3SGTE ECU ..to run a 7AGTE?

JedzWagn

Hi gents,
A bit of history.
Essentially I'm a noob who likes to tackle decent sized projects with a bit of intensity and I learn as I go.

I went to fit a 4AGZE (1.6L supercharged) into my alltrac wagon, but the block doesn't clear the 4wd transfer case. So what some people do is grind clearance in the block where the oil pan bolts up.
More about that in these 2 photo album threads. Scroll through photos, read the comments and you'll see what I mean.
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid ... =3&theater

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid ... =3&theater

I wasn't happy with the idea of grinding the block so I uprated to a 1.8L block that has the required clearance from factory.
The 1.8L block commonly referred to as a 7AGTE has had extensive machine work done to the head and bottom end, is fitted with forged internals and will run a high flowing sports head, custom manifold and turbo.

The challenge I'm facing, and the reason for this thread is that in the state of Victoria Australia, where I come from, we are not allowed to run programmable computers or piggy back systems.
The ECU has to be a sealed un-programmable unit.

Further to this, the vehicle has to pass strict emissions testing.
So not knowing much about the various 3SGTE generations, I thought I'd post and see if anyone has experience in the differences between 3sgte sensors & CAS vs 4AGZE sensors & CAS?

The idea would be to adapt the 3SGTE wiring to suit 4AGZE sensors.

I'm more mechanically minded than electronically minded so any time taken to explain opinions in a technically informative way is really appreciated.

Thanks - Jed

JedzWagn

So guys..
This project is still going ahead. I need some input from tech-heads who not only understand the 3SGTE generations really well, it'll also help if you understand more complex issues like the relationship between throttle sizes, valve diameters, cam sizes, compression ratios and turbos.