berk tech downpipe arrived !!!

st185rc

I've never done a downpipe install before so here's my question: is it ok to mate this thing up to the stock b-pipe? from 3" to stock diameter of the midpipe seems to not bode well. when i think about it, it the exhaust that leaves might be heat up the mid pipe too much at the joint where it goes back down to a 2.5"ish restriction.

st185rc":t7c8xxd2 said:
I've never done a downpipe install before so here's my question: is it ok to mate this thing up to the stock b-pipe? from 3" to stock diameter of the midpipe seems to not bode well. when i think about it, it the exhaust that leaves might be heat up the mid pipe too much at the joint where it goes back down to a 2.5"ish restriction.

i installed a berk tech dp on my car and left the stock exhaust for 3 months before i got a 3" exhaust system. I never had any issues.

CelicaAllTrac92

Have fun getting those bottom 2 studs out. I recommend vice grips and a lot of patience!

stocker3.jpg

turbo1.jpg

st185rc

one more question: will the hpc coating be enough to keep the heat down or should i get heat wrap to get things a bit more insulated?

___Scott___

Putting any sort of wrap over an HPC coating will void the warrantee of the coating.

That said, when it comes to insulation, more is better.

Personally I wouldn't use the wrap. It looks so nasty after just a short time.

toayoztan

Some of the heat wraps are fiberglass....god that stuff can get everywhere and is horrible.

If the HP coating becomes bad, get it coated with titanium coating or something that is better and more heat resistant.

Bryan

gt4rcdude

CelicaAllTrac92":1ha11d5u said:

All you had to do was remove the 4 bolts of the a/c compressor and bungee it out of the way. Downpipe comes right off. I used the copper infused thermal wrap and then painted it with black BBQ paint. Looks great and drops under hood temps significantly. I wrapped it all the way under to the flex pipe.

rrain3288