T-vis gone bad, engine damaged

JDM GT Four, ST185RC and ST205.

Re: T-vis gone bad, engine damaged

Postby supra-raleigh » Wed Aug 17, 2022 10:44 pm

I am on Rockauto right now and the 70amp and the 80amp versions appear identical according to the pictures for the BBB Industries remanufactured alternators. Hopefully someone will chime in to confirm fitment.
Members don't see the above ad. Register now - it's free!
none
supra-raleigh
Club Member
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 1:00 am

Re: T-vis gone bad, engine damaged

Postby alltracman78 » Thu Aug 18, 2022 4:50 pm

A lot of Toyotas from then had similar physically shaped alternators. The big difference was the shape and position of the plug. And for us the lack of ability to attach the cooling elbow.

One from a 5SFE (Or 3SF [or G]E for you) should fit fine. Autos had higher output ones I believe.

Toyota lists different part numbers for the ST185 pre and post revision alternators (at least they used to) only because the short wiring harness that came with the alt was different between the 2. But all you need to do is swap the harness and you're fine. For example. So you should have a pretty good chance of getting one that will bolt in.
alltracman78
GTFour God
 
Posts: 4898
Images: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 9:04 am
Location: Anywhere But There

Re: T-vis gone bad, engine damaged

Postby Gert » Thu Aug 25, 2022 1:02 pm

Received an 80 Amp alternator yesterday. Got it from Ebay, not too expensive and brand new. The endcap does say ND too ??

https://www.ebay.com/itm/195221239141

Found it with the 27060-74300 part number from Toyota.

No time to install yet, but first impression is good. The heatshield/cap is an direct fit and for the rest the alternator looks the same, not (much) bigger anyway.

Pleasant surprise since the alternator rebuild shop told me he could not get 80 Amp Celica alternators anymore.

Let you know if she fits, yes or no.
Gert
Club Member
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2015 8:53 am

Re: T-vis gone bad, engine damaged

Postby Gert » Fri Aug 26, 2022 5:34 am

Well, two things.
First, the alternator sold to me by the junkyard was not an ST205 unit, but an ST185 one.
Ofcourse, I cannot tell if it came off an ST205, because the previous owner could have add an ST185 on to his 205, dunno.
The number on the alternator says: 27060-74130, what is an 70 Amp piece coming from an ST185. No big deal, the alternator did work.

Second: the new unit, from Ebay, is an direct fit. She is on the car now.
Gert
Club Member
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2015 8:53 am

Re: T-vis gone bad, engine damaged

Postby alltracman78 » Mon Aug 29, 2022 1:36 am

Sweet!
alltracman78
GTFour God
 
Posts: 4898
Images: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 9:04 am
Location: Anywhere But There

Re: T-vis gone bad, engine damaged

Postby Gert » Mon Sep 26, 2022 1:59 pm

297.000 kms, still going strong :-)

Image
Gert
Club Member
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2015 8:53 am

Re: T-vis gone bad, engine damaged

Postby Roreri » Mon Sep 26, 2022 8:46 pm

This bodes well for my Lorelei once I get her fueling issues sorted. Another 200,000km-plus of enjoyment would be perfect.
Roreri
Club Member
 
Posts: 514
Images: 0
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2021 8:12 pm
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

1992 Toyota Celica

Re: T-vis gone bad, engine damaged

Postby Gert » Mon Dec 05, 2022 12:11 pm

Not much to add now. Just drive around.

A picture last week on an litte ferrie:

Image

And hit 298.000 kms :-)

Image

Begin next year she is going to visit the painter due to some rust at the left front fender and bad (original) red paint at the rear hatch. Sunshine in 30 years is taking its credits. :shrug:
Gert
Club Member
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2015 8:53 am

Re: T-vis gone bad, engine damaged

Postby Gert » Mon Jan 30, 2023 11:53 am

Sigh, so now the tacho quit working too. Time for the capacitor swap.

The valve from the ERL waterinjection is leaking too. Struggeling to get the correct seal.
Gert
Club Member
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2015 8:53 am

Re: T-vis gone bad, engine damaged

Postby grip-addict » Mon Jan 30, 2023 10:22 pm

It's always the little things. Your car looks beautiful though. Do you still like the water injection system? I'm curious as to your opinion after living with it for a while.
grip-addict
Club Member
 
Posts: 217
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2019 1:31 pm

Re: T-vis gone bad, engine damaged

Postby Gert » Tue Jan 31, 2023 5:50 am

The ERL system is in my car for about 25 years now and is pretty foolproof.
Once I did not use distilled water what blocked my 0,3 mm jet.
But the jet can be disassembled and cleaned.
Once the watertank emptied herself due to an hose connector leaking at the lowest point, easy fix.
And now the water valve is leaking at the seals. Found an company who can deliver small seals.
It is an special seal in the size 10,44 x 1 mm. But it is not an o-seal but square.
Square seals this small, I could not find them. So I try the round stock seal.

Tried ERL, but they don't carry this kind of valves anymore and I must buy an new system :crazy:
The backup from ERL isn't what it was in earlier days. The ERL forum is used once or twice a year too, no help from there either.

Because I wanted to keep the stock look off the GT4, I could not install an front mount, so I decided to keep the stock intercooler and add an water injection.
It cools, keeps temps down and helps against detonation.
Like I said, it is in my car for a very long time now and working fine. The engine is still healthy too and I don't spare her. Hit 7.500 rpm regurlaly and hit 240 km/h last week in Germany. I did not have the room to drive faster but once I pushed her out off the the speedo. :D
Gert
Club Member
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2015 8:53 am

Re: T-vis gone bad, engine damaged

Postby Gert » Tue Jan 31, 2023 7:28 pm

*Sigh* replacing the capacitors did not help at all. I was a little afraid off that because my tacho is complete dead and what I read here is that the tacho is not showing the correct rpm.

Any ideas?
Gert
Club Member
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2015 8:53 am

Re: T-vis gone bad, engine damaged

Postby grip-addict » Tue Jan 31, 2023 10:04 pm

I had to replace the caps in my tach, but the behavior was that the needle would dance around a bit and be somewhere in the vicinity of what the actual rpm was. eg if i was cruising at 3k rpm, the needle would bounce between 2 and 4k. It was always doing something, though and was never dead flat. If yours isn't moving whatsoever, it could just be a bad connection. Can you try getting a voltage reading from the tach-out wire from the ecu ?
grip-addict
Club Member
 
Posts: 217
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2019 1:31 pm

Re: T-vis gone bad, engine damaged

Postby Gert » Wed Feb 01, 2023 6:28 am

grip-addict wrote: Can you try getting a voltage reading from the tach-out wire from the ecu ?

Reading the wires is not a problem, but is the tacho getting an voltage or an signal? If I read correct, the tacho is receiving an inductive signal, direct from the distributor.
I don't know it that is detectable with an multimeter, I suppose I must use an oscilloscope.
Gert
Club Member
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2015 8:53 am

Re: T-vis gone bad, engine damaged

Postby Gert » Mon Feb 06, 2023 9:14 am

Well, how simple can it be...

Tacho dead = probably capacitors.
Removed the cluster, swapped capacitors and noted that the tacho still did not work.
Looked at the internet: perhaps stepper in gauge died, maybe.
So, checked for an replacement tacho. But it must be an 9.000 rpm tacho with 'economy' leds.
Most tacho's over here are 8.000 rpm tacho's.
Finally found one, coming from an ST182, I suppose, it is having an volt gauge. Swapped tacho's, still dead.
Hmm, both broken???
Seller shipped two clusters, one with 9.000 and one with 8.000 tacho.
Swapped with the 8.000 rpm tacho, also dead.... huh??

Okay, took the multi-meter, checked continuity from igniter to tacho connector: no signal!!
Followed wiring and somewhere near the Autronic ECU, there was an 1K ohm resistor that was going to maximum resistor!!! Bummer.
Cut the resistor, connected wires and ready. Man o man, that was my price for taking the lazy route instead off checking wires with the multi-meter. *sigh* always I check wiring with multi-meter, but once...... :crazy:

Anyway, let's take it to the positive side: my tacho is already having fresh capacitors now :D

BTW, the resistor was there, since back in the days off installing this Autronic in 2000, they told me to add an 1 K resistor to the tacho signal, no idea why? The stock tacho is already having an 43K ohm resistor added, so no need for this one.
https://www.gtfour.nl/celi014old.htm
Gert
Club Member
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2015 8:53 am

Previous

Return to GT Four Chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests