does anyone know about rom tuning the factory ecu

Talk EMS and Computer related performance

does anyone know about rom tuning the factory ecu

Postby 3SVERIZON » Thu Aug 26, 2004 8:41 pm

i was just wanting to know if anyone knows some information on rom tuning the stock toyota ecu
Members don't see the above ad. Register now - it's free!
2002 LEXUS IS300
2001 LEXUS IS300
2000 F250 7.3 turbo diesel
1992 TOYOTA Celica All-trac (SOLD)
1990 TOYOTA Celica GT-FOUR(For Sale 9980.00) cost me 14k to import in 03-04
3SVERIZON
Club Member
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 6:26 pm
Location: clearwater florida

Postby ChrisD » Fri Aug 27, 2004 1:45 pm

edit
Last edited by ChrisD on Thu May 06, 2010 4:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
1988 ST165
1994 ST205 WRC
ChrisD
Established Member
 
Posts: 1622
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 4:30 am
Location: Calgary AB Canada

Postby alltracman78 » Mon Aug 30, 2004 11:11 pm

Might as well get a ems......
Almost the same price.
Image
User avatar
alltracman78
GTFour God
 
Posts: 4675
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 9:04 am
Location: Ma

G-Force

Postby GMan » Mon Sep 06, 2004 7:24 am

Formerly known as G-Force. :-)

If you paln to stay relatively stock a retuned ECU is a
good upgrade. If you plan Major upgrades a full
ems is the way to go.

I have a retined ECU and it ha srun very well with just a
basic common tune. Would help a lot ot have
it tuned in a dyno. Just have to find a tuner.

Regards;
GMan
Gold Member
 
Posts: 1163
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 8:12 pm
Location: Boston, MA USA

Postby Plex » Mon Sep 06, 2004 4:28 pm

Are our ECU's self learning like the 4AG ones? I assume yes. That was probably a dumb question.. anyway, I've heard that stock 'tuned' ECU's for 4AG's re-learn themselves so you lose the tuning eventually.. anyone care to confirm or tell me to stfu?
..:.Red 1988 ST165 All-Trac Turbo.:..
Plex
Club Member
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 1:09 am
Location: Portland, OR

Closed loop vs open loop

Postby GMan » Tue Sep 07, 2004 2:20 am

If i understand your quesion, this is the answer. :-)

Under light load, no boost, the ECU uses the O2 sensor
to determine fueling. There is not not much you can
do to change that. With black boxes, after market fueling
controllers, all the changes up made Are countered by the ecu.
Tuning a new chip may make a difference, but would not change until re-reprogrammed. It only aims for target A/F ratios.

Under boost or high load, the ecu switches to open loop
and adjusts fueling by maps, so no contol is exerted by the ECU.
Just predetermined fuel and timing points. This is where black
boxes can make a difference.

The ECU does not self "learn" per say.
Not familair with the 4AG, but it is probably similar to ours.

Regards;
GMan
Gold Member
 
Posts: 1163
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 8:12 pm
Location: Boston, MA USA

Postby Colin T » Sun Sep 12, 2004 9:33 pm

You're probably thinking of the "Freedom" ECU. It's an ecu developed in Japan that basically "Reads" what the car is doing, and adjusts fuel maps, ignition curves, everything automatically.
Image
Colin T
Newbie
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 2:32 pm
Location: Minneapolis, MN

Postby Plex » Sun Sep 12, 2004 9:55 pm

No.. I wasn't thinking of the Freedom ECU..

I think they might have SOME self learning capability.. because it'll adjust how much fuel to use based upon what octane gas you use..
For example, when i forst got my car, it had 'regular' gas in it (rod knock anyone?) so when i filled it up I ran premium (92 is the best we have here) and I got 175 miles for the TANK, without driving hard at all.

After that tank, I filled her up with Premium again and got 300 miles for that tank. And have gotten 300 ever since (roughly, give or take 15 miles)



Maybe it only can 'learn' certain things? I dunno *shrug*
..:.Red 1988 ST165 All-Trac Turbo.:..
Plex
Club Member
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 1:09 am
Location: Portland, OR

Postby furpo » Mon Sep 13, 2004 12:56 am

i have been looking into building an interface to allow the use of and eerom in place of the factory rom and have all but decided it is not worth the effort. toyota build the ecu with the rom as an integral part of the cpu board so it is allmost imposable to replace. companies mentioned above have figured out a way around this but the that leave you with no option but to use them again for retuning if you are going to do future mods and also you have to use the afm (depatable if this is a draw back or not).

i have seen examples of aftermarket ecus when tuned right that drive better, deliver more power and torque with better fuel milage than the stock ecu and leave the option of being retuned if future mods are done.

roger
don't mind me, i always need help
furpo
Club Member
 
Posts: 897
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 12:45 am
Location: new zealand


Return to EFI Corner

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest