New to turbos and need some help.

BlueSteel™

Hi guys. I have recently purchased a 1991 GT4 Group A Celica, you guys call it the All Trac. I am new to turbo cars and have very limited knowledge about working on them. The car is pretty much stock and I thought I would install a 3" exhaust from the dump pipe as they tell me you can get an increase in power and the turbos breath easier with a bigger exhaust system. But since installing it, even though it feels there has been a power increase, the car seems to cough and splatter as it hits the higher rev range. What I mean by that is that the turbo doesn't seem to wind up smoothly, the power seems to jerk on and off. I have hit the search button in trying to find answers to my questions but I can't seem to locate anything specific.

I read of boost creep, reflashing of the ECU, waste gate not coping with higher boost, things I don't really understand as yet. What am I missing here after installing the exhaust system? Is there anything else I should have done or should be doing to make the car run smoother?

Thanks for any information you can give me.

Xiansheng

through my research, for a pretty much stock GT4, I have read that a 2.5 system would do much better until you reach into the 300++ HP range.

the same reason the celica has a 8 port intake manifold, skinier longer path at low rpm to hold the backpressure in a way, then when you get into the high revs, it switches the intake manifold to a shorter fatter path.

sort of.. I think.... my opinion with my limited understanding of all this.

hmm.. I know this doesn't help you right now, just somethin that came to mind..

imagine putting to your mouth and blowing through a straw, or blowing through a fat pipe, blowing through a fat pipe at the begining.. it's like... BLAAAHHHH... it switches over to the fat pipe when revs/air is pumping lots of pressure.. low rpm with fat pipes, you lose somethin....