Red Line 75W90NS or....

lalojamesliz1

I put Red Line 75W90NS in the original trans for my st185 when it had like 152 or 153k miles. It developed a crunch while shifting into 4th above 35mph or downshifting into 4th from 5th. Strangely that problem came, left then came back. Now my all-trac is parked waiting for my st205 swap to arrive.
Can you guys reccomend something that will provide better protection for my e154f trans?

I don't know what your ST205 swap calls for proper trans oil. The original ST185, when I studied this closely regarding the proper oil for that particular quadruple case, I could only find two that I would have been comfortable using, and I opted for the first one listed below of these two:

- Toyota Gear Lube Super GL-5 75W-90
- Castrol Multitrax (I believe Castrol discontinued this product in early 2017, replacing it with Cartrol Universal, which I did not research back in 2016 when Multitrax was readily available - I don't believe Castrol Universal is sold in the US though)

These are the only two that singled out the Celica GT4/All-Trac 4WD on their labels about working with.

I also considered the specific RedLine oil you used on yours, but when I contacted the manufacturer about the application, all I got was "it should work" from the applications person I spoke to (and it doesn't call out this particular application on the label anywhere), so I opted against considering it.

sefiroxx

Plenty of posts on gl/4 vs 5 and impact on synchro. At issue is the sulfur/phosphorous additive that was added to improve things eats the older syncros.

I run redline mt-90 without any problems. Any good performance shop should stock. Can get online as well.

lalojamesliz1

sefiroxx":1m94oxwk said:
Plenty of posts on gl/4 vs 5 and impact on synchro. At issue is the sulfur/phosphorous additive that was added to improve things eats the older syncros.

I run redline mt-90 without any problems. Any good performance shop should stock. Can get online as well.