opinions of e-manage blue

Talk EMS and Computer related performance

opinions of e-manage blue

Postby MrDB » Tue Sep 16, 2008 9:52 am

Im currently looking for peoples opinion of the emanage on a st185.

I have been offered an e-manage at a price i cant refuse with all cables ign/fuel etc and im hoping to use it on my 185. Simple want it to tweak the maps a little and be able to run 550 injectors so im not running 100% duty..

I was just wondering if anyone has fitted/used one on theres and what they thought of it ??
Members don't see the above ad. Register now - it's free!
Image
Car Build : [ http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=26755 ]
MrDB
Club Member
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 6:22 am

Postby Mafix » Tue Sep 16, 2008 6:02 pm

i have never liked emanage and that's on a lot of cars. it doesn't seem to work so well with any toyota ecu.
Mafix
Gold Member
 
Posts: 5877
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 10:56 pm

Postby MrDB » Tue Sep 16, 2008 8:31 pm

I agree to some extent but i also have seen some cars run very well with them inc gt4's nothing seems consistant...

Have you actually fitted one to a gt4 if so what were the problems?
Image
Car Build : [ http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=26755 ]
MrDB
Club Member
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 6:22 am

Postby Shaggz00 » Tue Sep 16, 2008 8:53 pm

I have the e-manage blue in my 165. I too, only got it because it was a great price (free 8) ) I have the ignition harness (not installed), fuel harness, software, etc. It works great for me, I've had it in for about 8 months with no problems. My buddy was able to tune it on the dyno with no problems as well. It easily allows you to use larger injectors, and I think if all you wanna do is tweak fuel it will be perfect.

The most important part about using the blue in our cars is to study, re-study, and do searches on how to install it properly in your car (which wires go where). I say go for it
-Avi-
'88 ST-165(Black) - Sitting... Waiting... Quietly... in the garage under 2 inches of dust...
'88 ST-165(grey) - gone to rusty Celica heaven
'91 MKIII Supra - 98% completion!
Shaggz00
Gold Member
 
Posts: 1682
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 12:13 am
Location: Silver Spring, md

Postby MrDB » Wed Sep 17, 2008 6:08 pm

cheers for the feedback i think i will give it a go ;)
Image
Car Build : [ http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=26755 ]
MrDB
Club Member
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 6:22 am

Postby gearhead4life » Sat Oct 04, 2008 11:46 am

I'm interested to see if this thread will continue with update from you on how it works for you. I just bought a complete emanage blue to use on my st185 after I get my 2nd gen JDM swap installed along with 540cc injectors, st205wta intercooler with Cobra heat exchanger, and larger exhaust. Good luck! 8)
1988 st165 sold
1988 IMSA st165 sold
1993 st185 1of81 for sale
User avatar
gearhead4life
Club Member
 
Posts: 155
Images: 0
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 11:32 pm
Location: Prescott, Arizona

Postby MrDB » Sat Oct 04, 2008 4:36 pm

Well ive now got it just need to fit then get it mapped.

Only cost £100 and £15 for data lead so another £200 to get it mapped and i should be done...

I will be fitting and zeroing all the maps in a week or so just make make sure its wired in correctly and use it just as a passthrough, i will then do some logging with it also and then wait till i get bigger injectors before i get it mapped.

It will probably be new year now before i get it mapped with 540's so watch this space.

I will take pics of install when i do it so it can be used as reference etc...
Image
Car Build : [ http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=26755 ]
MrDB
Club Member
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 6:22 am

Postby Shaggz00 » Mon Oct 06, 2008 12:40 am

cool, good luck on the install!

The datalogging feature is pretty cool, the only thing I wish it really had was an input for wideband. Just a tip, there is one wire, I think it's a grey one or something... in the wiring diagram it doesn't tell you where it goes, but it IS in the instruction/owners manual. Unfortunately, I can't remember where it goes to off the top of my head :doh:
-Avi-
'88 ST-165(Black) - Sitting... Waiting... Quietly... in the garage under 2 inches of dust...
'88 ST-165(grey) - gone to rusty Celica heaven
'91 MKIII Supra - 98% completion!
Shaggz00
Gold Member
 
Posts: 1682
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 12:13 am
Location: Silver Spring, md

Postby MrDB » Mon Oct 06, 2008 7:02 pm

You can input wideband by using spare afm input this can then be logged. You need a wideband that will output an anolog signal but most good ones do.
Image
Car Build : [ http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=26755 ]
MrDB
Club Member
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 6:22 am

Postby Hotrodhendrix » Mon Oct 06, 2008 7:07 pm

Thanks for the info guys. I will be installing one of these in my VR4 soon and didnt know to much about them.
"The more you let life's obstacles slow you down the longer it will take to defeat them."
~Yours truly
User avatar
Hotrodhendrix
GTFour God
 
Posts: 3480
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 5:45 pm
Location: DFW Texas

Postby GTfour@alltrac.net » Mon Oct 27, 2008 4:00 pm

ok i'm even less informed about the emanage but i was considering it for the ST205. does anyone even know if it can work on the 3rd gen 3sgte or only the AFM models? i saw the ST205 listed on the box but the model does not appear on the list on their website. and i cant find a detailed list of what features it actually has.
GTfour@alltrac.net
Club Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 1:42 pm

Postby Shaggz00 » Mon Oct 27, 2008 7:51 pm

I'm fairly certain that you would be able to use it with the 205, BUT...I think it would be pointless :P The main reason I say that, is because the e-manage uses the AFM signals to pull fuel. So I guess you could use it to play with the injectors a bit, but you probably won't have too much tuneability.
-Avi-
'88 ST-165(Black) - Sitting... Waiting... Quietly... in the garage under 2 inches of dust...
'88 ST-165(grey) - gone to rusty Celica heaven
'91 MKIII Supra - 98% completion!
Shaggz00
Gold Member
 
Posts: 1682
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 12:13 am
Location: Silver Spring, md

Postby mx6er2587 » Tue Oct 28, 2008 2:38 pm

the emanage should be able to read oem map signals. I mean it has an optional map sensor.
mx6er2587
Established Member
 
Posts: 1162
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 12:08 am
Location: Pittsburgh PA

Postby MrDB » Wed Oct 29, 2008 1:51 pm

mine was originaly on a 205 so yes they can be used.
Image
Car Build : [ http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=26755 ]
MrDB
Club Member
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 6:22 am

Postby siralys » Tue Nov 11, 2008 12:37 pm

Glad you guys wrote this. I was just starting to look into the emanage for my 165 All I need is more fuel so it seems like its what I'm looking for. Just real quick are there other options in the same price range as the emanage?
2003 hyundai santa fe- daily driver
1995 vw passat vr6- modded wagon- sold
1988 celica alltrac- in parts finding mode
siralys
Club Member
 
Posts: 289
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2008 5:43 pm
Location: Riegelsville, Pa- now KOP

Next

Return to EFI Corner

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest