Oem torsen LSD test (Need volunteers)

CMS-GT4

Ok, so I have been doing some reading and I want to test out if this is a method to determine if you have lsd w/o opening the case.

I need a volunteer who knows they have a torsen in the rear and a volunteer of a known open lsd.

We need to try TEST 2. If this works, this might be a great help to the community.

How can you tell it's a TORSEN?
Well I'm no expert but there were a few obvious traits - stock Toyota diffs are TORSEN or open wheel - sometimes a diff might be changed internally with a mechanical action diff. TRD or CUSCO etc - When Juzza got his diff he scored one of these diffs by accident, on sharp slow turns the inside wheel chirps and squeals a little bit as it tries to keep up with the outside wheel - a TORSEN diff is super smooth. Anyway on the wrecker showroom floor the TORSEN diff has differences to an open wheel diff. With a TORSEN LSD on a workshop floor there are a couple of tests to do.

First is the spin one axle and the other axle spins same way - Torsen. If the other axle spins other way then go to test 2.

Test 2
Spin the input shaft of the diff. One wheel will may spin freely with the other stationary. I can hold one axle still, spin input shaft and the other axle will spin free. If I try to stop the spinning axle with my leg, just let the spinning axle rub my calf for example - the axle I am holding still with my hand will instantly start spinning in same direction. As soon as any torque is applied to the spinning axle - torque is transferred to the stationary axle and they spin together. TORque SENsing.

A metical clutch type LSD or cone type LSD tends to spin both wheels in same direction the whole time to a degree. There isn't so much "free wheeling" as available in a TORSEN.
[/b]

Sifu

I have a torsen opened up and sitting in the back store room. I bought it off of Alcyon so if I can help let me know...

CMS-GT4