A/C with EMS on ST185

Talk EMS and Computer related performance

A/C with EMS on ST185

Postby scothaniel » Tue Aug 31, 2004 8:41 pm

Just wondering how you guys setup the A/C (those that kept it) with your standalone. My Link Plus only has one input for the A/C idle-up, and I know that there are 2 leads for the A/C system - AC Magnetic clutch and AC amplifier?

Thanks -
Members don't see the above ad. Register now - it's free!
Scott
Michigan
scothaniel
Club Member
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2004 7:53 pm
Location: USA - Michigan

Postby Griffin » Tue Aug 31, 2004 9:58 pm

Sorry bro - removed mine :(
Dave Staba
Owner - DD Performance Research
SOLD - 1990 Black ST185
Current - 2000 Celica GTS , 2000 MR2 Spyder, 2013 Scion FR-S
Sealy, TX
User avatar
Griffin
Established Member
 
Posts: 1690
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 3:09 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Postby Terboman » Wed Sep 01, 2004 12:00 am

Scott,
You're doing a ground up wiring job? If you were looking at the stock harness to the ECU...I think there was only one "A/C request" that was presented to the ECU/EMS.

I don't think the ECU should be controlling the A/C mag clutch...something else should. THe EMS would not know when to cycle the compressor on and off right? So...I am thinking that we are missing some other A/C circuit in all of this.

just my $.02

laters,
Lee
Lee
2 Alltracs down...none to go.
Yes....I own a G35 now. :D
Image
User avatar
Terboman
Club Member
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2004 4:09 am
Location: Over the river & thru the woods..

Postby scothaniel » Wed Sep 01, 2004 7:14 am

Lee,
I am mating the original harness to the Link ECU, and running new wires when needed. According to the ST185 pin-out, there are 2 wires for A/C.

I think the ecu gets a signal when the magnetic clutch is engaged - telling the ECU to up the idle. The other wire comes from the amplifier-not 100% sure of its purpose. I've heard of 2 stage setups where the A/C system tells the ECU to idle up, then waits for a signal from the ECU to continue. Maybe the ST185 functions in a similar matter?
Scott
Michigan
scothaniel
Club Member
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2004 7:53 pm
Location: USA - Michigan

Postby Terboman » Wed Sep 01, 2004 2:45 pm

Now that I think about it....you must be right. I think the way the AEM had it setup was that it bumped up the idle when the clutch was engaged AND it had the ability to shut down the A/C when say....RPM, Kpa or TPS was over x. Therefore, it must have an input and an output right? Funny, I don't remember seeing that.

Let me look into this more.
Lee
2 Alltracs down...none to go.
Yes....I own a G35 now. :D
Image
User avatar
Terboman
Club Member
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2004 4:09 am
Location: Over the river & thru the woods..

Postby scothaniel » Wed Sep 01, 2004 4:46 pm

Thanks - any info is greatly appriciated.
Scott
Michigan
scothaniel
Club Member
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2004 7:53 pm
Location: USA - Michigan

Postby Terboman » Thu Sep 02, 2004 2:35 pm

Scott,
Ok...look at this diagram...
http://www.geocities.com/MotorCity/Pit/9975/enginepix/drawings/ToyTCCS_Pins_3S-GTE.gif

Do you see pins AC1 and ACT?

AC1 is the input. It's being tapped off a wire feeding the mag clutch relay. It does not turn the mag clutch on or off....it just tells the EMS that it's on. This is how your EMS will know it needs to bump up idle. ACT is feeding the A/C amplifier. Now, I am thinking that if you were going to kill off your a/c at say....anything over 15 psi or 6k rpm...this is the output you'd use to do that. I think they are both sensing and outputing Grd signals....but don't quote me. hehe

laters
Lee
2 Alltracs down...none to go.
Yes....I own a G35 now. :D
Image
User avatar
Terboman
Club Member
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2004 4:09 am
Location: Over the river & thru the woods..

Postby tweekgt4 » Thu Sep 02, 2004 4:56 pm

i have A/C with my TEC3. the wiring was done with Ricky B's PnP box.
1999 Volvo V70R, Laser Blue
2001 BMW M5, Titanium Silver
ex-1991 MR2 Turbo, ex-1991 Toyota ST185, ex-1992 Nissan Sil-240sx KA24DET, ex-1994 Mazda Miata M-Edition JRSC
http://www.brsf.net
Image
User avatar
tweekgt4
Club Member
 
Posts: 796
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 8:31 pm
Location: San Francisco/Daly City

Postby Terboman » Thu Sep 02, 2004 6:46 pm

Herman,
When you look in your Electromotive software, what kind of inputs/outputs are you using for your A/C. Does your TEC3 bump up idle when the mag clutch is engaged?
Lee
2 Alltracs down...none to go.
Yes....I own a G35 now. :D
Image
User avatar
Terboman
Club Member
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2004 4:09 am
Location: Over the river & thru the woods..

Postby tweekgt4 » Tue Sep 07, 2004 10:36 pm

i have a PnP box so i don't know if the tec3 is bumping up my idle. idle does go up when i hit the AC button and it can be adjusted via the AC idle valve in the engine bay. under the software, there is a section where it says, A/D input control #1, Enter amount of idle RPM to incerease under load. i have it set at 150 rpm. i guess i'll mess with it one day and see if the setting does anything.
1999 Volvo V70R, Laser Blue
2001 BMW M5, Titanium Silver
ex-1991 MR2 Turbo, ex-1991 Toyota ST185, ex-1992 Nissan Sil-240sx KA24DET, ex-1994 Mazda Miata M-Edition JRSC
http://www.brsf.net
Image
User avatar
tweekgt4
Club Member
 
Posts: 796
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 8:31 pm
Location: San Francisco/Daly City


Return to EFI Corner

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest