Massive coolant headache

Mattst165

Picked up an st165 over the weekend, drove it 4 hours home with no issue, ran absolutely flawless, no leaks. Well, next morning I drive an hour or so, get home and notice coolant is pouring from the heater core outlet as soon as I shut the car off. Decided to just bypass it to avoid messing with the heater core. Drove it for an hour or so again, runs perfect and holds temp just fine. As soon as I shut the car off coolant is leaking from the tstat housing. After that I just assumed the thermostat was what was originally bad, replaced it and drove for another hour checking every ten minutes to be certain it wasn't leaking, it was fine. Shut the car off after that long drive and another different hose burst as soon as I shut it off.
I'm new to 3sgtes and wondering if any of you have experienced this. As I said the car runs perfect, idles perfect, doesn't smoke, and pulls hard so I have a hard time believing it's the head gasket. Any ideas before I give it a compression test tomorrow?

underscore

I'd start with the rad cap, if it's stuck or someone put a high pressure one on it them it could be causing excess pressure making other parts fail.

Mattst165

underscore":3mpxhclc said:
I'd start with the rad cap, if it's stuck or someone put a high pressure one on it them it could be causing excess pressure making other parts fail.

I hope it's that easy, I'll be picking one up today. Something I noticed is that the previous owner added Toyota red coolant to the green it had previously, you can tell they have obviously been mixed. I've heard mixed results about using the two together, I'm wondering if this could be the issue.

alltrac801