S2000 Cluster DONE!!!!!

Pictures, Videos, and Links to other Media

Re: S2000 Cluster DONE!!!!!

Postby CSAlltrac » Wed Aug 04, 2010 1:27 pm

There are a few qwerks with this setup that I dont know how others would feel about having them. I thought about making a harness though, would be a good thing for me as well, its a mess behind the cluster right now. :lol:
Members don't see the above ad. Register now - it's free!
ALLTRAC AT FIRST SIGHT
User avatar
CSAlltrac
Established Member
 
Posts: 2029
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 1:47 pm
Location: ATX

Re: S2000 Cluster DONE!!!!!

Postby Puffy » Fri Aug 20, 2010 7:12 am

Nice work 8)
User avatar
Puffy
Club Member
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2004 7:17 am

Re: S2000 Cluster DONE!!!!!

Postby redGT4 » Fri Aug 20, 2010 7:42 am

:notworthy: love it.
54 trim hiflowed ct26; Custom top mount;2 1/2" exhaust; Turbosmart boost controller(not fitted); Autometer CF series; Everything else stock; The Haunter of the Hills.
redGT4
Club Member
 
Posts: 511
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 7:25 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: S2000 Cluster DONE!!!!!

Postby lumbercis » Sat Aug 21, 2010 9:02 pm

Nevermind. Posted in other thread.
Caldina powered...
Image
lumbercis
Gold Member
 
Posts: 2346
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 4:52 am
Location: Washington, D.C.

Re: S2000 Cluster DONE!!!!!

Postby Andrewzzz » Fri Apr 13, 2012 8:54 am

Firstly, apologies for warming up two year old thread. ;) Can someone tell me what needs to be done to fit this on st185?
Do I need anything else apart from s2000 cluster and loom?
Stock dash is ugly and mxl strada is too expensive..
Thanks for help!
Andrewzzz
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 8:27 am

Re: S2000 Cluster DONE!!!!!

Postby Hotrodhendrix » Mon May 07, 2012 5:59 pm

Not sure how I missed this thread.. Anyone have some new pics they can post? Old pics are long gone
~James
"The more you let life's obstacles slow you down the longer it will take to defeat them."
~Yours truly
User avatar
Hotrodhendrix
GTFour God
 
Posts: 3480
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 5:45 pm
Location: DFW Texas

Re: S2000 Cluster DONE!!!!!

Postby CMS-GT4 » Mon May 07, 2012 8:16 pm

How high is the numbers for the speedo in relation to the numbers on the oem speedo?
Coldiron
92 st185 (205 swap) | 03 350Z Track (sold) | 13 Pilot | 17 Mazda3
www.noritoy.com | noritoy.deviantart.com | http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=19891
User avatar
CMS-GT4
GTSilver Member
 
Posts: 10345
Images: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 9:12 pm
Location: St Louis Area (IL)

1992 Toyota Celica

Re: S2000 Cluster DONE!!!!!

Postby CSAlltrac » Tue May 08, 2012 3:17 am

You mean top speed number? I dont know how high it goes but its been tested (on closed course :P ) to 140.
ALLTRAC AT FIRST SIGHT
User avatar
CSAlltrac
Established Member
 
Posts: 2029
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 1:47 pm
Location: ATX

Re: S2000 Cluster DONE!!!!!

Postby CMS-GT4 » Tue May 08, 2012 3:36 am

I mean the height of the number on the display. I want to make sure I can see it over my steering wheel. I can't see below 30mph around my wheel.
Coldiron
92 st185 (205 swap) | 03 350Z Track (sold) | 13 Pilot | 17 Mazda3
www.noritoy.com | noritoy.deviantart.com | http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=19891
User avatar
CMS-GT4
GTSilver Member
 
Posts: 10345
Images: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 9:12 pm
Location: St Louis Area (IL)

1992 Toyota Celica

Re: S2000 Cluster DONE!!!!!

Postby CSAlltrac » Tue May 08, 2012 3:44 am

I see, its not bad, I think it fits good. This will make you want a stack cluster though, and damn those are expensive.
ALLTRAC AT FIRST SIGHT
User avatar
CSAlltrac
Established Member
 
Posts: 2029
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 1:47 pm
Location: ATX

Re: S2000 Cluster DONE!!!!!

Postby underscore » Sun Mar 02, 2014 9:18 pm

CSAlltrac wrote:There are a few qwerks with this setup that I dont know how others would feel about having them. I thought about making a harness though, would be a good thing for me as well, its a mess behind the cluster right now. :lol:


Bumping this up, what kind of quirks? And damn those speedo healers are expensive, they cost almost as much as the cluster!
★ 1991 GTFour RC ~ "Rebel Scum" ★
It's for sale! http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=64&t=52181
Build thread http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=44216
underscore
GTFour God
 
Posts: 3819
Images: 0
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 11:29 pm
Location: Kelowna, BC

Re: S2000 Cluster DONE!!!!!

Postby CSAlltrac » Sun Mar 02, 2014 10:11 pm

underscore wrote:
CSAlltrac wrote:There are a few qwerks with this setup that I dont know how others would feel about having them. I thought about making a harness though, would be a good thing for me as well, its a mess behind the cluster right now. :lol:


Bumping this up, what kind of quirks? And damn those speedo healers are expensive, they cost almost as much as the cluster!

My setup is unique in comparison to what another ST185 might be with this swap. Reason being, and the reason I started the swap in the first place is that my stock, internal speedometer drive gear that actually drives the speedo. sensor and cable removed itself from its factory position. Honestly I have yet to find it, my guess is that it is still on the diff but just free floating around it. :shrug: Hope that makes sense. Anyways, with that situation I used a stand alone hall effect sensor mounted in the "scatter shield" above the inner CV of the left side axle reading the six axle bolts. Thats my source for a pulse per mile signal that I then put into the speedohealer, corrected the single pulse value until MPH displayed was correct. The cluster speed input also demands a 5V square signal rather than a 12V so a voltage reducer is needed. I vaguely remember what I used to correct this, I do remember that it was an inexpensive part that I got a whole bag for like $5. I would have to look into that. My set up is complicated but works. I also did not mess with the temp. gauge in the cluster which is (on the Honda swaps) the more difficult item to get functional. I have a stand alone AEM water temp so I didnt even bother.
A vehicle that has a working speed sensor will probably be a lot easier to get dialed in and could possibly eliminate the quirks my set up has. The main one is at higher speeds the MPH is twitchy but a nice solid pulse signal like a factory one is probably all thats needed. The thing that Im unsure of if I were to swap it into a ST185 with a functioning speedo sensor is if it would be possible to tap into the stock pulse signal without disrupting the signal getting to the ECU to prevent a code. My car is on AEM stand alone so I also dont have the concern of a factory computer freaking out. All the other signals are straight forward wire to wire simplicity. The fuel gauge could use some adjustment. Mine is currently empty when the gauge shows me to have three bars left which is just under a 1/4 tank on the S2000 cluster. Since Im not really worried about it and I now know where the car is low on fuel I have not looked into correcting it, I just live with it. Im not entirely sure why the pics are not working, I may have cleaned up my Photobucket and not remember.
ALLTRAC AT FIRST SIGHT
User avatar
CSAlltrac
Established Member
 
Posts: 2029
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 1:47 pm
Location: ATX

Re: S2000 Cluster DONE!!!!!

Postby Awesome-Trac » Mon Mar 03, 2014 7:23 am

I love your setup!
-1988 Celica Alltrac (white) Sold
-1988 Celica Alltrac (black) new project
-1990 Corolla sedan (sky blue) totalled by my brother :(
-1990 Celica GT-S hatchback (sky blue) daily driver

•Daniel
Awesome-Trac
Established Member
 
Posts: 1291
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 4:31 am
Location: NORCAL "Bay Area"

Previous

Return to Gallery

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests