Simple Wiring Question for System 10

For everything related to the inside of the car!!

Simple Wiring Question for System 10

Postby rawkus » Tue Jul 12, 2005 3:01 am

Hello all,
Sorry to ask this, but I have been searching for hours with no luck. Will the Metrakit wire harness for 92-93 System 10 setups work on a 90 All Trac with System 10? Thanks in advance.
Dan
Members don't see the above ad. Register now - it's free!
rawkus
Club Member
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 3:31 am
Location: Camden, IN

Postby Fastrac » Tue Jul 12, 2005 3:09 am

No, the 90 system 10 had a different plug size.
Aaron
1990 ST185 - Grey - :bangshead:
User avatar
Fastrac
Club Member
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2004 1:16 am
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Postby rawkus » Tue Jul 12, 2005 4:03 am

Thanks for the quick reply. Does anyone offer a plug to fit that harness so I could use an aftermarket radio with the stock factory amp. Or are there other options I should consider? My whole goal is to not screw into the sheet metal on this car, so I would rather not have an aftermarket amp setup. I just want a working cd player. Thanks.
Dan
rawkus
Club Member
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 3:31 am
Location: Camden, IN

Postby daveryan » Tue Jul 12, 2005 3:26 pm

I managed to replace my head/amp/subs in my '90 without drilling any holes or cutting up any harnesses. This Blau amp fit the stock amp mount perfectly - the screw holes line up. I'm sure any amp with a similar mounting tab could be drilled to match the factory holes though. I put some "feet" on the rear two holes to keep it level.

Image
Area under the seat with seat removed

Just bought the generic (non-system 10) Toyota harness adapter and plugged it into the secondary(?) harness on the car for the head and midrange/tweeters. Ran fresh wire to the amp and subs. (The door "tubes" were a pain though)

I did cut the 8" speaker mounts to fit these $25 Dayton DC200-8 woofers from www.partsexpress.com The surrounds on my stock 8s were shredded. I highly recommend these for inexpensive stock replacement, and they actually kick harder than the OEM.

Image


Image
Dayton on left, stocker on right

My whole system - Blau head unit, amp and subs cost me only $150. Gotta love eBay! That's how much I spent fixing the factory head unit, which blew again months later.
Last edited by daveryan on Mon Jul 17, 2006 1:33 pm, edited 3 times in total.
1990 ST185
User avatar
daveryan
Club Member
 
Posts: 421
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 4:30 pm
Location: Indianapolis

Postby rawkus » Tue Jul 12, 2005 7:35 pm

Your setup looks good. I know that the stock amp has to have line level inputs, and if I had a wire diagram I could easily make my own harness from a standard harness. I have been in car audio for many years now, gone and done some nuts setups in cars, and I am just not interested in doing anything more then putting in a new head unit. If someone has a wire diagram for the stock radio, I will gladly make people wire harnesses for a small fee, but I need that wire diagram to be able to do it. I am sure I can figure it out, but I want to put as little effort as possible into this :D
Dan
rawkus
Club Member
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 3:31 am
Location: Camden, IN

Postby daveryan » Wed Jul 13, 2005 1:04 pm

Diagrams:

http://turbocelica.com/AutoKB/System10Wiring.htm

You'll still have to cut up the harness if you want to wire into it, since no one yet has found a compatible plug for the '90 sys 10 harness. You'd have to wire in some RCA plugs too.
1990 ST185
User avatar
daveryan
Club Member
 
Posts: 421
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 4:30 pm
Location: Indianapolis

Postby rawkus » Wed Jul 13, 2005 2:08 pm

Freakin' Sweet. That is what I wanted to know.
Dan
rawkus
Club Member
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 3:31 am
Location: Camden, IN

Postby XoDuzZ » Wed Jul 13, 2005 9:38 pm

rawkus I am so excited that you are doing this. you have seriously made my day.

thanks :)
1990 White Toyota Celica All-Trac.

Whiteline RSB, TRD Adjustable Struts,
TIEN Camber plates, MBC, Intake,
Short Throw, JDM ECU+Engine,
Redone System 10 with Kicker RMB8's,
Polk Audio Tweeters, Dash Speakers,
and Rear Mid-Woofers.
XoDuzZ
Club Member
 
Posts: 566
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 8:40 am
Location: Bellevue, WA

Postby daveryan » Wed Jul 13, 2005 10:58 pm

You may want to consider wiring in a switch for the power antenna since you might loose the auto-down feature when you switch to CD that the sys 10 has, depending on the head unit you choose of course. I did this since I rarely listen to the radio.

I found this switch at Lowes (hardware store) that fits perfectly in the shifter bezel's factory hole, just remove the blanking panel and snap it in.

Image
(I'm actually using this switch for an IC fan, my antenna switch is in another location)

Also note the Alltrac has two antennas - the power mast and one embedded in the rear window. Either one will work fine on it's own.
Last edited by daveryan on Mon Jul 17, 2006 1:34 pm, edited 3 times in total.
1990 ST185
User avatar
daveryan
Club Member
 
Posts: 421
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 4:30 pm
Location: Indianapolis

Postby rawkus » Thu Jul 14, 2005 12:02 am

I have constant power, power, ground, illumination, and amp turn on figured out, still working on signal, Toyota did it all the bastard way.
Dan
rawkus
Club Member
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 3:31 am
Location: Camden, IN

Postby rawkus » Thu Jul 14, 2005 11:40 pm

I think there is a reason Metra never made a kit for 90-91. I am still trying to figure out the signal input for the amp. I am completely confused. If someone has an idea let me know.
Dan
rawkus
Club Member
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 3:31 am
Location: Camden, IN

Postby jprine01 » Fri Jul 15, 2005 3:23 pm

I traced the wires that go from the back of the radio to the amp under the seat and figured out what wires are the input. Then i spliced into the wires in the dash (behind radio) and spliced on 2 rca connectors, and connected them to my front output on my radio. 8" speakers work fine like this, they are a little quiet compaired to the other speakers but still sounds way better then not having the 8's. When i get some extra money I'm going to replace all the speakers and use a real amp.
jprine01
Established Member
 
Posts: 1218
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 9:02 pm
Location: Chicago

Postby rawkus » Sat Jul 16, 2005 2:09 am

I know what the inputs are, but there is only a single input per channel. Basically just a positive per channel. There appears to be a SGND, which I assume is a universal signal ground, but I cannot for the life of me get that to work properly. If you can tell me what wires to connect to an RCA I could finish this up no prob.
Dan
rawkus
Club Member
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 3:31 am
Location: Camden, IN

Postby jprine01 » Tue Jul 19, 2005 6:47 am

Yeah I do remember using a single ground wire, but i dont remember what the colors were or anything. And my car isnt here, i am rebuilding the engine so :/ cant really go look at it. Ill look in the wiring diagrams later if i get a chance. Mine is also 90 so colors should be the same.

Basically i just cut a old pair of rca cables close to the connectors, then spliced the wires together with nuts. I made good connections and put it all together, then went to test it out and one of the speakers wasnt working. So I pulled it out again, stripped more off and made sure it was really good, put it back together and it worked. They sound good just not as loud as the other speakers really, needs to be more bass.
jprine01
Established Member
 
Posts: 1218
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 9:02 pm
Location: Chicago

Postby rawkus » Tue Jul 19, 2005 12:33 pm

Alright, thanks.
Dan
rawkus
Club Member
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 3:31 am
Location: Camden, IN

Next

Return to Audio / Wiring / Interior

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest

cron