Koni Racing strut conversion...

MWP

So im currently in the process of converting my factory struts to using Koni Racing (8611 series) inserts and weld-on coilover sleeves.
When done, ill have a setup that rivals any off the shelf $4k+ coilover kit, for about 1/2 the cost.

Is anyone interested in me doing a bit of a write up on the process?
Its a similar process to the stickied AGX conversion thread, but a bit more involved & technical.

CMS-GT4

These kind of write ups are always welcome. It might encourage people to choose better setups as well.

underscore

I love writeups, especially ones that can save big money, so if you're willing to make one then please do!

MWP

Okie dokie.
I'll do it in parts, as it'll end up being quite long, and i doubt ill get it all written at once.
Maybe when done, ill re-edit and turn it into one big write up.

I'll first say that im no pro. I dont re-valve my dampers, i dont have suspension travel data logging gear (one day maybe), i don't have a mechanical engineering degree, etc, etc.
What i know is from my experience and reading as much as i can on this topic over the years.
So don't take what i write as fact, how i my modify my suspension as being fool-proof, it being the best way to go about it, or that its safe to follow.

It'll be a bit random, with some general information why cheap coilovers are crap, why what im doing i believe is decent, etc, etc.

----------------------------------------

Part 1.

Why i'm doing this...

I *love* hills driving!!!
I live in a decent sized city, that is surround on two sides by comparatively low mountain ranges with lots of twisty, challenging roads, that are often quite bumpy and unpredictable.
Occasionally some of these roads also get closed off for rally, sprint and hill climb competitions that i compete in when i can.
An example of one of our fun roads: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M31hXZ339hk (that sound!).