proven good stand alones

Talk EMS and Computer related performance

Postby ST185pinjo » Wed Jul 02, 2008 12:42 pm

You only need a wideband for the mapping in most cases.
I run my EMS without one, only need one for making the maps. I just have an external one for safety.

Most EMS's don't use the O2 sensor like on the stock ecu.
Members don't see the above ad. Register now - it's free!
Image
ST185pinjo
Club Member
 
Posts: 819
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 4:55 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Postby Mafix » Wed Jul 02, 2008 12:49 pm

been running nemesis for about a year now. love it.
Mafix
Gold Member
 
Posts: 5877
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 10:56 pm

Postby Hic » Mon Aug 11, 2008 8:26 am

Used Autronic SMC, then SM2, then SM4.

Now I use Vipec...PNP for all alltrac cars, and I love it.

I really wish only one of board members want to try it....it will be a great thing to hear someone's else opinion.
Hic
Club Member
 
Posts: 360
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 6:22 pm

Postby Meurz » Mon Aug 11, 2008 7:58 pm

Hic wrote:I really wish only one of board members want to try it....it will be a great thing to hear someone's else opinion.

http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=29035 :wink:

EMS is my next mod, but I'm still not sure to go the proven way (Autronic SM4) or also Vi-pec.. :shrug:
Turbocelica.nl
User avatar
Meurz
Established Member
 
Posts: 2189
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 12:16 pm
Location: NLD

Postby ST185pinjo » Mon Aug 11, 2008 8:54 pm

@ HIC

Is the tuning of the Autronic's about the same as the Vipec?

I mean Gert van Bloemendaal (I think you know him) tuned my SM4, so should he also be able to tune Vipec or are they completely different to work with?
Image
ST185pinjo
Club Member
 
Posts: 819
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 4:55 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Postby Hic » Tue Aug 12, 2008 6:04 am

Pinjo


He would be more than able to tune the Vipec.

Vipec has the best things from Autronic, and everything that Autronic wishes to have :):)

Quicktune is even more faster than Autronic, more stable and reliable, ignition is dead accurate, no scatter in any way, much much more options that actually work!

10 Analog inputs, EGT inputs, 2 knock sensors, with more than a few frequency ranges....really nice piece of hardware.

As for tuning, the strategy is exactly the same as autronic's. Anything you or Gert need, just email or call me. I remeber Gert from my beggings of work with autronic, very nice guy.
Hic
Club Member
 
Posts: 360
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 6:22 pm

Postby Hic » Tue Aug 12, 2008 6:32 am

Meurz wrote:
Hic wrote:I really wish only one of board members want to try it....it will be a great thing to hear someone's else opinion.

http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=29035 :wink:

EMS is my next mod, but I'm still not sure to go the proven way (Autronic SM4) or also Vi-pec.. :shrug:


Meurz


Vipec is everything autronic wants to be :)

When we stopped to work with autronic, in first few days we didn't know what to do. After years of promoting autronic name and our own, it was hard to choose any other EMS to work with, because realistically, SM4 beat them all, no matter what ppl here say. Autronic was heaps better than AEM, Haltech, Hidra or any of these ems. I tuned them all, just to prove myself that there is no problem in me, but in these ems's.

So, in the end, we approached one ecu manufacturer with our list of demands, with everything we knew about tuning and everything we wanted to have. These guys did what we asked them to do. They made tuner's ecu. It looks silly, but believe, me vipec is a breeze to tune, to maintain and to drive. I tested it personally against pectel sq6, and Ray tested it against Motec M880....it beats the shit out of motec, and only difference between pectel and v88 is the number of configurable outputs!

The most important thing is: EVERYTHING WORKS. We tested absoltely every function to be sure that there are no bad surprises.

Look at this link: http://www.lightspeedinnovations.com/ne ... aspx?ID=20

AND SEE WHY WE STOPPED TO WORK WITH AUTRONIC. Autronic was a great system, but in the end....judge for yourself. Read the text, try for yourself and see the video. I think I don't have anything to add to this.

My contact mail is hic@thperformance.com and if you need any more info about the Vipec, just email me. Skype id is hic185.

Look at this pic: just installing V88 on Opel speedster turbo, with changed injectors, turbo and electronic throttle. This is my garage.

http://i35.tinypic.com/f2n7f9.jpg

These are a few more pics, just for you to see that we have some serious work :)

http://i34.tinypic.com/ezogeh.jpg NSX, 340HP after tuning (276 stock)

http://i33.tinypic.com/bi34n4.jpg EVO9 with 750HP, 911 with 340HP plus 150HP shot of WON, NSX in the back

http://i35.tinypic.com/dyu3bd.jpg Mustang Saleen with 540HP (stck was 380HP), procharger and V88

This is only what I have on my mobile phone :)
There are many more, contact me and we can work something out :)
Hic
Club Member
 
Posts: 360
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 6:22 pm

Postby ST185pinjo » Tue Aug 12, 2008 6:36 am

Thanks for that info Hic.

So do you need any other stuff to make the Vipec work on our cars? SM4 works with all Toyota sensors, except you need a different igniter.

Is that the same with Vipec?
Image
ST185pinjo
Club Member
 
Posts: 819
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 4:55 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Postby Hic » Tue Aug 12, 2008 6:59 am

Pinjo


Vipec is PNP for toyota :):):):):)


http://www.vi-pec.com/page_files/QuickTune.html


Toyota plugin is based on V44, but V88 and V44 share the loom, so you can just UNPLUG V44 and connect V88 (they share same pin pattern for all main funtions)!!
Hic
Club Member
 
Posts: 360
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 6:22 pm

Postby ST185pinjo » Tue Aug 12, 2008 10:02 am

So nothing but the ecu it self is needed to make this V44 or V88 work.
No Bosch ignitor or anything?

About the SM4 problems, I'll have to see that in person when my engine is back in the car.

Not all ST185 models use the same ecu pinout, AtA is different than CS. I don't know about the Group A and RC.

How does Vipec adress this?
Image
ST185pinjo
Club Member
 
Posts: 819
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 4:55 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Postby Hic » Tue Aug 12, 2008 10:21 am

Pinout should be different only in a few pins, right?

Can you find out what these pins are? That way I can see what things need to be done so it will work with CS harness.

No sweat :)

Btw, CS, GroupA are the same car. Just different market names. Only 2 st185 versions exsists.
Hic
Club Member
 
Posts: 360
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 6:22 pm

Postby Meurz » Tue Aug 12, 2008 2:28 pm

So that V88 would be the way to go. They only state 'GT4' but I guess it's fully adaptable when I get to the gen3+fmic stage?
Turbocelica.nl
User avatar
Meurz
Established Member
 
Posts: 2189
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 12:16 pm
Location: NLD

Postby Hic » Wed Aug 13, 2008 6:53 am

Meurz wrote:So that V88 would be the way to go. They only state 'GT4' but I guess it's fully adaptable when I get to the gen3+fmic stage?


If you are going into V88 with wire-in system (non PNP), then you don't have any issues.
The state GT4 , but there are 3 models, st165,85,205. So...I reccomend V88 wire in, with 4 coils from VAG, you can get 4 coils with harness (yep) for 220€. That way you have exactly what you need: direct fire, knock control, you can use 1000cc injectors....whatever you want. And it is so easy to tune :)

We have a tuner in Netherlands, his name is Wouter. Really great guy, this is his phone number: +31 653414087, just tell him I gave you the phone number :)

If you need any info, contact me here or over the phone.

I have GT4 with 600HP and V88....no sweat :)
Hic
Club Member
 
Posts: 360
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 6:22 pm

Postby ST185pinjo » Wed Aug 13, 2008 8:36 am

Wouter also sells Vipec?
No Autronic anymore?

What is the negative thing with the malfunction concerning the timing difference after throttle? What can happen?
Image
ST185pinjo
Club Member
 
Posts: 819
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 4:55 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Postby Hic » Thu Aug 14, 2008 3:44 am

Pinjo

Yes, Wouter sells Vipec now.

Negative about autronic:

When you accelerate the engine, it will retard the timing around 4 to 5 degrees. Once it determines that rpm and conditions are stable, it will ADVANCE the timing back.

What happens is that you tune the car, and once you think everthing is good, it will add 5 deg of timing! Or when you accelerate, you will have a lack of timing, if the car is tuned in steady state on dyno.

Too bad....it was a good system to work with, one of the best, in my experience.
Hic
Club Member
 
Posts: 360
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 6:22 pm

PreviousNext

Return to EFI Corner

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests