sees knock alot. Most isn't that bad.
52 Means the ECU doesn't see the signal from the knock sensor.

You can reset just in case, but 99% of the time you'll be replacing your knock sensor.
Image
User avatar
alltracman78
GTFour God
 
Posts: 4677
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 9:04 am
Location: Ma

Postby 92AWDToyota » Tue Apr 03, 2007 4:35 pm

code thats showing is code 52. the knock sensor. i bought an oem knock sensor for about an arm and a leg. 179.63 after taxes. anyways... how to install. i have 3 repair manuals that tell me nothing. lol. any write ups anyone?
92AWDToyota
Newbie
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 9:43 am

Postby etantshi » Tue Apr 03, 2007 5:47 pm

1. remove pass side wheel.
2. unplug kn
3. unbolt knocksensor with 24mm deep socket
4. installation is opposite


alltracman78 wrote:
gt4tified wrote:The code 52 doesn't mean that your sensor is fubared, just that the engine detected knock and went into safe mode. Reset the ecu and see.


Well not really.
If you get any type of knock monitoring device [like J&S] you will see that the ECU sees knock alot. Most isn't that bad.
52 Means the ECU doesn't see the signal from the knock sensor.

You can reset just in case, but 99% of the time you'll be replacing your knock sensor.


Correct. The ecu will throw a code due to a lack of knock signal. Either your circut has been interrupted, or your knock sensor has stopped responding.
-----
André B.
1991 ST185 (down but not out)
1990 ST185 (lost, but not forgotten)
1996 RZN140 (the daily)
2004 Yamaha R6 (needs a battery)
etantshi
GTFour God
 
Posts: 5749
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 1:05 am
Location: Augusta

Postby SuperWhite92 » Tue Apr 03, 2007 6:35 pm

More often than not, a code 52 is a bad wire as opposed to a bad sensor. It's worth trying at least, since a wire is a few cents and some time, and a new sensor costs your left arm.
Shaun
Image
My 1992 Alltrac is for sale again.
User avatar
SuperWhite92
GTFour God
 
Posts: 3012
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 3:29 pm
Location: Fort Collins, CO

Postby etantshi » Tue Apr 03, 2007 9:05 pm

I think his circumstances of overboosting would be more consistant with a serious knock condition that would be enough to damage the knock sensor. However as previously stated, a continuity test wouldn't hurt, and it's free.
-----
André B.
1991 ST185 (down but not out)
1990 ST185 (lost, but not forgotten)
1996 RZN140 (the daily)
2004 Yamaha R6 (needs a battery)
etantshi
GTFour God
 
Posts: 5749
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 1:05 am
Location: Augusta

Postby 92AWDToyota » Sat Apr 07, 2007 8:05 am

etantshi wrote:I think his circumstances of overboosting would be more consistant with a serious knock condition that would be enough to damage the knock sensor. However as previously stated, a continuity test wouldn't hurt, and it's free.


yea thats what i meant as far as running "open boost". but i wish i had thought to check for a loose wire somewhere but thats just a big DOH on my part. but its okay. i do have the new knock sensor alrdy. i went to try to replace the sensor however i dont have the right socket for the kn. 24mm does not fit so i think im gonna have to buy a 26mm or something a lil bit bigger than 24. after i get the kn install should i reset the ECU once again so the car recognizes the new sensor or wut?
92AWDToyota
Newbie
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 9:43 am

Postby etantshi » Sat Apr 07, 2007 7:58 pm

Hrmm.. it's been a while since I changed one, I thought it was a 24mm... now that I think about it, it is a 26mm because the 26 is the largest I have in my snap on impact deep set (which is what I use for the ks).
-----
André B.
1991 ST185 (down but not out)
1990 ST185 (lost, but not forgotten)
1996 RZN140 (the daily)
2004 Yamaha R6 (needs a battery)
etantshi
GTFour God
 
Posts: 5749
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 1:05 am
Location: Augusta

Postby BriinumsBo » Thu Dec 17, 2009 6:33 am

its been a while :P was it the sensor or bad wire?
User avatar
BriinumsBo
Club Member
 
Posts: 509
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 12:00 pm
Location: Latvia

Next

Return to EFI Corner

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest