HKS PFC FCON and FCD

Talk EMS and Computer related performance

HKS PFC FCON and FCD

Postby SleepingTurbo » Thu Jul 15, 2010 5:32 pm

i recently bought an HKS PFC FCON and FCD combo, and i just have a few questions for anyone on here that is running it. i also posted on supramania because i know alot of supra run it too.

but anyways, it did not come with the small manifold pressure sensor, that is usually in the package. this sensor is mounted in the engine bay. now our cars use a secondary MAP sensor correct? but use the MAF as the primary way for fueling?

i was just wondering, would there be any way to use the secondary MAP sensor in our cars, i have a 165, as the source for th FCON? or do i absolutely need the HKs provided unit?
Members don't see the above ad. Register now - it's free!
May be moving on from the All Trac world.
SleepingTurbo
Club Member
 
Posts: 662
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 4:18 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: HKS PFC FCON and FCD

Postby Andy » Thu Jul 15, 2010 9:38 pm

It uses the AFM for the fuel mix. The stock MAP sensor is only used for fuel cut.

The stock MAP sensor is a 2 Bar, it will read up to 14.7 lbs.The HKS likely needs a 3 Bar sensor, 29.4 lbs max.

I suspect most 3 Bar sensors would work (incl. non HKS). What matters is that they provide the same voltage signal for the same vac/pressure value as the original did.

Andy
Andy
Club Member
 
Posts: 329
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2004 12:50 pm
Location: Ohio

Re: HKS PFC FCON and FCD

Postby SleepingTurbo » Thu Jul 15, 2010 10:54 pm

so a GM 3-Bar map sensor would work? one from another computer, like the MAFT Pro?
May be moving on from the All Trac world.
SleepingTurbo
Club Member
 
Posts: 662
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 4:18 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: HKS PFC FCON and FCD

Postby Andy » Thu Jul 15, 2010 11:26 pm

I "think" they mostly follow a standard, but not sure. Using: 0-5 volts where @ 0 vac/pressure the signal will be 2.5 volts. Above 0, seeing pressure, voltage signal is proportional (2.5 - 5) to the "Bar" rating, or max pressure value the sensor can read. Signal below 2.5 v is vacuum. At least, that's how I remember it from a while back, testing, playing with the Arduino.

Example: A HKS 3 bar sensor I got w/a HKS VPC works with a GReddy 3 Bar gauge.

Andy
Andy
Club Member
 
Posts: 329
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2004 12:50 pm
Location: Ohio

Re: HKS PFC FCON and FCD

Postby SleepingTurbo » Thu Jul 15, 2010 11:53 pm

so as long as it reads that same voltage scale, i can use it?
May be moving on from the All Trac world.
SleepingTurbo
Club Member
 
Posts: 662
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 4:18 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: HKS PFC FCON and FCD

Postby Andy » Sat Jul 17, 2010 1:15 pm

I took a look at the FCON data sheet. http://www.alltrac.net/manuals/

I also took a look at the VPC data sheet. In there they show a test for their sensor.
http://www.alltrac.net/manuals/vpc7.jpg

In which they show the 0 pressure voltage to be 1.744 volts not 2.5 (which I know is the 2 Bar, stock sensor output voltage at 0 pressure).

So, my memory/assumption about the 3 Bar using 2.5 v as the "center point" was wrong. Sorry.

It does make sense that they moved it down, because this provides more accuracy over the wider range of pressure that the 3 Bar provides.

Unfortunately the FCON doc does not have the same test for its sensor (that I could find), but I suspect they use the same sensor.

Take a look for the voltage/test specs for a GM or other 3 Bars. If they match up, then I think it should work.

Andy
Andy
Club Member
 
Posts: 329
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2004 12:50 pm
Location: Ohio

Re: HKS PFC FCON and FCD

Postby SleepingTurbo » Mon Jul 19, 2010 11:43 pm

where can i find a GM 3 bar map sensor?
May be moving on from the All Trac world.
SleepingTurbo
Club Member
 
Posts: 662
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 4:18 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: HKS PFC FCON and FCD

Postby Andy » Fri Jul 23, 2010 10:11 am

I found a graph showing the voltage differences between the GM 2-3 bar sensors.
The 3 bar matches the HKS voltages.
http://hhscott.com/93tmv/3-bar_map.htm

It shows a part number in there of P/N 1#213-101 (1#1604-0749)

Should be able to find one on Ebay.

Andy
Andy
Club Member
 
Posts: 329
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2004 12:50 pm
Location: Ohio

Re: HKS PFC FCON and FCD

Postby SleepingTurbo » Fri Jul 23, 2010 7:32 pm

dude. you are the man. thanks so much, just made my mother fucking day.
May be moving on from the All Trac world.
SleepingTurbo
Club Member
 
Posts: 662
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 4:18 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: HKS PFC FCON and FCD

Postby Andy » Fri Jul 23, 2010 9:59 pm

You're welcome.

The specs match, at least to their VPC test procedure. So I can't think of why it shouldn't work.

You will need a wiring plug also, be sure to solder/heat shrink.

Andy
Andy
Club Member
 
Posts: 329
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2004 12:50 pm
Location: Ohio

Re: HKS PFC FCON and FCD

Postby SleepingTurbo » Thu Aug 12, 2010 10:45 pm

i just bought a kit that includes the 3 bar map sensor, and a pigtail and connector. so i just need to know how to install the map sensor. who knows how?
May be moving on from the All Trac world.
SleepingTurbo
Club Member
 
Posts: 662
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 4:18 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: HKS PFC FCON and FCD

Postby SleepingTurbo » Sun Dec 12, 2010 8:52 pm

well still havent gotten around to installing this. but i did talk to HKS about how the 3 bar will interface with the FCON.

according to the HKS engineers, they said that the only way to tune it for larger injectors, or other parameters, I would need to buy a GCC to do any tuning with that.

They sent me a chip set list for the FCON specifically pinned for the All Trac and its only 65$. I dont know what those are for, but i have a feeling that there will be a need for that to tune with the FCON and the 3 bar MAP sensor.
May be moving on from the All Trac world.
SleepingTurbo
Club Member
 
Posts: 662
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 4:18 pm
Location: Chicago, IL


Return to EFI Corner

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests