MAF - MP sensor conversion

Talk EMS and Computer related performance

MAF - MP sensor conversion

Postby Terracar » Tue Dec 16, 2008 11:06 pm

Does this convert it so we can ditch the MAF? Seems to good to be true IMO.

http://www.horsepowerfreaks.com/cart///324399

-Terracar
Members don't see the above ad. Register now - it's free!
'92 'trac - Demon - currently in need of some reconstructive surgery.
User avatar
Terracar
Established Member
 
Posts: 1553
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 2:47 pm
Location: Battle Ground, WA

Postby Nitro_Alltrac » Tue Dec 16, 2008 11:32 pm

That's an excellent question. Seeing how there is one for the Mk3 Supra, I would think it would be a possibility to adapt it to the All Trac. Hopefully someone has more info.
Mike

92 All Trac - Daily Driver

Image
User avatar
Nitro_Alltrac
Gold Member
 
Posts: 1990
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 9:13 pm
Location: Nitro, WV

Postby Corey » Tue Dec 16, 2008 11:35 pm

Oh god i hope so :)
Image
User avatar
Corey
GTFour God
 
Posts: 4118
Images: 49
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 12:12 am

1989 Toyota Celica

Postby Nitro_Alltrac » Tue Dec 16, 2008 11:37 pm

How would the wiring and voltages compare between the Mk3 Supra and the 3sgte? I would think the wiring would be similar.
Mike

92 All Trac - Daily Driver

Image
User avatar
Nitro_Alltrac
Gold Member
 
Posts: 1990
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 9:13 pm
Location: Nitro, WV

Postby LegacyofDan » Wed Dec 17, 2008 12:00 am

we need a supra guy....
User avatar
LegacyofDan
GTFour God
 
Posts: 3640
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 3:54 pm

Postby tissimo » Wed Dec 17, 2008 1:24 am

No, the regular MAFT uses a GM hotwire MAF in place of the stock MAF (mainly used on karman vortex afms cars). GM mafs can be used in a blowthrough setup.

MAFT Pro had a speed density conversion on it. Evernything I've heard on the system though isn't very good.

Go with the tried and true VPC setup or MAPECU also will do a speed density conversion.
98 Supra Turbo
92 Supra Turbo
90 Celica Alltrac
tissimo
Club Member
 
Posts: 497
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2005 12:23 am
Location: Melbourne, FL

Postby turbo4wd » Wed Dec 17, 2008 4:59 am

Nitro_Alltrac wrote:How would the wiring and voltages compare between the Mk3 Supra and the 3sgte? I would think the wiring would be similar.


If they were, then we could use this:
http://www.suprastore.com/lestafm7msul.html

However, even with similar voltages, the scaling on the ECU's may be different between the 3SGTE and 7MGTE..
Dan
Undercover Moderator
User avatar
turbo4wd
Established Member
 
Posts: 2459
Images: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 7:05 am
Location: back home in SoCal..

Postby xaftermath801x » Tue Dec 23, 2008 5:47 am

maf using karman vortex signals which is all obd1 supras use a frequencey to reference airflow so it would not work at all. BUT are fortunate enough to have a 5v airflow meter instead because mimicking a variable 5 volt signal is not hard at all to duplicate with a map sensor at all versus using a karman vortex afm. duplicating any kV afm sucks!! on my supra its terrible. i have a vpc and and safc and it isnt any better than a maft would be. if you could find a map sensor that was close the the same voltage output as our afm at certain loadpoints than that would be all you would need but it would be difficult to find. thats why map ecu works so great for our setups because it can duplicate the signals and it will also build your map for you if you set it up on learn mode first. it will learn your voltages at certain points and save them so you can delete your afm and run it almost perfectly.
Last edited by xaftermath801x on Tue Dec 23, 2008 9:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
88 st 165/w 185 swap sold :(
88 st165 revival in progress sold :(
93 mkiv supra NA-T (601whp at 19psi on e85) 1000hp goal build in progress
97 dodge 1/2 ton lifted and beaten to death daily.
13 dodge dart (not as fruity as a prius)
User avatar
xaftermath801x
Club Member
 
Posts: 296
Joined: Mon May 23, 2005 3:44 am
Location: slc, utah

Postby 935motorsports » Tue Dec 23, 2008 6:21 am

You can use MAF delete with Emanage Ultimate, though the unit is still pricey.

What people don't realize, is that you can use any MAP sensor. You don't have to buy the $100+ greddy unit. Of course you would be limited to 14 psi on the stocker though.

Even the stock one would work. It takes just a few hours to map it and you are set.
935motorsports
Established Member
 
Posts: 1686
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2004 3:20 pm

Postby built2run » Tue Dec 23, 2008 6:04 pm

well the AFM 3sgte's have an inverse signal in vacuum there will be high voltage vs most other systems that have low voltage in vacuum. if you find an inverter you can use any map or hotwire because a hotwire DOES send a 0-5v analog signal to the ecu. and the split second unit is the one you wanna look at its like 400 bucks though.
"straight lines r 4 fast cars, turns r 4 fast drivers" Colin McRae.
ST165, black: parted and gone
ST165, white: rear ended by ass hat
ST165, white: sold to friend
ST185, black: current project, "The Kraken"
User avatar
built2run
Established Member
 
Posts: 1534
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 11:17 pm
Location: Hollister, California

Postby xaftermath801x » Tue Dec 23, 2008 9:12 pm

built2run wrote:well the AFM 3sgte's have an inverse signal in vacuum there will be high voltage vs most other systems that have low voltage in vacuum. if you find an inverter you can use any map or hotwire because a hotwire DOES send a 0-5v analog signal to the ecu. and the split second unit is the one you wanna look at its like 400 bucks though.


i meant karman vortex which does not. i confuse that and hotwire alot cuz mk4 supras have both depending on ob1 or obd2. the earlier supra does not have karman vortex the ob2 does have hotwire. thanks for catching that i just edited my post with the right info :wink:
88 st 165/w 185 swap sold :(
88 st165 revival in progress sold :(
93 mkiv supra NA-T (601whp at 19psi on e85) 1000hp goal build in progress
97 dodge 1/2 ton lifted and beaten to death daily.
13 dodge dart (not as fruity as a prius)
User avatar
xaftermath801x
Club Member
 
Posts: 296
Joined: Mon May 23, 2005 3:44 am
Location: slc, utah

Postby built2run » Fri Dec 26, 2008 4:37 am

8)

so who here is crafty with cirquits and a/d converters and what not i have an idea to make a converter and harness for very cheap please pm or post here
"straight lines r 4 fast cars, turns r 4 fast drivers" Colin McRae.
ST165, black: parted and gone
ST165, white: rear ended by ass hat
ST165, white: sold to friend
ST185, black: current project, "The Kraken"
User avatar
built2run
Established Member
 
Posts: 1534
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 11:17 pm
Location: Hollister, California

Postby d1alltrac » Thu Jan 01, 2009 2:37 pm

This came up a while back....

The 7M-GTE uses the karmon vortex, but the 7M-GE uses a flapper door AFM very similar to the 165.(it even has the fuel pump relay)

In theory, the MAFT pro for 7MGE supras should work. Wiring it up would be simple; the AFM pinout is identical to the 165 and they've taken care of the fuel pump relay. I don't know what's involved in programming/setup with these, so there could be an issue there.

We just need a guinea pig to get in touch with the guy who sells them and give it a shot.

But even if it works, is it worth the $400+/- needed to get all the required parts?

This is the thread we found back then....
http://www.supramania.com/forums/showthread.php?t=35302
Patrick R.

88 ST165 x2
92 MR2 turbo
02 330i
User avatar
d1alltrac
Established Member
 
Posts: 2443
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 6:45 pm
Location: DFW, TX

Re: MAF - MP sensor conversion

Postby Madseacow » Thu May 13, 2010 7:51 pm

I appologize for bringing a thread back from the dead. But I have a complete maft-pro sitting here (and a wideband). If someone is willing to help, I'll be the guinea pig. The problem is that I know next to nothing about tuning. I can hook the system up, but beyond that, I'm lost. I have found this thread: http://www.fullthrottletech.com/showthr ... ight=3sgte
But it doesn't look like much came to fruition.
wtb 3sgte
Madseacow
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2010 2:23 am
Location: Central Tx

Re: MAF - MP sensor conversion

Postby d1alltrac » Fri May 14, 2010 4:33 am

It's unlikely that you'll find much help here. You should post on that forum you linked to or something like supramania where they'll have more experience with that unit. Good luck. :)

Off topic but where in TX are you located?
Patrick R.

88 ST165 x2
92 MR2 turbo
02 330i
User avatar
d1alltrac
Established Member
 
Posts: 2443
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 6:45 pm
Location: DFW, TX

Next

Return to EFI Corner

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest