Trying to finish my ST205 into an ST185 wiring

All of the information you need in one place.

Trying to finish my ST205 into an ST185 wiring

Postby brickwallmusic » Mon Apr 22, 2013 12:39 am

I'm currently working on my ST185 putting a complete engine, tranny, transfer case from a ST205 just getting the wiring figured out. I'm trying to use the harness from the ST185. 2 problems: 1. The ST205 motor came with the wiring harness mostly complete except for the fuse box and it's connectors, the fuse box had been cut off. The ST205 motor also came with a vane AFM. I didn't think the ST205 had those?!?!? It doesn't seem to plug in anywhere on the harness though. What does the MAF connectors look like? 2. My wiring harness from the car (ST185) seems to be fairly messed up. There is a connector on that harness that plugs perfectly into the speed sensor on the tranny from the ST205. That doesn't make any sense either because the ST185 has a speedo cable that goes right in the same spot as the speed sensor on the ST205. What else could that connector be for!! Any help, please!!!
Members don't see the above ad. Register now - it's free!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
brickwallmusic
Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 10:44 pm

Postby brickwallmusic » Mon Apr 22, 2013 12:52 am

And this is a temp sensor I think... For the intake? Or is it ambient? How do I wire this into the ST185 harness?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
brickwallmusic
Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 10:44 pm

Re: Trying to finish my ST205 into an ST185 wiring

Postby turbocelica » Mon Apr 22, 2013 4:15 pm

good questions ..bump for the answers im about at the same point in my swap
Image
turbocelica
Club Member
 
Posts: 697
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 6:39 am
Location: cincinnati

Re: Trying to finish my ST205 into an ST185 wiring

Postby brickwallmusic » Mon Apr 22, 2013 5:20 pm

Did you get the Four wire O2 sensor hooked up?
brickwallmusic
Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 10:44 pm

Re: Trying to finish my ST205 into an ST185 wiring

Postby Corey » Tue Apr 23, 2013 1:48 am

This thread may help. http://www.mr2oc.com/showthread.php?t=2 ... ight=ishii

I recently did this upgrade to my car.

That black sensor pictured above is the Airbox Intake Air temp sensor. It can be wired into the 185 harness via the AFM plug.
There is a second air temp sensor which is installed in the intake manifold and it too can be wired into the AFM plug.

That Mr2 thread will explain the process.

Cheers

Corey
Image
User avatar
Corey
GTFour God
 
Posts: 4118
Images: 49
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 12:12 am

1989 Toyota Celica

Re: Trying to finish my ST205 into an ST185 wiring

Postby brickwallmusic » Tue Apr 23, 2013 4:14 am

Awesome! Thanks!!
brickwallmusic
Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 10:44 pm

Re: Trying to finish my ST205 into an ST185 wiring

Postby turbocelica » Tue Apr 23, 2013 2:11 pm

is that airbox intake temp sensor necissary to do the swap? cause i do not have one
Image
turbocelica
Club Member
 
Posts: 697
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 6:39 am
Location: cincinnati

Re: Trying to finish my ST205 into an ST185 wiring

Postby brickwallmusic » Tue Apr 23, 2013 3:11 pm

I don't think it is cause the ECU can get that info from the AFM. I think you just have to swap some of the wires around on the ECU harness.
brickwallmusic
Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 10:44 pm

Re: Trying to finish my ST205 into an ST185 wiring

Postby turbocelica » Tue Apr 23, 2013 5:43 pm

well i dont have an afm either... its a st205 swap so it eliminates the afm
Image
turbocelica
Club Member
 
Posts: 697
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 6:39 am
Location: cincinnati

Re: Trying to finish my ST205 into an ST185 wiring

Postby CMS-GT4 » Tue Apr 23, 2013 5:55 pm

I think I used wires from the afm to this temp sensor and then made sure pins at the ecu matched.
Asking these questions in the 205 swap thread helps keep this info together for future swappers.

If you look at the 205 bgb there should be a page of plug ends. You can use this to identify the plug then cross reference it with the wire color in the wiring diagram to figure out exactly what plug goes to what. Then you either match that to the equal on the 185 harness or use an unused wire from the 185 harness and move its pin to the respective spot at the ecu.
Coldiron
92 st185 (205 swap) | 03 350Z Track (sold) | 13 Pilot | 17 Mazda3
www.noritoy.com | noritoy.deviantart.com | http://www.alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=19891
User avatar
CMS-GT4
GTSilver Member
 
Posts: 10336
Images: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 9:12 pm
Location: St Louis Area (IL)

1992 Toyota Celica

Re: Trying to finish my ST205 into an ST185 wiring

Postby alltrac101 » Tue Apr 23, 2013 7:25 pm

On the 1st photo, VSS plug, the Red/Blue stripe is 12V IG, the middle wire is sensor/chassis ground & the last wire is signal to the cruise control.....but it doesnt matter, you need the speedo cable to run your 185 speedo, so if you're keeping the cruise control just remove the 205 vss & put the 185 vss in its place, no rewiring necessary

BTW: did you move the outside wires, because the 205 bgb have them in reverse order
Home of the 210 mph Standing Mile Celica AllTrac
alltrac101
Club Member
 
Posts: 428
Images: 0
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 7:48 pm
Location: Palm Beach, Fl

Re: Trying to finish my ST205 into an ST185 wiring

Postby brickwallmusic » Tue Apr 23, 2013 7:41 pm

No, I didn't, that picture is from the connector on the ST185 harness.
brickwallmusic
Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 10:44 pm

Re: Trying to finish my ST205 into an ST185 wiring

Postby brickwallmusic » Tue Apr 23, 2013 7:57 pm

That's kind of why I'm confused. If it was a harness from a ST205 it would be the VSS connector. I traced the wires one is for the backup send and one is a return. Goes to ign 1 or ign 2. I can't remember which one. Which is strange also because the 2 pin connector for the backup switch is still on top of the tranny. I need to double check what that connector I think hooks up to the switch on top of the tranny.
brickwallmusic
Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 10:44 pm

Re: Trying to finish my ST205 into an ST185 wiring

Postby phattyduck » Tue Apr 23, 2013 10:14 pm

What year is your ST185 and what specific model is it? (where was it delivered, etc.)

Was the car running when you got it? Any more background on that would be nice.

-Charlie
'89 Camry LE Alltrac 3S-GTE - SV25/ST205 hybrid
'99 4Runner SR5 4WD 5VZ-FE
Previous: '88 Camry LE Alltrac 3S-GE BEAMS, '90 Camry 3S-GTE, '90 Camry DX
User avatar
phattyduck
Established Member
 
Posts: 1045
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 8:09 am
Location: Pasadena, CA

Re: Trying to finish my ST205 into an ST185 wiring

Postby brickwallmusic » Tue Apr 23, 2013 10:25 pm

It's a 1990 Canadian car. Pretty sure the motor that was in it wasn't original but was from at least an ST185 (valve cover and oil filter placement at ST185) the wiring harness was pretty hacked up. It wasn't running when I bought it but I got it running when I cut a wire the other owner had run from one or the coolant sensors to a wire on the ECU. It had a coolant temp sensor code in it. It did burn oil bad (turbo) and the tranny was in really rough shape.
brickwallmusic
Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 10:44 pm

Next

Return to FAQ / Archive

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest