How to do a st165 to st205 swap???

Write ups and tutorials for maintenance and modifications.

How to do a st165 to st205 swap???

Postby slappyNuts » Wed Jan 14, 2009 4:46 pm

I'm sure this is explained SOMEWHERE on the forum, but I looked in a few different places and didn't see it posted. I want to basically have an st205 set up in my st165 body. Can someone please direct me to where someone describes in detail what needs to be done, parts that need to be replaced, or if it is even possible? Has anyone ever done this? Any feedback is appreciated.
Members don't see the above ad. Register now - it's free!
88 all trac - black - work in progress
98 s10 - black - slammed
User avatar
slappyNuts
Club Member
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 12:43 am
Location: San Jose, CA

Postby 94 MR2 Turbo » Fri Jan 30, 2009 1:49 am

pm sent. I am currently finishing up a 165 swap..
94 MR2 Turbo
Club Member
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 5:43 pm
Location: Frisco CA

Postby paladek » Fri Jan 30, 2009 9:12 pm

Hi,



yes it is possible....I've done exactly that to my '88 ST165 roughly a year ago.... replacing the ST165 engine+gearbox with the '94 ST205 engine +gearbox was relative strait forward....The fun begun with the electrical part of the swap.
Obviously I used the ST205 ECU and the wire harness but I adapt it to the old ST165 fuse box....

regards
paladek
Club Member
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 4:34 am
Location: Vancouver, Canada

Postby slappyNuts » Fri Jan 30, 2009 9:24 pm

thats what i wanted to hear, thanks a lot man.
88 all trac - black - work in progress
98 s10 - black - slammed
User avatar
slappyNuts
Club Member
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 12:43 am
Location: San Jose, CA

Re: How to do a st165 to st205 swap???

Postby biomedgt4 » Thu Dec 22, 2011 10:57 pm

I am doing this swap but i was wondering what wiring will need to be done to complete the swap. a write up would be nice and yes i did look already but only write up i can find is for an st185. Thanks
biomedgt4
Newbie
 
Posts: 19
Images: 0
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 10:01 pm
Location: Tacoma WA.

Re: How to do a st165 to st205 swap???

Postby monkey8oi » Thu Dec 22, 2011 11:06 pm

another st165 in the bay looking for a st205 swap, eh? lol.. i finished mine a couple years ago and still running strong.. swapping the motor is not the hard part.. like paladek said, it's the electrical and ecu that starts to get a little more complicated.. for my swap, i swapped over the st205 motor, used my st165 harness and got a Nemesis standalone ecu and got it tuned to avoid having to go too deep into the electrical stuff.. If you're interested in taking a look, let me know cause i'm in the bay area and work in cupertino..
monkey8oi
Club Member
 
Posts: 777
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2004 5:11 pm
Location: South San Francisco

1988 Toyota Celica

Re: How to do a st165 to st205 swap???

Postby monkey8oi » Thu Dec 22, 2011 11:09 pm

@biomedgt4 - how far along are you in the swap? are you using the st205 motor/tranny and st165 harness? what ecu?
monkey8oi
Club Member
 
Posts: 777
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2004 5:11 pm
Location: South San Francisco

1988 Toyota Celica

Re: How to do a st165 to st205 swap???

Postby biomedgt4 » Tue Jan 17, 2012 5:21 pm

Im using st205 engine and tranny, st205 ECU and st205 wiring harness. I did not want to gut my st165 harness because im planning to buy another st165 shell to put it in. Engine is still out because im not sure if my throw out bearing is correct from the kit I bought, seems a little too tight around the sleeve dunno if its normal.
biomedgt4
Newbie
 
Posts: 19
Images: 0
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 10:01 pm
Location: Tacoma WA.

Re: How to do a st165 to st205 swap???

Postby biomedgt4 » Mon Feb 13, 2012 7:00 pm

bump. still waiting on an answer from the alltrac gods
:notworthy:
biomedgt4
Newbie
 
Posts: 19
Images: 0
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 10:01 pm
Location: Tacoma WA.

How to do a st165 to st205 swap???

Postby **BETSY** » Tue Feb 14, 2012 10:23 pm

I run a st185 engine with an adapted st165 loom which runs a st205 ecu/Power FC in my st165 ;)
Did this some years ago now and never looked back!
Was an easy swap....
Steve Gillies
ST-165 88 UK ([color=red]BETSY[/color])
[url=http://i32.photobucket.com/albums/d30/steve-gillies/Betsy/RollingRoad005.jpg]377BHP 353Ib/Ft[/url]
UK
User avatar
**BETSY**
Club Member
 
Posts: 300
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 11:08 pm
Location: Sussex UK

Re: How to do a st165 to st205 swap???

Postby scottjackson1209 » Fri Jul 26, 2013 5:03 am

Did you finish this swap up? I'm in the process of doing mine and the wiring is KILLING me...can you give me some info on the electrical side of this? any pictures of your plugs etc. ANY info is helpful.
scottjackson1209
Club Member
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 3:31 pm

Re: How to do a st165 to st205 swap???

Postby Awesome-Trac » Fri Jul 26, 2013 6:56 am

Nope he never finished, I bought the car from him and kept the already rebuilt 1st Gen engine and stuck a 2nd gen trans/EXEDY clutch which was all the car needed to run
-1988 Celica Alltrac (white) Sold
-1988 Celica Alltrac (black) new project
-1990 Corolla sedan (sky blue) totalled by my brother :(
-1990 Celica GT-S hatchback (sky blue) daily driver

•Daniel
Awesome-Trac
Established Member
 
Posts: 1291
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 4:31 am
Location: NORCAL "Bay Area"

Re: How to do a st165 to st205 swap???

Postby urbandork » Fri Jul 26, 2013 2:00 pm

Used the 205 fuse box and harness. Reduced down II1 II2 and IJ1 plug on the 6th gen harness down to the 4th gen corrisponding yellow plug and added a brake signal iirc. Also had to add and run two wires from the main fuse box to the ignition switch through the body harness that is fed into the car through the drivers side fender, as the 165 and 185 had these running through the engine wiring harness.

Connecting the corrisponding 165 fuse box wires to the 205 fuse box will require a serious ton of reading the ewd and labeling.

Oh yeah almost forgot... I used the horn relay from the 165 as it's in the car vs the 205 that has it's horn relay in the fuse box. Since I also deleted a/c I modified the fuse box so that the fan relay would allow for a naturally open relay to be used this way I only had one fan relay and I have my fans running all the time. Where the 205 relay use to be I have relocated the tmic pump relay. This deleted two of the 205 relay boxes. The 205 fuel pump relay needs to be wired in somewhere too since it's in the same box on the 205 as the tmic pun relay (the small that mounts to the radiator)

Hope this helps.
urbandork
Club Member
 
Posts: 402
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 5:27 am

Re: How to do a st165 to st205 swap???

Postby scottjackson1209 » Fri Jul 26, 2013 3:10 pm

How do I know which plugs those are? Thanks for the input...this is the Fusebox that came with the car...it seems that most of it is missing...correct?
Image

Image

Image
scottjackson1209
Club Member
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 3:31 pm

Re: How to do a st165 to st205 swap???

Postby scottjackson1209 » Sat Jul 27, 2013 6:14 am

Also I'm missing the Turbo pressure sensor and VSV....I think. I believe I found the plugs for them...any info on what these look like? where in the wiring harness the are at?
scottjackson1209
Club Member
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 3:31 pm

Next

Return to How To

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests