ODB2 data for Torque on my Android

Talk EMS and Computer related performance

ODB2 data for Torque on my Android

Postby Andy » Fri Mar 16, 2012 1:16 am

I added OBD2 data to my Alltrac for a Bluetooth data feed into Torque on my Android.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iCBArP-C9Xc

Thus far, just the basics, and it needs some calibration. More to come....

Andy
Members don't see the above ad. Register now - it's free!
Andy
Club Member
 
Posts: 329
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2004 12:50 pm
Location: Ohio

Re: ODB2 data for Torque on my Android

Postby tubasteve » Fri Mar 16, 2012 4:23 am

Haha, been using this at work all the time.
feb. 1990 alltrac red one: fun machine http://tinyurl.com/Tubasteve
5x114 conversion: http://tinyurl.com/nu3qnez
Image
User avatar
tubasteve
Established Member
 
Posts: 1149
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 6:48 pm
Location: temecula, ca(951)

Re: ODB2 data for Torque on my Android

Postby Andy » Fri Mar 16, 2012 9:59 am

Have you been using it on a pre '96 car?

Torque normally uses an ELM327 bluetooth device to plug into the ODB2 port.
So, Torque on an engine after '96 is quite simple, just plug in an ELM327 into the ODB2 port and you're there.

However, anything prior to '96 does not have an OBD2 port. I did quite a bit of research and could not find any evidence of anyone else using Torque on a pre '96 vehicle.

Andy
Andy
Club Member
 
Posts: 329
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2004 12:50 pm
Location: Ohio

Re: ODB2 data for Torque on my Android

Postby tubasteve » Fri Mar 16, 2012 3:15 pm

Yes, 90-95 Honda/acura 3pin data port ;-)
feb. 1990 alltrac red one: fun machine http://tinyurl.com/Tubasteve
5x114 conversion: http://tinyurl.com/nu3qnez
Image
User avatar
tubasteve
Established Member
 
Posts: 1149
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 6:48 pm
Location: temecula, ca(951)

Re: ODB2 data for Torque on my Android

Postby Andy » Tue Mar 20, 2012 12:51 am

Tubasteve, The 3 pin Honda port sounds like a ground, Rx, and Tx, does it feed into an ELM327?
How do you get the data from the 3 pin port into Torque?

A while back I made a boost controller with an Arduino (see: http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=32605 )

This project, for the ‘91, is just doing data monitoring (OBDM) and makes it available to Torque over Bluetooth. When Torque connects to a Bluetooth device it first performs some queries with “AT” command request. One of the things Torque ask for, is “What can you (the ECU) tell me?”. I respond, telling it what “Process IDs”, PIDs, I can provide measurement data for. Once initialization completes, Torque starts asking for the PID data measurements which it was told are available.

The Arduino Duemilanove has 6 Analog input pins which can measure a 0-5 volt signal. Thus far, I’m using 3 of them to read the AFM Vane Sweep, the TPS, and the Vacuum/Boost PIM signal. The ECU already uses 0-5 volts for these devices,
so their signals are feed directly into the Arduino analog ports.

The Duemilanove has two digital pins which support interrupts. The fuel injectors are wired “hot” with 12-14 volts. To fire an injector the ECU completes the circuit by taking it’s end to “Ground”. I use a 5.1 volt Zenier diode to limit the voltage and feed that into the two interrupt pins. One is configured

to trigger its interrupt on the rising edge, the other on the falling edge of voltage change.
The interrupt code saves the event times, for injector open time, and increments a counter to calculate the RPMs.

The ODB2 standards and therefore Torque do not have a PID for the “AFM Vane Sweep”
measurement... I’ve provide it to Torque as the MAF value.

Currently, I give Torque the Injector duty time as the “Engine Load”. When I get to it this may be revised to better estimate
engine load.

So, when Torque ask for PID data measurement values I can provide the above. One interesting discovery thus far is that the fuel injectors stop firing when the engine is back loaded. Which means, I loose the RPM measurement.

Also, Torque does not calculate the HP and Torque values. I think this is because it wants to see “Speed” from the ECU and does not use the GPS speed for these calculations.

Version two....

If I redo this with an Arduino Mega, it has 16 Analog pins and 6 digital pins with interrupts.

One of the additional digital pins with an interrupt could will be used to read the RPM signal going to the diagnostics port. This will prevent the RPM dropout when the engine is back loaded. A second pin with an interrupt will be used to read the speed signal to the ECU, with which Torque should then calculate HP and torque.

Some of the other data points I hope to measure with the analog pins are are: the Alternator/battery voltage, engine coolant temperature, the AFMs ambient air temperature, oil pressure, etc.

As in the MPGuino project I should be able to calculate the real time MPG

The Arduino can also remember data values while powered off. I can use this to track the engine run time and mileage for oil changes.

Andy
Andy
Club Member
 
Posts: 329
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2004 12:50 pm
Location: Ohio

Re: ODB2 data for Torque on my Android

Postby tubasteve » Tue Mar 20, 2012 3:59 am

The Honda data on three pin is very basic, but the connector my dad has concerts #most# to hook upto a special obd2 port. Some early accords data was incorrect along with integras.
-jr

I'm a Honda shop, its something i work with everyday.
feb. 1990 alltrac red one: fun machine http://tinyurl.com/Tubasteve
5x114 conversion: http://tinyurl.com/nu3qnez
Image
User avatar
tubasteve
Established Member
 
Posts: 1149
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 6:48 pm
Location: temecula, ca(951)

Re: ODB2 data for Torque on my Android

Postby tubasteve » Tue Mar 20, 2012 6:02 am

Btw, awesome job. Hope itcomes out well :-), too bad you can't read what the computer is thinking, like knock retard and such....you'll get there.
feb. 1990 alltrac red one: fun machine http://tinyurl.com/Tubasteve
5x114 conversion: http://tinyurl.com/nu3qnez
Image
User avatar
tubasteve
Established Member
 
Posts: 1149
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 6:48 pm
Location: temecula, ca(951)

Re: ODB2 data for Torque on my Android

Postby wannabe toms racer » Fri Sep 07, 2012 10:11 am

Holy electrical jargon Batman!! I wish I knew how to do that shit so I could just figure out why my cars bein so retarded...
You guys are truly amazing and give me hope... cuz with smart guys like you around, maybe some day I can be driving my car again... :notworthy:
Adam 'Akiba' Armstrong
90 audi 80 quattro- new projekt
Stubborn ass '91 alltrac - traded!
dont let ANYONE fool you money CAN buy happiness...
OR at least SUPPORT it...
User avatar
wannabe toms racer
Established Member
 
Posts: 1054
Images: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 1:27 am
Location: a little hole in Michigan, USA

1991 Toyota Celica

Re: ODB2 data for Torque on my Android

Postby multanen » Wed Jul 29, 2015 1:31 pm

Saw the video on youtube. Is this system still in use?
We planned similar to old Volkswagen, thouh not sure if we have the programming skills needed for Arduino.
multanen
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2015 11:03 am


Return to EFI Corner

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests